We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already Booked to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Marhaba Beach
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visited at the end of May, booked through last minute we wanted a cheap and cheerful holiday, after reading these reviews we booked Marhaba Beach, and were not dissapointed.
We flew into Tunis in the evening and got out of the airport with our luggage in less than half an hour. And unlike people that landed in other airports we didn't have a any problems with people trying to take our bags.

On arrival at our hotel we were greeted with a cocktail and checked in, in less than ten minutes. Even though it was really quite late (11pm) they still told us we could get food if we were quick and called the snack bar and told them we still needed to eat after seeing our room.

On seeing our double room we were really pleased, it was spotlessly clean, cool and we had a lovely balcony with a sea view (although it was difficult to see as it was so late)

Throughout our all inclusive week we couldn't fault he hotel, staff work so hard. Including our amazing waiter who served us at each meal throughout the day and the cleaners left our room spotless each day but would never disturb us.
The animation team who work endlessly lead by Rico, who is always willing to chat and was a great help you if you wanted to now things about the area. The rest of the team do activities throughout the whole day including archery, water polo and volleyball. They also put on some on the evening entertainment and love to get people involved.

At each meal we always found something to eat, you can also get food at the beach bar and snack bar and on our last night we had our table decorated in flowers which was a lovely touch. In the resuarant you are seated at a set table and it is buffet self service however I liked this because you didn't spend ages hunting for a table, it was always already laid out and you got to know your waiter.

During the week the weather was great and we took a walk (a rather long walk) down to Port El Kantaoui to see the Harbour which was stunnng. We visited back one evening and saw the dancing fountain that happens each evening throughout the year.
We visit the Medina and got some great bargains as long as your willing to haggle!! I didn't find sellers here as pushy as Marrakech Medina, you just need to be able to say a polite no thankyou and you will be left alone.
Tip- If you go out to the medina turn over you hotel bands so people can't see were you are staying otherwise people offer show you around (but expect a large tip)

We also went on the 2 day Sahara Trip which I would happily do again, made some great friends and saw some fantastic sites including Salt Lakes, Sand Dunes and Oasis plus our tour guide was great and very knowledgable.

Overall I cannot fault our holiday and have booked to go back again next month (November) as we got a great deal!!!!
Hopefully we will get to see some of the same staffs faces as back in May!
I would happily recommend this hotel to all age ranges and singles-large groups.

Room Tip: When you leave the hotel turn over your wristbands The drag show is on one evening a week at an add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sarahbrown276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,166 - 1,172 of 2,306 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a fab hotel this is. From a small problem at check in to the moment we left the staff could not do enough for us. Myself and my partner went as it was both of our birthdays. I received a bunch of flowers for our room, and for the table for the evening meal, I also received a birthday cake, lovely little touches like this makes a fab holiday. The hotel and grounds are clean and tidy.
The entertainment staff work really hard and such a laugh.
The staff do like to be tipped, we tipped a dinar which is about 50p which does not break the bank.
One word of warning there can be lengthy delays at immigration which we was not warned about, so be prepared to be in the airport for a hour or so, other than that the whole holiday was fantastic and cannot wait to go again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room, the sunrises are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for a week all inclusive in September 2012.
We'd read the reviews and knew about the tipping culture, but the porters at the airport were a bit of a shock! A man came towards us asking if we were with Thompsons and when we said yes, he took our bags and headed off towards the coach. He then wanted a tip for helping us. Our suitcases had wheels so we could easily have managed, but we gave him £2 (we hadn't yet changed any money to dinars) and he happily went away. We later learned that these porters do not get a wage, but just live on these tips so please be patient with them, and if you don't want to tip, just politely decline their help.
The transfer time was about half an hour, and the coach had air conditioning and seatbelts. The hotel front, and reception were very impressive, and the staff all very helpful. You have to fill out a few forms when you check in, and organise a safe key and optional towel card, but there was a waiter there straight away with welcome drinks for everyone while they waited.
The towel card costs 10 dinar (about £2.50) which you get back at the end of the week when you return it. It means you can exchange the card for fresh beach/pool towels every day without having to worry about taking your own. The towels aren't massive so most people were using them as well as their own to cover the loungers.
I think the safe cost about 2 dinar per day. It was based in reception which was open 24 hours a day so you could get at it whenever you want. We thought it was worth it to keep passports etc safe, as well as our money. There is a bank at the hotel which was open for about 3 hours in the morning and in the afternoon. Because the dinar is a closed currency they advise you change your money little and often so you don't get stuck with loads at the end of the week. We were all inclusive so you didn't really need money at the hotel (apart from tipping).
The rooms were a little dated but very clean and comfortable. Lots of people seemed to be struggling with the air con but we found that if the balcony doors were closed that it worked fine.
We had a tv but didn't switch it on once as we were enjoying so much.
The only thing you could do with in the rooms was a fridge to keep a bottle of water cool etc. But having said that, large bottles were available free of charge from the bars so that was good.
There were two pools - one seemed to be for people with kids (and it was by the snack bar), and the other was smaller with mostly adults (and a self service bar)! The situation with the loungers was a bit strange. You can't go out early to put your towel down (which is brilliant), but instead the lifeguard puts his towels on all of them, then when you come along, he'll remove them for you and give you a lounger cushion in exchange for a tip. It only has to be a small tip (especially if you're going to be there every day) and I was happy to do this if it meant we didn't have to get up early to get a lounger. And the lifeguard tended to recognise you and keep you the same spot every day which was nice.
We only went to the beach once, but it was literally through a gate next to the poolside. I'm not sure what the deal is with the loungers but some people we met said they'd been going to the beach by 7:30am every day to make sure they got one!
The watersports on the beach looked good. My husband tried the jetski and really enjoyed. It was 30 dinar for 15 minutes but they left him on longer than that as there wasn't a queue.
The beach bar and restaurant was nice too - again we only went there once but the beer was nicer than by the pool, and they had a BBQ with burgers etc.
The restuarant in the hotel was buffet style. You could easily find something you liked there. If you didn't fancy the Tunisian food, they always had chips, meat, pizzas etc. The waiters were very hard working and friendly. The same guy served us for breakfast lunch and dinner every time we went there so we happily tipped him at the end of the week.
We went on the Thompsons two day Simply Sahara trip and had an amazing time. Although it's a very long time on a coach (i think we covered about 600 miles), there was air con and plenty of toilet stops. The places you visit are all very interesting, but we particularly enjoyed riding the camels in the sunset in the Sahara, and the 4x4 trip the following day. Whenever you do stop people tend to try and sell you stuff, but as long as you're firm and polite they will leave you alone. One thing to note that is although the cost of all the food and travel is included in the price, you will need a fair bit of money for drinks and snacks on the trip. The camel ride is extra too - 25 dinar each when we went. Oh and 3 dinar each for nomads robes to dress up in when you go on the camels - that was very funny! We found that this trip was cheaper to book out in Tunisia with the Thompsons rep than booking at home.
Back at the hotel we went out in the evenings three times. Once to the Thompsons caberet show which wasn't brilliant, and the second time to Port El Kantaoui which was very pretty but we were glad we hadn't booked to go there cos it could be Spain with all the white-washed building etc. We ate out on the floating restaurant in the marina which was nice (and cheap), and then had a drink while watching the dancing fountains. The cafe's around the fountains are quite expensive.
The last time we went out was on the last night. We took a taxi into Sousse and the taxi driver dropped us off in an area we weren't familiar with. We were the only tourists in a very large group of people, and while it could have been quite uncomfortable we felt absolutely fine. A lot of people did stare at us, and some tried again to sell us stuff, but we ended up having quite a nice walk back to the restaurant we were trying to go to. This was the Farmers. My husband had a huge burger and chips, i had steak and chips, and they both came with garlic bread. We had six drinks between us, and the bill came to about £16. And the food was gorgeous, so definitely worth a visit.
So all in all a brilliant holiday! Oh and the weather was about 30 degrees the whole time too.

Room Tip: Agree the price of a taxi before you get in...and don't accept the price they give you! Your rep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank PRSDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just returned from Marhaba Beach Hotel, Sousse, Tunisia. For us, it was a very pleasant surprise. The sea was beautiful, the beach impeccable. The services offered there are professional, the stuff is very willingly to help, they all seem glad to be able to accomplish your needs. The food is very tasty and various. The minor downside is the room. We would rate them at 3 stars maximum. But overall we are very satisfied about the choice we made for our holiday this year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimbotourTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I chose this hotel as part of a package deal with my partner and family. As we were more strapped for cach this year and could only go in the peak season when everywhere is excruciatingly expensive, we chose this hotel on the basis that we got an all-inclusive deal for under £900 each.
Of course, we had our reservations about many aspects after reading some of the more negative views on this site. I'm happy to say that most of these were unfounded and we had a relaxing and fulfilling time at this hotel.
The Food
In my opinion, no holiday is complete without good food. I'm not one to just fill myself up with any old rubbish just because I've already paid for it. The food at this hotel is good on the whole, with a wide and varied selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner. As you're probably already aware, you don't get cooked breakfasts but you get a range of cereals, fruits, freshly made omelettes and pancakes, cooked meats and bread for toast. You also get tea and coffee brought to your table. The juices are super sweet and watered down- so we avoided these for the holiday. Lunch consists of things like pasta, barbecued meats, fries, burgers and salads of all varieties. Dinner included meats cooked in sauces, stir fries, freshly cooked pasta, fish and tunisian specialities. Local beer and wine is OK (just about). Be warned- they don't serve diet drinks at this hotel and the soft drinks can be overbearingly sweet. Fortunately, water is available in sealed litre bottles throughout the day and at water dispensers. Our waiters couldn't do enough for us. A dinar every meal certainly improved the service we received - remember staff here get paid so very little so 50p a time is nothing.
The Room
Cleanliness - good in general. Some of the more 'hidden' areas (front of dressing table) can get a bit grubby. Clean sheets and towels daily. Maids friendly.
Facilities - hit and miss. The shower was powerful and water always warm when you want it to be! Hairdryer- pathetic; take your own. Air conditioning would have been good if there wasn't a faulty connection with the balcony door which meant it constantly cut out! Fortunately, rooms must have been well protected from heat as never got sweltering; even in 40 degree plus heat. Limited number of channels on TV, but who goes on holiday to watch TV?
The Entertainment
Hardworking and enthusiastic team of animators but oh-so-cheesy. Outsourced entertainment in hotel hit and miss - Drag Show was OK, only cost about a fiver so can't complain. Karaoke was awful. Berber magic show- good. Nightclub in neighbouring hotel - fairly good but full of perverts. Had to leave as I couldn't bear the pestering for more than an hour!
Pool
Decent enough but the walls had a 'tidemark' of greasy filth. Dubious about the hygiene! Again, service around the pool is helped along by tipping.
Location
Right on a beautiful stretch of golden sandy beach. Please be careful on the watersports- I was thrown off one of the rides and ended up with an enema! Won't go into details but it could have ruptured something and was extremely painful. About 20 minutes out away from the tourist zone of Sousse which had some decent restaurants and cafes if you fancy a break from the all inclusive. Imported drinks are very expensive here! Local drinks are not amazing. Wouldn't recommend it as a 'drinking' holiday!
Excursions
Although I won't go into detail here, I would recommend taking a guide around Sousse Medina. It stops a lot of the hassle. Sahara trip was excellent for the more adventurous.
All in all, a good holiday in you exercise some caution and remember cultural/health and safety issues.

Room Tip: Avoid 143 (I think) Air-con doesn't work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank miandma2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Mahaba Beach Hotel for the last week in Sept, the hotel was spotless, the food was OK always found something to eat (The ice creams were really nice) rooms spotless and although our air con didnt work when we arrived the maintenance guys soon got it sorted. ther eis no kettle or fridge however we knew this and took a travel kettle and 3in1 coffees, the staff, waiters, everyone were so friendly and helpfull everyone had a smile and a wave as you walked by. we did tip but as and when we wanted too we didnt once feel that we had too. The restaurant was clean our waiters were really nice and always had time for a chat. The beach with powder white sand and the sea was clear and you could walk out for ages before it even got as deep as your waste. The sun bed man very helpful and always made sure we had beds in the sun and one in the shade for my mum, he was so funny, friendly and he was often up having a dance... we did tip him a couple of dinar each day. The entertainment team were always friendly and had activities going on all day and you could join in as much or as little as you wanted and not once were they pushy, the hotel dance routine was a giggle and even now i keep starting to sing it ( how sad is that)..lol. personnaly i would rather have had music on and a dance at night and not the games and quizzes they just were not my thing, however we could get away from it and go into one of the bars. Hats of to the team they work long hours and always make you smile. and are soo friendly. Plenty of cocktails to choose from and the drag show is a must, it was soo funny. All in all we had a really nice week and we are planning to return next year and hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesHols1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

we stayed at this hotel for 1 week on th 18 september.the food was out of this world and the hotel was spotless and the staff were fab to.we hope to go back very very soon.the pool area was clean and the entertainment was very funny to watch.the pool staff all ways get you up doing all sorts of games thats if you want to take part

Room Tip: you will love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 27canadaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sousse
0.2 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,666 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#4 of 35 in Sousse
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
986 reviews
3.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#13 of 35 in Sousse
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marhaba Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marhaba Beach

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sousse
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: $25 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marhaba Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marhaba BeachLocated in Sousse and 3 km away from Port El Kantaoui resort, between the white sands and crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean Sea, the Marhaba Beach has been created in the 80’s.His creators have established a contemporary and Moorish interiors of some suites … An ideal place for soaking up the sun of Tunisia and to relax on the beach, and the advantage of having nearest a new Thalassotherapy center : Les Neréides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Marhaba Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Beach Sousse
Marhaba Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing