We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marhaba Club Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sousse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marhaba Club Hotel
Save
You added Marhaba Club Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Sousse
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We holidayed here from 18th-25th november and hed a great time,the rooms where spacious and very clean,all staff where excellent and very helpfull,lovely beach and the lifeguards always got your sunbeds for you and put them where you wanted them and the barman at the beach bar was great he was always making sure if you wanted a drink and always very pleasant.There was a good selection of food in the resteraunt,there was plenty of entertainment throughout the day and night.This was our first visit to tunisia and we would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a sea veiw as it is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viv0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    216
    123
    73
    60
See reviews for
212
239
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

After reading some of the reviews here I was a little apprehensive about my holiday. I had nothing to be worried about. I travelled to the Marhaba Club on 17th October 2012 with my partner, our 18 month old son, my parents and my teenage sister, so we had a varied age range and different point of views. We all had a brilliant time.
Arriving at the hotel we entered a lovely well kept and immaculate lobby area. It got a little smokey at times but you can't expect other countries to abide by our laws of no smoking indoors. We were promptly taken to our rooms, two neighbouring rooms on the 3rd floor. They were HUGE. Plenty of room even with a cot. The cot itself surprised me as it wasn't a flimsy travel cot type. It was a proper cot more than adequate for my 18 month old. The bathrooms are fabulous with lots of space and full sized baths. The balcony was again very spacious and perfectly safe for my son to be on there. The room had a TV (which we didn't use because we hardly spent any time in the room) and a mini fridge, which was a godsend. The air-conditioning was turned off as it was out of season, but we expected this as it was stated in the brochure. The rooms were cleaned daily and the maids were lovely and friendly. Fresh towels were provided and the beds were also changed daily.
All the staff at the hotel are first class. They work very long hours for very little money. I never once felt like I was expected to tip anyone, although when you did they really appreciated it. The poor-bar man is especially lovely. The entertainment in the hotel is sometimes repetitive. They are given a very small budget and worked to the bone, and deserve much more recognition than they get. My son loved the mini-disco and even though he was really too young, was always more than welcome to join in.
The pool areas themselves are fab. You have access to two pools. One with slides which is where all the entertainment and games tend to go on. This one is much livelier. The second pool which was our personal favourite is quiet and relaxing. It has a swim up all inclusive bar and is perfect for children. The pools were in need of a little maintenance but all in all were very good, clean and tidy. The beach is perfect. The hotel has a part sectioned off so you're not hassled as much by people selling tatt. All inclusive drinks and ice cream is also on the beach.
The food in the Marhaba Club is average. It's ok but nothing special. Your all inclusive bands enable you to use the restaurant in the Hotel Marhaba which is a million times better. The food is fresher and there is much more variety. Be aware that it is Africa and so you're not going to find burgers and chips!! It's only a 5 minute stroll through the hotel grounds and so wasn't a problem for us at all. All the waiting staff in the restaurant's are polite and friendly, and again don't expect a tip.
The towns of Sousse and Port El Kantoui are both well worth visiting. Sousse is about a 10 minute taxi ride which cost us about 4-5 Dinar (about £2). The Medina is something you have to see, but be prepared to be hassled. It's all part of the culture.

All in all i'd say this was a fantastic hotel. Well worth every penny you spend and more besides. If anyone is at all worried after reading some of the negative comments on here i'd take them with a pinch of salt and look forward to your holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our 9th visit to Tunisia but the first (and most definately last) at this hotel.
Most of the staff were helpful and friendly. The pool barman was fabulous, ran the bar well was always polite and very helpful as were the reception team.
ROOMS: the rooms are large, spacious and clean. The first room we had (1127) had a problem with water leaking through the bathroom ceiling but had a great view! We were moved very promptly to a lower floor room (1053) that i cannot fault.
ENTERTAINMENT: ummmmmm!! The animation team were lovely but sadly the shows lacked content and imagination but worst of all these were hosted in what can only be described as a typical English roadside cafe, otherwise known as Neptunes.........white plastic tables and chairs! The hotel reception area in the evening was totally soulless and resembled gods waiting room, football was shown once or twice but NOT ENGLISH games!
LOCATION: lovely location, right on the beach and for those that like a walk its around 30 mins to town centre and medina.
FOOD & DRINK: This is where the the hotel really let itself down. The food was average, often warm/cold and very repetitive. The salads, morning/noon/night were ALWAYS swarming with flies. We shared the dining room each morning and at lunchtime with several birds flying around our heads to!! Drinks were watered down and some were unavailable as they were "economising" during low season! (we were told this by 3 different barmen on different nights. We were also served our drinks in poor quality white plastic cups on a regular basis as they had a shortage of glasses.

Sousse was beautiful as ever but when we return next year we will go back to our usual hotel (Tej Marhaba) where we get real VFM

Room Tip: 1027 & 1035 had great views of the pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank comeonenglandOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was a very cheap holiday!
The hotel was clean, but very noisy. Good food, plenty to choose from. Entertainment really poor, team fed up with their duties and it showed! Smoking is allowed in most public areas, non smokers had the smaller area of the foyer. Do not expect the 4 stars given by Tripadvisor!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool and away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Fantastic Holiday. Fantastic weather really lovely hotel and place! Food Gorgeous put on half a stone in a week lol! Only 1 negative to say alcohol not very strong! so found it hard to get Drunk. We stayed 31/10/12--7/11/12. Would deffo return! Spot On!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keeganEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The journey: flew from Gatwick, took about 3 hours. Arrived at Enfidha. Passport control was very long line with only a couple of people checking passports so took a while. Advise you to take a pen and complete the additional info cards on the plane so you don't get flustered when landing.

The transfer: took about an hour with 5 stops before the hotel. Rep was nice. Coaches were air conditioned. Driver wasn't a maniac. Views not that good, lots of litter, stray dogs, goats etc. A lot of olive plantations. Quite interesting.

The hotel: entrance is beautiful and impressive. Lobby equally so. Have to fill in another form when you arrive (remember that pen!) and then the porter takes you up to the room.

Money: you can't change to tunisian dinar outside of Tunisia but all hotels seem to have a means to change money and charge the same rate as the banks. £1 is about 2.5 Tunisian dinar. You can't take the money back with you to the uk either and they charge around 40% to change it back so don't change too much!

The room: massive bed, maid service daily, sheets changed every 2 days it seems. We were on 2nd floor. Only complaint here is the loud and inconsiderate people (mainly British) who came back in the early hours and clattered about in the corridor usually laughing hysterically. I'm told the 3rd floor is quieter. Noise is due to corridors being long and tiled which creates brilliant echo space. Had one bad night when huge group of Tunisian teenagers were staying and had the hotel in uproar with their loud and mischievous ways. That was only for one night though and the receptionist offered us another room which we turned down. There was a huge amount of complaints about the noise the next day which were justified. Balcony is big and ours overlooked the gardens. Fridge in room for water which you can get for free from the bar downstairs. Toilet broke twice but was fixed promptly. Water is really hard on the skin and hair, take conditioner and moisturiser! Boys too!

The pool: was lovely, we stayed at the quiet pool all week. Bessem the camel man will insist on trying to sell you camel rides every day but is easily put off with a "no thank you" and loves to indulge in a joke. Pool not heated. Enough sun beds and space at this time of year but can see how it could get crowded at peak times. Noisier pool bar does snacks. Had a bit of a problem with the flies at the pool - very irritating but manageable with a flip flop...

The beach: very rough sea, lots of space, white sand. Quite a few insistent people selling goods but can also be told no thanks. Preferred to spend our time at the pool. Beach bar looked good. Private beach roped off and pedlars can't come on. Security subtly there to get rid of people selling goods.

Other: staff were friendly, they get paid about £140 a month and work 10-12 hour shifts so appreciate a tip. We usually tipped every couple of days about 2 dinar depending on the service we received.

Outside the hotel: went to the medina and would not recommend to those who hate being hassled to buy things. Constant barrage of people standing in your way, grabbing your arms, shouting at you if you don't go in their shops. Also people who will claim to work at your hotel and it is their day off, they will show you around for a fee etc. Not true! They see your hotel arm band and are on the make. Thomas Cook rep will go through all of this. Went to nice steak house called Farmers. Food was good and simple. Service not so good, got the feeling - as we did everywhere - that the British aren't liked. Can't say I blame them as saw some very obnoxious behaviour whilst there.

Sorry for long review but some of the reviews i read on here made me very worried about coming and wanted to do a valid one! Sitting in hotel lobby at time of writing this. Written by couple in early 20's :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meg201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at the all inclusive Marhaba Club Hotel on the 14th October 2012, and have to say was pleasantly surprised. All of the staff in the hotel were really nice and very helpful. Hotel was lovely and clean and all the entertainment staff went out of their way to meet and greet you. Also you could use the facilities in the Marhaba Hotel which is a bigger hotel and sister to the Marhaba Club. The food was ok, but then we were only there for 1 week and considering we have never been to Tunisia before, we are already talking about going back again the same time next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaydeewigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.5 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 41 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 stars 1,900 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
1.3 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 41 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 stars 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 41 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 1,552 reviews
1.6 mi away
LTI Thalassa Sousse
LTI Thalassa Sousse
#10 of 41 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Marabout Hotel
Le Marabout Hotel
#11 of 41 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Club Hotel

Property: Marhaba Club Hotel
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier 2011 | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 214
Also Known As:
Marhaba Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Sousse
Marhaba Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing