We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard but priceworthy”
Review of Kaiser Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaiser Hotel
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Standard but priceworthy”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

First of all, as many reviews have suggested, this is not a five-star hotel and one should not expect five-star amenities. That's why my review rating is only average. Having said that, however, you pay for what you get. If you want to hang around the hotel mixing with the rest of the tourists, lounging by the pool, and expecting a huge breakfast served to you by wait-staff wearing spotless uniforms--you need to find another hotel. If, however, you want to explore Sousse and nearby areas, and want to spend some time at the beach, then you should just use this hotel as a sleeping place. And for that, it is well worth the price. The staff is friendly and helpful but you have to ask for the help; they won't volunteer it. Also, if they are giving you directions or something--don't interrupt them; they don't like it. I mis-heard a sentence when the hotel clerk was speaking and I started to ask for clarification and he said, "Let me finish." The hotel lighting is not very bright (but you don't need bright when it is so sunny and if you are just mainly going to sleep there); some of the towels are a little frayed (but clean); some of the paint is peeling in the hallways. But, again, do you want to pay just to stay in a hotel, or do you want to use the hotel as a home base while you get out and explore the city and country? The maids are friendly and will make up your room nicely and quickly, especially if you leave them a pair of pantyhose or some chewing gum (or both).
The beach is only about 400 meters away and the hotel has its own area with thatched umbrellas and sun chairs. After a while, some guy will come around asking for 3 dinar payment (about 1.5 Euros) for the whole day. After a few days of regular visits, the guy reduced the price to 2 dinar. The hotel is not far from the Medina and city center. You can walk it in about 20 minutes and therefore get the atmosphere (as well as all the touts who can smell tourists from a mile away), or you can take a taxi (you shouldn't pay any more than 2-3 dinar) or one of the little trackless "trains" that run regularly and stop at all the hotels (about 3 dinar). The hotel does not have internet (it might have wireless--I don't know), but why would you want to spend your time on the internet when you have these beautiful beaches nearby?
Overall, in spite of my average ranking, I was pleased there.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front with a balcony; however, it does tend to be a little noisy at night w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    58
    46
    22
    21
See reviews for
27
59
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel and June and really enjoyed it! I dont understand why this hotel has bad reviews, I can only assume they did not know what to expect from a value hotel. The rooms were cleaned daily and bed linens/towels changed. The location is close to the beach, medina and transport links. The food was as you would expect at the price, basic but plentiful. Cold European breakfast, but who would want a hot one! and meals consisting of salad and chips with two 'mains' that changed each night and ice cream after. The staff were friendly. Good exchange rate at the hotel. i have no idea what one person means with regards to it being like a brothel, there was nothing like this at all. If you want to spend all your time in your hotel then perhaps this hotel is not for you but if you want to go explore tunisia (why else would you be ther) this is the perfect base. I would recommend the capital sights trip and el jem half day trip with thomas cook! I wouldnt let the reviews put you off, this hotel is very good value for money!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buttercup12345_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lots of very mixed reviews.
in a nutshell. Rooms a little dated, BUT CLEAN!
Shower and bath..........powerful shower jet and limitless hot water.
Bed (2 singles) but large and pushed together. Bed comfortable, linen clean.
TV had English speaking news and 4 movie channels in English, with Arabic subtitles.
Balcony, small, but comfy.
Aircon.perfect 15 degrees (for me), never had to alter. No noise from it.
Corridors echo...so inconsiderable neighbours banging their doors can wake you, but not much of a problem.
Had B&B only. Coffee ok. boiled eggs, french bread, yogurt, some juices...not very inspiring and dining table-clothes looked like they were not wiped from one month to the next, let alone between servings.
Pizza resturant attached to hotel is good value for money. Pizza aint great, but the lasange is amazing and there's a little something on the menu for even the pickiest of diners, and prices are good! e.g Lasange portion, (decent size) with fries, french bread n butter and a sprite was 8 dinar (around £3.33).
Bar is opened until late. Again, cheap, but not great alcohol variety.
Sauna, Jacuzzi, Gym, Massage..all available, 9.3 til 10pm...reasonable prices, professional service.
Note...guests...who make a new friend and wish to 'have a drink in their room' with that new friend, will be required to book a seperate room for this friend, at a cost of 50 Dinar. (£20)! Please note, there are NO easy alternatives to this arrangement..anywhere in Sousse! This arrangement is applicable, regardless of your gender or the gender of your guest, who must be at least 18 and have ID for check-in.

Staff are nice, I felt safe, lots of opportunities to make new friends with tourists and locals alike.

I will return...............very very cheap via travelrepublic.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms have, apparently, been the first rooms to benefit from refurbishment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tonyg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Visited in June. In principle, not bad and not expensive BUT (there always)) for people with a good appetite, nothing what to do here! Free pizza from the hotel BUT - its lousy! Beer - is expensive but the taste is the same as the pizza! Strange staff: how in police - a good cop - bad cop. Resepshen changing shifts, and your mood changes with them. The main entertainment, communication with the local contingent)) its fun but dangerous for the girls (do not let you walk around alone by the hotel :)) In Russian nobody do not speak unless you know English, learn Arabic. But in general they are fine fellows: they speak in all languages ​​(this is not our Euro 2012), at all ..... other than Russian. Although there are a couple of people found out where is the word "GOOD -in russian")) and this is GOOD! I advise you not to be nervous) a little more irony and humor! I almost forgot, just take out the prices, money and the local taxi driver (taxi is the most important, a chance to be without money, there is a "miracle" buttons on the counter, :)), :)) I know). In general, Sousse - is a paradise! A wonderful place. Try to taste of Sousse - you will not regret! I promise!

Room Tip: All room in good, spacious and with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank malahova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel was cheap. I preface everything I'm about to say with that. If you're after a very cheap place to stay, this is it. However in hindsight we'd have paid a wee bit more and stayed elsewhere. The hotel is clean and has all the basic amenities. That's about it. No frills. The room was a decent size with a balcony which overlooked the tiny pool area. The view was of Sousse. Just some buildings, some still being built. Again, no frills.

The staff were helpful. The cleaner was very nice and kept the room spotless. The reception were helpful and always there to change money etc. The breakfast would struggle to reach the basic category. We gave up on it after a few days. Pretty horrible coffee, really cheap and nasty tasting juice. Bread that was past it's freshest. Croissants that tasted as if they were bought in bulk from a supermarket. Hard boiled eggs, soft cheese triangles and some sort of sliced meat. Every morning. Best avoided unless you're really starving or seriously short of funds.

The hotel is on a busy road. It's about a 10 minute walk to the beach. There are plenty of good places to eat within easy walking distance. There are an endless stream of taxi's passing by if you want a lift to the Medina or the Museum etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PTFCscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sousse hotels

Wolverton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Hello and Thankyou to all the staff (except one) for making my holidays in tunisia enjoyable i have no complaints and if i did i am sure it would soon be sorted if possible,if you want to sit around the tables drinking and smoking (foreign tourists)and talking about others no doubt you would welcome be aware though if you have a tunisian boyfriend as soon as your back is turned you will be talked about or if you are bothered by any unwelcome boys or men you just tell them you are not interested. THANKS AGAIN TO THE STAFF HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON!!!!!

Room Tip: Personally i prefer the rooms over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happygolucky280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This hotel was an average hotel. The room was nice, which was cleaned daily with fresh towels. Unfortunately we did not get any sunshine in our room at any time of day. The pool was very small, which was too cold to swim in. There was very little space for sun loungers, which were all in the shade by mid afternoon. Food was acceptable and cheap. Drinks were cheap. Staff were very friendly and helpful, although there was a bit of a language barrier, however their English was much better than my Tunisian! The English female guests made me feel ashamed to call myself British! Most appeared to be in the 50+ age bracket looking for young Tunisian "boys" to befriend. They then ate their own food and drank their own drinks in the bar area, or tried their best to get out of paying for anything. The main barman, Ahmed, commented that these women think of the Tunisians as below them. We told them, this is not normal practice for the UK, as we would not tolerate this behaviour here and they would be asked to purchase wares from the establishment or leave!
The resort itself is a very dirty littered area. A dead rat was left on the path for several days before "something" probably ate it. Even the beach was littered with glass and bottles, making a beautiful beach a dangerous place to walk. On two days, we saw Tunisian men urinating openly on the beach, regardless of who was around.
The shop keepers were very intimidating, almost bullying you to buy their wares. We realise they are only trying to make a living, but it got to the point where we couldnot be bothered to even walk down the street. They try to con you, saying they work in your hotel and then try to get you to go to their shop! One chap grabbed for my arm to pull me into his shop, I side stepped him and walked round a lamp post to avoid him.
Cigarette sellers, give you nuts to eat, then expect to get paid for them, when you decline they ask you to exchange english sterling coins for dinars, but this is to see what you have in your purse. I ended up having a tug of war with one seller as he grabbed my money. A kind lady who spoke Tunisian saw what happened and sent him packing. How frightening this was!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are less noisy and have some sun shine during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fordies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.8 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#23 of 35 in Sousse
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Marabout Hotel
Le Marabout Hotel
#16 of 35 in Sousse
462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Faracha
Hotel El Faracha
#25 of 35 in Sousse
48 reviews
1.5 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#15 of 35 in Sousse
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiser Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiser Hotel

Property: Kaiser Hotel
Address: Blvd Taib M'hiri, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaiser Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaiser Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiser Hotel Sousse
Hotel Kaiser Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing