We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“kaiser hotel in sousse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiser Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaiser Hotel
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Sousse
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“kaiser hotel in sousse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

this hotel in sousse is ok situated at a good place first we got a rubbish room 201 asked to change the cleaner over there was really good we gave her a tip and she showed us few rooms gave us 415 which was really nice breakfast is basic it is clean you can walk to the beach and there is good medina market it is really cheap to eat outside also the transport is cheap 2 dinars for 1 pound montasir and port el kantaoui are good place to visit no more than 5 dinars

Room Tip: ask the cleaners they have a key to each room if the good ones are avalaible they will give it to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yaz1231969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    57
    44
    21
    21
See reviews for
26
58
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked 4 days in this hotel to spend new year's eve in Sousse. We did not expect much because the price was so incredibly low, $15 per night, for two, with breakfast! We were pleasantly surprised!

The hotel is very well located, close enought to the beach (less than 1 km), walking distance to the downtown medina (less than 3 km), and also close to a few shopping centers, (maybe 4 km or so). It is also surrounded by cute little restaurants, cafés, pubs and boutiques.

The hotel itself is nothing fancy, but clean, safe and has all the basics. The staff is friendly, the rooms are very warm, have tv and bath (I've seen worse in this city) and though it is on a busy boulevard, we heard no noise with the balcony windows closed, and had no problem sleeping. The breakfast was buffet style, simple but sufficient - coffee, tea, croissants, ham, cheese, yogourt and hard boiled eggs. The breafast room is on the 5th floor, and has a view on part of the city.

The hotel has wifi internet, I even had it in my room, though it is better in the lobby.

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel and loved visiting the city of Sousse and nearby Monastir. Well worth the money, even if we had paid double.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dazeydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

First of all, as many reviews have suggested, this is not a five-star hotel and one should not expect five-star amenities. That's why my review rating is only average. Having said that, however, you pay for what you get. If you want to hang around the hotel mixing with the rest of the tourists, lounging by the pool, and expecting a huge breakfast served to you by wait-staff wearing spotless uniforms--you need to find another hotel. If, however, you want to explore Sousse and nearby areas, and want to spend some time at the beach, then you should just use this hotel as a sleeping place. And for that, it is well worth the price. The staff is friendly and helpful but you have to ask for the help; they won't volunteer it. Also, if they are giving you directions or something--don't interrupt them; they don't like it. I mis-heard a sentence when the hotel clerk was speaking and I started to ask for clarification and he said, "Let me finish." The hotel lighting is not very bright (but you don't need bright when it is so sunny and if you are just mainly going to sleep there); some of the towels are a little frayed (but clean); some of the paint is peeling in the hallways. But, again, do you want to pay just to stay in a hotel, or do you want to use the hotel as a home base while you get out and explore the city and country? The maids are friendly and will make up your room nicely and quickly, especially if you leave them a pair of pantyhose or some chewing gum (or both).
The beach is only about 400 meters away and the hotel has its own area with thatched umbrellas and sun chairs. After a while, some guy will come around asking for 3 dinar payment (about 1.5 Euros) for the whole day. After a few days of regular visits, the guy reduced the price to 2 dinar. The hotel is not far from the Medina and city center. You can walk it in about 20 minutes and therefore get the atmosphere (as well as all the touts who can smell tourists from a mile away), or you can take a taxi (you shouldn't pay any more than 2-3 dinar) or one of the little trackless "trains" that run regularly and stop at all the hotels (about 3 dinar). The hotel does not have internet (it might have wireless--I don't know), but why would you want to spend your time on the internet when you have these beautiful beaches nearby?
Overall, in spite of my average ranking, I was pleased there.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front with a balcony; however, it does tend to be a little noisy at night w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel and June and really enjoyed it! I dont understand why this hotel has bad reviews, I can only assume they did not know what to expect from a value hotel. The rooms were cleaned daily and bed linens/towels changed. The location is close to the beach, medina and transport links. The food was as you would expect at the price, basic but plentiful. Cold European breakfast, but who would want a hot one! and meals consisting of salad and chips with two 'mains' that changed each night and ice cream after. The staff were friendly. Good exchange rate at the hotel. i have no idea what one person means with regards to it being like a brothel, there was nothing like this at all. If you want to spend all your time in your hotel then perhaps this hotel is not for you but if you want to go explore tunisia (why else would you be ther) this is the perfect base. I would recommend the capital sights trip and el jem half day trip with thomas cook! I wouldnt let the reviews put you off, this hotel is very good value for money!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buttercup12345_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lots of very mixed reviews.
in a nutshell. Rooms a little dated, BUT CLEAN!
Shower and bath..........powerful shower jet and limitless hot water.
Bed (2 singles) but large and pushed together. Bed comfortable, linen clean.
TV had English speaking news and 4 movie channels in English, with Arabic subtitles.
Balcony, small, but comfy.
Aircon.perfect 15 degrees (for me), never had to alter. No noise from it.
Corridors echo...so inconsiderable neighbours banging their doors can wake you, but not much of a problem.
Had B&B only. Coffee ok. boiled eggs, french bread, yogurt, some juices...not very inspiring and dining table-clothes looked like they were not wiped from one month to the next, let alone between servings.
Pizza resturant attached to hotel is good value for money. Pizza aint great, but the lasange is amazing and there's a little something on the menu for even the pickiest of diners, and prices are good! e.g Lasange portion, (decent size) with fries, french bread n butter and a sprite was 8 dinar (around £3.33).
Bar is opened until late. Again, cheap, but not great alcohol variety.
Sauna, Jacuzzi, Gym, Massage..all available, 9.3 til 10pm...reasonable prices, professional service.
Note...guests...who make a new friend and wish to 'have a drink in their room' with that new friend, will be required to book a seperate room for this friend, at a cost of 50 Dinar. (£20)! Please note, there are NO easy alternatives to this arrangement..anywhere in Sousse! This arrangement is applicable, regardless of your gender or the gender of your guest, who must be at least 18 and have ID for check-in.

Staff are nice, I felt safe, lots of opportunities to make new friends with tourists and locals alike.

I will return...............very very cheap via travelrepublic.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms have, apparently, been the first rooms to benefit from refurbishment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tonyg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Visited in June. In principle, not bad and not expensive BUT (there always)) for people with a good appetite, nothing what to do here! Free pizza from the hotel BUT - its lousy! Beer - is expensive but the taste is the same as the pizza! Strange staff: how in police - a good cop - bad cop. Resepshen changing shifts, and your mood changes with them. The main entertainment, communication with the local contingent)) its fun but dangerous for the girls (do not let you walk around alone by the hotel :)) In Russian nobody do not speak unless you know English, learn Arabic. But in general they are fine fellows: they speak in all languages ​​(this is not our Euro 2012), at all ..... other than Russian. Although there are a couple of people found out where is the word "GOOD -in russian")) and this is GOOD! I advise you not to be nervous) a little more irony and humor! I almost forgot, just take out the prices, money and the local taxi driver (taxi is the most important, a chance to be without money, there is a "miracle" buttons on the counter, :)), :)) I know). In general, Sousse - is a paradise! A wonderful place. Try to taste of Sousse - you will not regret! I promise!

Room Tip: All room in good, spacious and with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank malahova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel was cheap. I preface everything I'm about to say with that. If you're after a very cheap place to stay, this is it. However in hindsight we'd have paid a wee bit more and stayed elsewhere. The hotel is clean and has all the basic amenities. That's about it. No frills. The room was a decent size with a balcony which overlooked the tiny pool area. The view was of Sousse. Just some buildings, some still being built. Again, no frills.

The staff were helpful. The cleaner was very nice and kept the room spotless. The reception were helpful and always there to change money etc. The breakfast would struggle to reach the basic category. We gave up on it after a few days. Pretty horrible coffee, really cheap and nasty tasting juice. Bread that was past it's freshest. Croissants that tasted as if they were bought in bulk from a supermarket. Hard boiled eggs, soft cheese triangles and some sort of sliced meat. Every morning. Best avoided unless you're really starving or seriously short of funds.

The hotel is on a busy road. It's about a 10 minute walk to the beach. There are plenty of good places to eat within easy walking distance. There are an endless stream of taxi's passing by if you want a lift to the Medina or the Museum etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PTFCscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sousse hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.8 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#25 of 40 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Faracha
Hotel El Faracha
#20 of 40 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Casino Cesar Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#13 of 40 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 1,557 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
0.5 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 40 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 stars 1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiser Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiser Hotel

Property: Kaiser Hotel
Address: Blvd Taib M'hiri, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaiser Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Also Known As:
Kaiser Hotel Sousse
Hotel Kaiser Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing