We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“winter sun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marhaba Beach Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“winter sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

went in February, British summer type weather.rooms were very comfortable, good solid firm mattresses.good solid choice of main courses fantastic soups and great selection of cakes and ice creams.the animation team were brilliant and made people more than aware of of what was happening at all times.

Room Tip: a garden facing room is better for evening sun on you're balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neilydunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    633
    233
    93
    71
See reviews for
603
706
59
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just returned from a two week holiday at the Marhaba Beach Hotel although the weather wasnt great the holiday certainly was the Hotel was spotlessly clean the rooms were cleaned everyday if you so wished, the restaurant was very clean and the food although a little repetitive was always well cooked and presented with a choice for everyone even the fussy eaters. The animation team Joe and Timo were great real good sports we had lots of laughs with them (but watch that Joe he can be a real cheat haha) The waiters both in the restaurant and the bars were all excellent . Overall an excellent holiday and hopefully we will return some day .

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Wenwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

visited Tunisia for the first time and stayed here early feb with my three children, The weather was warm but very breezy on some days, not warm enough to sunbath. The hotel is very beautiful and rooms are clean, staff members were polite and extremely helpful, please do not take notice of negative reviews regarding tipping as I found that the staff did not wait or expect to be tipped, the restaurant staff were always on hand and very good with the children. The only snag is that you are allocated a table in the restaurant for the duration of your holiday. I found the food to be very nice and good variety, even for the most fussy eater,although there are some restaurants outside the complex but it is about a ten fifteen minute walk. The entertainment needs alot of improvement and not always what was advertised on noticeboard maybe its due to the time of year we visited also the kids club was not available as stated via our tour operator. There is not alot to do outside the complex, also be very careful when crossing the roads as the drivers do not stop even if you are at a so called zebra crossing, i stepped out and the drivers just drove straight pass me, even though I had the children with me, took me 20 mins to cross the road in the end a local took pity on me and stopped the traffic so I could cross. All in all had a great time in sousse and would defo come back to Tunisia and stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank perle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worsley, Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We've just spent 11 nights at Marhaba Beach Hotel on an all inclusive package which we got at a very good price. So, the first thing to say is that the holiday offered good value for money. What we weren't told when booking is that the hotel is undergoing a lot of renovation work and there is considerable noise and disruption (and a very unsafe fire escape which would pose a major problem should the hotel need to be evacuated in an emergency - we reported this to Thomson and they say it will be dealt with).

There is good and bad about this hotel and the surrounding area. The good is that staff and management are largely very helpful and friendly. Because of noise and other disruption we had to move room three times, each time the response was helpful but we ask ourselves why put guests in sub standard rooms when the hotel is half empty? Tipping is almost obligatory despite what the Representatives say. You will receive better service if you tip.

The public areas and rooms are kept very clean, although the rooms are rather tired - we ended our stay in a renovated room (363) which was fine but the standard of work is pretty dismal, drawers fell apart, tiling and light fittings not properly finished etc.

One big issue for us was that the whole place was full of cigarette smoke all the time. There is a smoking area in the bar which pervades the whole reception area, and although rooms are advertised as non smoking no-one adheres to this. There appear to be no smoke detectors in most areas of the hotel. The rooms with a sea view are on the side of the hotel that doesn't get any sun at all after about 8.30 am so if you want a sunny room you need to be on the pool-side of the builidng.

The food is OK, we always found something reasonable to eat and we did have two evenings where the food was very good indeed. Soups are home-made and delicious and the Tunisian dishes are very good too. Juices and drinks are however full of sugar, cheap nasty juice and mixers that are flourescent in colour (we'd rather pay a bit more for better juice at breakfast for example).

Now for the really bad news! The hotel does not challenge inidividuals and groups of men who wander the grounds and the public areas pestering guests to buy trips - we found this a major issue. It makes one feel intimidated and at times unsafe! The area immediately surrounding the hotel feels unsafe and we never went out at night for this reason. The beach is also populated by hawkers and some really quite sinister characters. One day we walked to Al Kantoui (about 1hr 30 mins - probably too far if you're not a walker) and saw how down at heel the whole area is - there were open rubbish tips along the road and every single tree has at least three plastic bags hanging from it.

All in all this was a value for money break where, if you are prepared to either run the guantlet of hawkers who pester you constantly, or stay confined to the hotel, you will be OK. Don't expect four star accommodation and facilities, this isn't a four star hotel despite it's rating. We definitely wouldn't return to Tunisia - it's just not for us.

Room Tip: Whole of second floor being renovated, dusty and noisy around this area. All sea view rooms are out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mostermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My first trip to Tunisia last Oct! Glad I picked this hotel! Staff are friendly ; rooms are clean ; entertainment was great! Kids loved the hotel staffs because they make everyone so welcome ! Beach towels could be changed everyday. Serving drinks were pretty quickly and they will take it to wherever you were seated. Situated right on the beach. Downfall are lacks a variety of fruits for lunch and dinner. Desserts were not too good. Will still go back someday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mylanliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

its all been said just read the good reviews
cant find of any faults
nice beach good staff good food drinks ok good for football matches on tv
thinking of going back next year for a month
most poeple there go back every year the same time that tells you something

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I spent two weeks here in January. The weather was good and we had a nice break. We were lucky enough to have a suite which was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We found the food very hit and miss especially the 'a la carte'. On the two occasions the meal was really not up to scratch. The food in general was quite often lukewarm and fairly boring. It lacked seasoning most of the time. As this was our first experience of all inclusive but to be honest I missed having more choice. We also disliked sharing a table. Don;t get me wrong we sat with a nice couple but we missed being able to talk privately.
Sousse itself was not a nice experience either. We have traveled to many countries and have dealt with hassle but somehow we felt intimidated in Tunisia. Also we like to go for a walk after dinner especially as the entertainment at the hotel was not our cup of tea, but there was nowhere to go.
We felt the staff work hard and are mostly very friendly but its a shame you feel you have to pay them to do their job. We would rather pay a bit more for the accomodation and allow the hotel to pay their staff enough so they did not rely on tips so much. I have never felt so pressured into tipping before we have had good service.

Room Tip: Do not have a front sea view as you do not get sun on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4JanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#13 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
0.4 mi away
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
0.8 mi away
SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Beach Hotel

Property: Marhaba Beach Hotel
Address: Boulevard 7 Novembre | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#2 Family Hotel in Sousse
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marhaba BeachLocated in Sousse and 3 km away from Port El Kantaoui resort, between the white sands and crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean Sea, the Marhaba Beach has been created in the 80’s.His creators have established a contemporary and Moorish interiors of some suites … An ideal place for soaking up the sun of Tunisia and to relax on the beach, and the advantage of having nearest a new Thalassotherapy center : Les Neréides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Marhaba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Beach Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing