We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Tunisian break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orient Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Tunisian break”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We went to this hotel for a short stay 3 nights feb2nd to 5th 2014 .the hotel is very nice and the food was good... The staff was helpfully and friendly entertainment guy shukoo was great . The hotel is on the beach which was stunning over all a great stay and break.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    164
    135
    85
    147
See reviews for
208
229
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Joe average hotel, staff aren't very friendly. Just got back from here for the 3rd time.This time I went with my girlfriend. I REPEAT DO NOT go as a couple. The locals that hang around are very pervy. Last year the hotel was great. Now it is very much dated and worn down. I'd say 3* at best. DO NOT GO IN 2014

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougtrio54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardrossan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just back from my first visit to tunisia staying at the orient.This hotel is a tired example of 5 star rated hotel.Rooms spacious but dated,food average,most staff friendly[except woman at front desk].Went all enclusive half the drinks on the menu not available?Biggest problem lack of information,rep more interested in selling tours than giving advice.Still don't know can you drink the water?Saturday, sunday, nightmare 800 locals invaded hotel,you cannot imagine how bad it was food piled up on tables,so much waste.Would liked to have given this hotel a better score but the last two days where awful.BAR STAFF DID WELL.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing pool as they also face the sea,we got sea view via building site other side of h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinggracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have a holiday at the Orient Palace this winter in the beginning of January! It was nice time to be there!!! Everything was amazing for me: the weather, all the hotel,good stuff,good food, great animation team especially Mr.JOE)) he is so nice boy and person!! I WISH TO EVERY HOTELS SUCH ANIMATION TEAM! My holidays was not so long, only for 1 week, but this week was unforgetable!! Thanks to everybody! TANYA(BELARUS)

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tatsiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neustadt in Holstein, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have a wonderful time at the hotel! The rooms and all the place of the Hotel are very cleaning.
All the stuff from the Bar, Reception and Restautant are very friendly and makes you feel to enjoy holidays.
The Animation Team Joe and Sarbi was amazing!
Joe know how to make his job, he is afunny and friendlyboy,
Exspacialy with the kids.
We will planing the next holidays soon at Orient and hope to see all of them again.
Thanks to the best Animation Team.

Room Tip: A room with seaside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neustadt in Holstein, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have ben with there with my Sister one Week im Januar for the first Time. I like this Hotel very mutch. The Rooms and all the Place of the Hotel are very cleanig. All the Stuff from the Bar, Restaurant and the Reception are very friendly and helpfull. If you have a problem are a Wich they try to make the best.
Amazing was the Animation Team Joe and Sabri. Joe know how to make his job. He is funny and friendly boy, he now how to dance and make fun with the Geast. Exspecialy with the Kids.
We hoppe to come back soon and hoppe to see all of them again. Tanks to the best animations Team.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The holiday overall was a good week purely because me and my friend (both 21yrs) made the most of things but unfortunately I do not have overly good things to say about Orient Palace! We went in the last week of August 2013.

Firstly, our flight was delayed from Stansted by 3 hours so instead of arriving at the hotel at 1am we arrived at 4am, we were not greeted by anyone except for a couple of angry Scottish tourists who told us that if we were about to check in we would be waiting until midday the next day to get in a room as they themselves had been waiting since 1am. When we entered the hotel there was around 15 other tourists sleeping and waiting around on the sofa's in the entrance, when we went to check in we were told the room was not ready and that it would be half an hour or one hour maximum. We went back every half hour untill 10am when we were told we had a room but it had not yet been cleaned so we didn't actually end up in our room until Midday!!

The food was slightly varied each day and kept topped up, breakfast was good too, only soft drinks and water served in the all inclusive restaurant. Drinks are served in small plastic cups so we had to order about 4 at a time! And we were not told that there was pizza available between breakfast and lunch, we also were not informed that all inclusive on the last day of our stay would stop at 2pm and our flight wasn't until midnight! We only found out at 2pm on our last day, when we had no money left for food!!

We were constantly hassled by men, to the extent where we hid in our room on the last evening as it just got too much, we were "hit on" by waiters, the towel guy, life guards, security guys, the guy who sells excursions, the men who worked in the hotel shop and even the chef's came out of the kitchen to ask us out for a drink after work! They are clearly only after one thing and it was constant. We expected a bit of hassle but not from everyone in the hotel!

The spa is crap so don't bother getting a massage as you can't relax in the room they do it in!

Finally, even though we tipped everyone including our cleaning ladies we still had things go missing from our room! English money (Worth more than Dinar) and shoes!

The good points would be the beach, the excursions (Camel ride and Pirate ship are DEFINITELY worth the money!) the pool was lovely and the hotel itself was very clean.
I am not a fussy tourist and I do take into consideration that they have a different culture etc but I didn't expect that sort of experience from a 5* hotel.

By all means go here, just get a bargain price and don't pay over £600pp! It's not worth that much ...

Room Tip: Ask for a "Sea view" and don't go for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sousse hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,124 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,011 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Palace Hotel

Property: Orient Palace Hotel
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4051, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Orient Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the great pleasure to invite you to discover our Hotel Orient Palace Resort & Spa, located on a beautiful sandy beach, 3 km from the famous Port Kantaoui, and 05 km from the center of Sousse, close to entertainment centers, and larger shopping centers ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orient Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orient Palace
Orient Palace Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing