We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be good... But isn't!”
Review of Marhaba Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marhaba Club Hotel
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Could be good... But isn't!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you want a cheapish hotel in North Africa then this will do fine... But don't expect good service or courtesy. It seems in Tunisia you have to pay for that..and even then... To be fair you have to pay for everything 2-fold because this is a tipping culture. If you don't like 'expected' tipping then don't come to Tunisia.. Simples!

Anyway, the hotel, plain but reasonably clean.. Nice reception area and pool with a good pool bar. The rooms are adequate but the air-con is poor... Like a fart in a sandstorm. In fact, there is no real air-con in this hotel at all. The maids however, are polite, courteous and efficient. The maintenance similarly.

The dining area is grim. Like a pit canteen only worse! GO NEXT DOOR to the Mahaba Hotel.. Different league in all respects and included in your all-inclusive package. Good point.. Our waiter was attentive and for a tip of 5DT (£2) per day plied us with drinks at every meal and probably would have done the Can Can if we'd asked! The queues are dreadful... Get your waiter to jump them! One warning, if you are easily offended by the way other cultures regard 'all-inclusive' buffets then do not come here. The wasted food is shameful, and children and women have the right to be served first (but not if they're British) .. Apparently!

The beach is good, as are the water sports (40DT for a paraglide or a jet ski, 15 DT pp to be dragged on an inflatable sofa).
Meals are served to the beach at lunchtime, snacks by the pool and full buffet in the dining mess.

The all inclusive bar is poor. The alcoholic drinks are weak, the cordials look and taste radioactive and the waiters are (with exceptions) so unhappy in their work you'd think they'd been asked to scrape fluff out of Jabba-the-Hut's belly button. The cups are small and there's no ice, usually. The beer is fine and is more likely to hydrate than dehydrate you!

Overall, this place is ok.. A summary of good and bad for me would be...

GOOD...
Cheap
Clean
Pool
Maid service
Food (decent choice/ quality)
Dining waiter
Maintenance
Beach

BAD....
Tired decor
Toilet rolls
Inclusive bar
Dining experience
Waiters
Too few brollies around pool
Nowhere to drink outside after 6pm
Cups too small
No spoons in dining room and plates are more elusive than Lord Lucan on a mystery tour.

We did several SUPER excursions with Thomas Cook...

African Dream (zoo visit/ African music & Zulus/ Meal 59DT pp)
Buggies/ Ostrich Farm 55DT pp
Simply Sahara 2 day trip inc hotel into Sahara inc Berber village, Star Wars set, Star Wars locations, sunsets, sunrises, salt lakes and more... Fantastic £100 pp.

Had a great time and didn't let anyone/ anything spoil it. I wouldn't choose this holiday again however.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    226
    131
    76
    57
See reviews for
218
245
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

ive been to the marhaba club 6 times going again in september got to say i dont no how people could moan about the marhaba club staff are really friendly and carnt do enough for you rooms are cleaned every day and the are spotless the food may not be great but people are in africa and people are starving in this country ad you carnt expect 5 star treatment but true british love to moan if u want 5 star pay 5 star. on that note i can not fault this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshua477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited as a family group at the end of May.
When we arrived there was no one to help with bags. After looking at 3 different rooms, all worn looking and very dark, we chose the best which was terrible. It was large but the fittings were ancient, the tv was out of the sixties,and the sheets were dirty and thread bare,the towels were grey.
When we arrived we went for lunch,it was feeding time at the zoo,with no food left.
The food was awful,breakfast was just boiled eggs,bread and dry cakes.
Lunch was spaghetti bolognese(cold)and chips ,every day.
Dinner was more varied,but not great.
Drinks were watered down spirits which all tasted the same and the wine was like bleach.
We went on this holiday with Direct holidays(thomas cook).We booked it a year before we went,and it had a 4 star rating,when we came to go ,the rating had gone down to a 3 star,but not only that ,the price had gone down to half of what we had paid(which is what it is worth).We did phone TC regarding this,but they didn't help.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank woodpecker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sousse hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just got back from a 1 week girkls holiday...as our flight was delayed we arrived 2 hours later then expected so therefore got there around midnight....for an all inclusive holiday there was nothing open to get any food or drinks (only given 1 big bottle for the room) was told to go across the road to buy take away....first room was given had no blacony and the view was roof and RUBBISH! fridge didn't work and was broken, asked to be moved and was given a nice room with a double bed and we wanted 2 singles but was told to wait until the am for someone to check out. ended up staying in second room. Overall the hotel was average but maintance could of been better and the food hall has a terriable queing system!

Room Tip: ASk for a balcony room otherwise your given a wibndow that opens onto the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Myself, my wife and 15 year old son stayed here for two weeks AI last week of May, first week of June 2012. On arrival the reception staff were not the most polite people and gave us a room on the ground floor looking out onto a car park. The room was very small, the old iron 'put you up bed' my son was supposed to sleep in had dirty sheets and the smell of the room was shocking! Within minutes I was back at reception with a 20 Dinar note in my hand telling them i want a CLEAN ROOM, there was no way my family or I would spend a single night in that room!

The 20 Dinar did the trick, was moved to the 3rd floor main building to a lovely big clean room over looking the pool bar with a sea view. An absolute scam the reception staff have going on, stick you in a bad room and see if you return with a few Dinar wanting a upgrade, but eh whats 20 Dinar over 14 days, about £9.00, who can moan at that?!! Our room was just perfect, large bathroom, great air con, fridge, comfy beds.

As for the food, yes it was not great but we never had the option of eating at the Marhaba Hotel as it was closed for refurbishment, but looking at the reviews the food sounds better there
and it now seems Marhaba Club can dine at the Marhaba Hotel. Beach bar and quiet pool for lunch was fine, you wont go hungry!

The beach is lovely, white sands and no hassle from local sellers as it is roped off.

We also did the 2 day trip into the Sahara, it is a long 2 days but what you see it is a BIG MUST, a wonderful excursion we will never forget.

A little tip here and there to the waiters in the hotel, pools staff will always be noticed and you will be looked after, we tipped often. The Russians and Germans should take note, a please and thank you goes along way !!!!

Well, we have booked up to go back next June for two weeks at just over £500 per person you cant go wrong at this price. Remember its N.Africa.

Go with an open mind,expect a few hic ups, but value for money, you cant go wrong! Would I be going back if it was A Hell A Hole - NO!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank samandsung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the toon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

hi we have just returned on the 1st aug after two weeks at the marhaba club. we are used to turkey so when we arrived and noticed you couldnt really leave your complex due to the tussians not leaving you alone I regreted booking this hol as we had our 3 yr old granddaughter with us. but after our third day getting to know the hotel and surroundings around you we are planning to go back next yr. the food in the marhaba hotel was nicer than the club which if you are in the club you can use both dinning rooms.there are shops when you turn left out of the club hotel and carry on left and they are lovely and the tussians leave you alone, we went to the port which was lovely but you cant look around without being surrounded by them trying to get you in their shops. the media we didnt go but friends did and they say it was frightening. but pkease this hotel is lovely and the entainertainment day and night is great so much do please dont be put off tunisia here we come 2014. oh yes by the way the russians think they are the best on holiday but come on the british and scots

Room Tip: dont go on the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stewiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here in June 2012 and head a great time. Got off to a bumpy start when we were put in the run down part of the Marhaba Hotel (on the same site as the Marhaba club) it was a disgusting room with blood on the bed sheets and dirt everywhere!! We complained and were moved the next day thankfully! However, we weren't put off and after being moved to the Marhaba Club we were happy. Pool view room and little noise on a night. Entertainment was better for children but we were happy to sit and talk anyway. Staff were much nicer after tipping them but they do earn very little so you can't blame them! After tipping the pool guy and the waiter we got a table saved for us at every meal and sun beds in our area of choice! Food became repetitive but it was still lovely and we would definitely return!

We took part in the 2 day trip around Tunisia which was VERY hot and I do recommend being prepared for the heat if you do go on it. We also did the marina tour which was lovely! Leave some space in your suitcase to take back some of the great pottery. We took part in one of the boat rides on the beach too which was good fun. Would return anytime!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dentals13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
969 reviews
0.3 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Club Hotel

Property: Marhaba Club Hotel
Address: 2011 Boulevard 14 Janvier | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Marhaba Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Sousse
Marhaba Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing