We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“And you shall have music wherever you go!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“And you shall have music wherever you go!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

One problem with websites such as this is that you never know the tastes and expectations of those writing the reviews. Clearly the variations in reviews for this hotel are due to objective judgements based on the kind of holiday experience each writer wants. I will therefore start by puttng this review into context.

My husband and I are experienced travellers who regularly stay in four star hotels, so we know the standard to expect. We prefer quiet locations with pretty gardens, where we can relax in peace. If this is the sort of holiday you want, then this hotel is definitely not for you.

On the positive side, the staff in the restaurant and snack bar are excellent, as are the domestic staff. The gardens are beautiful and the hotel and grounds are clean and well kept. The food is fine.

On the negative side are the standard of accommodation and facilities in the rooms, the reception's staff's willingness to attend to individual, rather than collective needs and the entertainment team.

First the rooms: the facilities are definitely not four star. The quality of the sheets is poor, being very thin with holes and tears, and the pillows appalling. The temperature of the shower fluctuated from scalding to freezing regularly during each shower and the only accessories were soap, bath foam and shampoo. No shower cap, no tissues etc.
There was no fridge in the room, neither was there a safe. The system of safety deposit boxes is tedious and time consuming and the boxes themselves too small to get in anything other than money and passports.

The entertainment team "Animation" are, indeed, very active. They work on the assumption that all guests want their taste in loud, lively music with a strong base beat. As most of the entertainment takes place in public areas, i.e. the gardens, beach and reception area, guests are subjected to it wherever they are in the building - and having a sea-view room is a definite disadvantage in this respect! The recreational facilties and equipment is old, poor quality and tacky.

As for the reception staff we were unimpressed. For example, when we asked about the music from the beach we were told that we only had to ask and it would be turned down. During the first week it increased in volume. We asked, but nothing was done. It was not until the third request, with the rep present, that the volume decreased. The last two days were a blessed relief!

We have been to Tunisia twice before and were really looking forward to this visit. We left wondering whether we would consider holidaying there again.

We hope this has helped you decide whether this hotel is for you or not.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    638
    233
    93
    72
See reviews for
607
711
61
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

Have just returned from a week at this hotel, along withy my friend and our children.

Although there are not many children at this hotel, our group were made to feel incredibly welcome and the entertainment team made every effort to ensure that our visit was thoroughly enjoyable. Entertainment is steadily provided throughout the day by a fantastic and genuine group of lads. The holiday would not have been the same without them. Thank you!!!

In addition, the staff in the hotel are incredibly friendly and yes, they may like to receive tips - but who doesn't. Particularly when you consider that they may not be earning the highest of salaries!

The hotel is also exceptionally clean and our room was cleaned every day. Very genuine and friendly domestic staff.

As far as location goes, it couldn't be better. You will find it hard to get better beaches within 3 hours of the UK. A really beautiful place to visit. If you do want to take trips, there are plenty of opportunities to take either local trips or to visit the Sahara etc,.

All in all - an excellent hotel, staff and location. We will definitely return some day.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaannejones1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

Just got back, two days ago, from staying at the Marhaba Beach Hotel in Sousse. Don't read any of the negative reviews on this site the hotel, the staff, the food, the cleanliness, the beach etc etc etc are fantastic, the people who have entered negative reviews are obviously moaners who expect the world. We throughly enjoyed our stay and would go back tomorrow!

The entertainment staff are great and will do anything for you, they are such hard working guys and really funny. The waiters and bar attenders are great too and work really hard, they don't expect tips and don't serve you if you don't tip like some people have suggested. We tipped on most occasions but sometimes nothing huge just loose change. Our room was cleaned daily to a high standard and tied up too. The maid even moved our cases to one side of the room to make it look tidier. She must also have seen my husband's birthday cards on his birthday and we then got a complimentary food basket in our room. Then at dinner we had flowers on our table and the waiter brought my husband out a lovely birthday cake with candles and his name written on it. It was great!

Pool area and beach are fab and great location, sea breeze is brilliant for those hot days. Loads of water sports on hand along the beach at great prices, cheapest we have ever seen whilst holidaying.

A short walk out of hte hotel takes you to a few shops but if you want to walk further theres hundreds of shops. Loads of taxis too at very cheap rates.

Overall a great holiday, although we like to try different places and not visit the same place twice we would love to go again for another short break, you can't beat the short flight from the UK to what will be guaranteed hot and sunny weather.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonDSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

Good overall service, however the staff were not slow to ask us when we were leaving hence, reminding us to leave their tips! The reception staff were always very helpful and would change money if the hotel bank was closed. The room we were allocated on arrival unfortunately did not get any sun but did have a sea view which we had paid extra for. They kindly organised another room overlooking the pool with a side sea view which got the sun most of the day which was great. The towels were changed every day and overall the room was well maintained. It would have been good to have a small fridge in the room. especially in the height of the summer months. Its private beach was ok with plenty sunloungers, you can walk along the beach into Sousse itself in about 30 mins. There was some sort of entertainement on most nights in the hotel.
The restuarant had a good selection of food in the evening and was very nice. However we were told we would have to share our table with another couple for the duration of our stay even although there were plenty empty tables around as the hotel was very quiet. We were on full board and because it wasquiet the lunch was a set menu served in the smaller restuarant which stayed the same for the whole fortnight! We often didn't come back for lunch if we were out for the day. It's quite cheap to eat out. The indoor pool could do with a revamp and is separate from the hotel. The outdoor pool was cleaned every morning but was too cold to swim in, it being March/Apr. Plenty sunbeds but towels were put on them first thing in the morning to reserve them. There are another two hotels in the complex which you can use, but cannot have meals in. Overall we had a good holiday, the thing I didn't like was being hassled constantly in the Medina and in Sousse itself.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

I stayed at this hotel with my best friend in may/june 08 for 2 weeks half board. We only wanted a girly relax and this is exacltly what we got and more. The staff were excellent and really down to earth and entertained everybody non stop, there is beach aerobics to pool volley ball and then evening entertainment for kids and adults.
The food was good with a large selection and I am quite fussy so towards the end of the 2nd week it had become repetative but still good value. The weather was hot and with its private beach and waiter service you were always catered for, cant fault the hard working waiters!!
The rooms were clean and fresh towels everyday, noise was to a minimum and general pleasant atmosphere. We did venture out a few days but beware 2 women do tend to get hassled but nothing serious or scary :).
Overall I would definatley recommend this hotel and I have just booked for myself and partner to go this october to it's sister hotel Marhaba , cant wait !!!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barney81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, East Sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

We've just returned from a week in Sousse. We wanted a week in the sun and not to do much other than relax and read our books. The Marhaba Beach was perfect for this. Other reviews here are very accurate about the rooms (clean if a little outdated), the restaurant (lots of varied food, though not always of the highest quality and definitely catering for the international market rather than giving a real taste of Tunisia), the public spaces and bars (wonderful high roofed marble reception area) and the pool (yes you do have to pay for the mats on the loungers, but this does reserve them for you all day and they make them very comfortable - I never fall asleep sunbathing and I managed this feat twice on these loungers). It's not a hotel or a country which will give a life-changing experience, but it was a lovely place to while away a relaxing week.

A few tips:

This hotel is part of a group of hotels making up a small resort - the other are the Tour Khalef, Marhaba Club and Hotel Marhaba. It's not explicitly clear, but guests are welcome to use the facilities at all the hotels and it is worth wandering around the different pool areas etc as they all have a different ambiance and suit different guests.

Also the Marhaba Beach seems to have wireless internet, but no internet cafe. We asked at the reception where we could find an internet cafe and they directed us towards a local shopping centre (but we never found it). We did however find one computer terminal in the Marhaba Club hotel (though it wasn't working) and finally two computer terminals in the Tour Khalef (and certainly one of those worked). I was quite bemused that the reception staff in one hotel was not able to direct us to a sister property - they do not seem to know the other properties very well.

The rooms do not have tea making facilties, but you can save a fortune by taking a travel kettle, coffee and teabags. We also took small cartons of coffee compliment as we knew we did not want to invest in one of the fridges mentioned elsewhere on this site. This worked well.

Although it doesn't seem immediately obvious there are lots of shops within walking distance on the main road from the hotel, so dare to explore.

In the restaurant you don't have to share a table. We didn't have to share once. We think this was possibly due to buying a bottle of the lovely Tunisian Magon wine each evening at dinner and tipping the waiter 1 dinar (50p) from the change each time.

If you enjoy exercise do use the fitness centre. The indoor swimming pool is a decent size and it's possible to swim laps without too much bother from people getting in your way.

For a bit of culture do visit El Jem, the roman amphitheatre, and also the wonderful mosaic museum in the same town. We were incredibly lucky to get a fabulous guide, Washir, actually a lecturer in policital science from Sousse University. He gave us a great overview of life in Tunisia, political history of Tunisia, tourism in Tunisia, archeology in Tunisia, etc as well as the actual history of the monument we were visiting.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizofLewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

I stayed from 30 Apr - 10 May 2009 with my son (7 years). Nothing to do for children. No toys, papers, pencisl etc in the children club. Some of animations used to sleep in the childred club and smoked. The waiters come to you only after putting 1 dinar on a table. I waited for a cup of tea in the morning for more then 7 - 10 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoscowBeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
0.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Beach Hotel

Property: Marhaba Beach Hotel
Address: Boulevard 7 Novembre | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#2 Family Hotel in Sousse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marhaba BeachLocated in Sousse and 3 km away from Port El Kantaoui resort, between the white sands and crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean Sea, the Marhaba Beach has been created in the 80’s.His creators have established a contemporary and Moorish interiors of some suites … An ideal place for soaking up the sun of Tunisia and to relax on the beach, and the advantage of having nearest a new Thalassotherapy center : Les Neréides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marhaba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Beach Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing