We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jinene & Royal Jinene Hotels
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveler rating
75
121
107
65
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
121
107
65
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardpancakessaladentertainmentchannelscokesunbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 440 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

First of all, id like to say I booked my holiday in the hotel jinene. And it was.. horrible. The food was repetitive and bland and the room looked hideous. On the third day, I complained, so the kind manager took us over to the royal jinene for a meal and told us we'd be switching to this sister hotel instead. Now then, the food in the hotel was absolutely delicious! And the lovely chef and waiters were so welcoming. Everyday the chef had the kindest personality and made me fresh, yummy pancakes! When we got to our suite, phwoar the difference! It was huge and extremely modern and simply beautiful. The rest of the stay was amazing. The entertainment in this hotel was the best ive seen. My ratings are for the royal jinene.

Room Tip: Complain, complain, complain! Make sure you book for the royal jinene!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sophsophok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I would like to say that I spend my time in Sousse 2 times a year and I am in Tunisie the 7th time.
In the 3star category rating this hotel is acceptable to stay, but not the best.
The breakfast is very poor. It was still 1-2 days old croissons and always one type of cold.
Generally the staff was polite, but the waiter at the upper bar is very rude and rube(he has black-and white glasses).
Our room was ok, and the beach was clean and calm.
Not the best 3star-hotel in Sousse, but we had everything.
The outside bar is good,with pizza, soft drinks and alcohol(beer, Boukha, Tibarine)+cofee.
We had a good time in Tunisia but the catering would very important in a hotel.
Don't travel in june! Just in july, august and september, because we were on the 25.june and the weather was windy and sea was very cold.
This was just one bad experience in Tunisie, the rest of our holidays was super!

Room Tip: The rooms near the inner yard are very noisy at nights,because of the music. Our room was on the 4th floor and the view was on the garden/road.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohsen192, Directeur général at Jinene & Royal Jinene Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013
Google Translation

Cher client
Nous apprécions votre avis et nous restons toujours à l'écoute de nos chers clients pour mieux
les satisfaire et rendre leur séjour plus agréable ..la direction de l’hôtel est toujours disponible
pour résoudre tout problème sur place..nous demandons à nos clients de nous contacter
durant leur séjour afin de satisfaire leur demande..pour les remarques signalées nous
précisons que le petit déjeuner est servi en buffet avec un grand choix froid et chaud ..
pour le serveur au bar qui était désagréable nous allons mené une enquête et prendre les
mesures disciplinaires ..nous constatons que vous êtes satisfait en général et que vous avez passé un bon moment..nous vous informons que la saison d'été commence en mi-juin
et que vous êtes toujours les bienvenus ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Tunisia was my first experience of North Africa. My late husband had previously visited Morroco in the 60's! We first discovered the Royal Jinene Hotel in the late March/early April 2012 and had a wonderful 2 week holiday. My husband was not wheelchair bound but quite
disabled then and the Hotel Director, Mohsen Ben Mahmoud,who is a charming man, and his delightful staff could not have been more kind and helpful We enjoyed our first holiday so much in this lovely hotel, with it's delicious unlimited Buffet restaurant, heated indoor pool,outdoor Bistro, and lively entertainment from the Animations team, all in a beautiful setting near the beach, that we went out again in May for another 2 weeks and the same in June.This is a very reasonably priced 4 Star hotel, whether you travel independently, or go with Thomas Cook, you will always get a good deal. If you book direct with the hotel, be sure Mr.Mohsen will always give you a good discount if you have been recommended by another satisfied guest. Word of mouth, or Internet in this case, is always the best recommendation!

On the 10th June, during our 3rd holiday we celebrated our Ruby Wedding Anniversary - 40th! Mr Mohsen organised his staff to make a delicious heart shaped strawberry
cake and a complimentary bottle of Tunisian Champagne(,better than Moet Chandon!), then we had dancing and music outside with the entertainments team and were presented and congratulated on stage! It was just the best place to be for what was sadly to be our last
anniversary,with all our lovely new friends, in this warm friendly country - Tunisia.

When Mr Mohsen e-mailed me his sympathy and that of all his staff, after my husband Michael
passed suddenly and unexpectedly on 2nd July, just 3 weeks after our return, he told me they thought of us as family. I have returned twice since then and plan my next visit in September

So obviously I cannot recommend The Royal Jinene Hotel and Hotel Director Mr Mohsen Ben Mahmoud and his charming, hospitable staff highly enough.

The Tunisians like the British very much and are a charming, wise and gentle people so please
visit and find a lovely holiday waiting, especially in my particular' Maison Spiritual' Hotel Royal
Jinene, Sousse. I also know this hotel is very well disposed to children, families and the disabled.

I have read some of the more negative reviews and find them to be utterly erroneous and insulting.
We were always given the same lovely room, No 15 on the first floor, overlooking the pool and beautiful gardens. The balconies are large and we had a table 2 chairs and 2 sun loungers. My husband would always rest upstairs after lunch, often sunbathing on the balcony. The beds were changed EVERY day and the towels .And the tiled floors washed every day The room and bathroom were kept SO clean, sometimes my husband had to shoo the chambermaid away as more cleaning was unnecessary! They were never offended – they just laughed and scurried away!

We had never enjoyed our holidays so much or laughed so much and we considered ourselves travellers more than tourists. having travelled the world extensively, and lived in many different countries with our children. This was our first taste of a 'package tour'. We went with Thomas Cook
and they were wonderful. Service second to none and they also looked after my disabled husband
incredibly well.

I can only encourage people to visit this delightful little country, visit all the wonderful ancient places, ride camels in the Sahara, swim in the crystal clean Mediterranean, enjoy delicious Arabic/French cuisine. But above all embrace the customs and culture of theTunisians, unique among Arab people. Always travel with an open mind and an open heart and you will be richly rewarded with a lovely holiday experience.


Carrie Woodard
Chichester, England
June 2013

Room Tip: The best rooms are those which face the pool and gardens - lovely views out over the Med to the left, but if you want to be quieter at night, although the sliding French doors are double glazed,the Air con doesn't come on til end of June in the bedrooms, so maybe rooms on the other side better, specially with children. This is because the music and entertainment team can be fairly 'lively' at night - all part of the fun of a holiday!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 480Happytraveller678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohsen192, General Manager at Jinene & Royal Jinene Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Mrs Carrie
we are really very happy to know that you are in good health and you never lose courage
and faith in God even after bad event our dear Michael is in paradise you still have
your second family in Tunisia specially in hotel Royal jinene
We appreciate your comment you are a good writer and wish you good luck for your
new book you describe the reality during your holiday and you are satisfied
Welcome in september and best rgds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I spent a week with my husband, it's beautiful. A good personal Home. Room clean and well decorated for honeymoon. a welcome cocktail. The restaurant is large, several choices of dishes are delicious. Theme nights beautiful beach. The hotel is near the Port Kantaoui. I highly recommend

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maher m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed 2 weeks, chose this hotel because of location (needed convenient location for trips to inland and along the coast) and also good all-inclusive deal.
My overall impression was quite good as I do not need any luxury. Was lucky I visited in early spring when only one third of the hotel was occupied. That meant a lot of space in 2 small pools (one inside, second outside) and not busy bar and restaurant either. Food was ok, cant complain.
Room was spacious and clean with beautiful sea view and balcony (got very high floor) - first thing I saw was blue sea after wake up, cool.
So far so good..and now...staff...only real disappointment, reception not welcoming, bar staff slow (odd considering the fact I was sitting many times alone there) + some strangers offering "nice" trips to only God knows where (everybody must already know it is a trick).
Moreover, they kept begging for tips...I have no problem to give a tip, but they simply did not deserve for service they provided.
Good staff (I would say even excellent) I found only in the restaurant, really nice, smiley and friendly 2 waiters, could not have done more for me (those I kept tipping every single night, they should have given some customer service lessons to colleagues).
They organized "social evening" every other day (karaoke, competitions etc.), not very successful, but may be fun when hotel is full and have more people to interact to.

Resume...I would stay again if given the same price.
I would like to rate this hotel as Good, but I have to choose between Average and Very Good, so I choose Very Good just because of having two great weeks in Tunisia.

Room Tip: Try to get room with sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews