We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shared feelings.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marhaba Royal Salem
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed July 19, 2007

The hotel is located in the same territory with hotel Marhaba Salem. There are several buldings. The latest is "Blue star". Likely that bulding could have those 4 stars.
May be we were unlucky with the service, but it was confusing sometimes. Usually schampoo and toilet paper is available in the room. Here we had to ask specially. Soap and shampoo is given only for the first night, therefore you should take it with you. Tipping does not change the attitude much. When we increased tipping sum, the room was done better, even perfumes were sprayed, but towels dissapeared. I'd suggest to take own towels with you if you're going there.
Getting rest place at a pool is a challenge. When I gave a tip to the lifeguard, I realized, that they reserve places themselves. In the afternoon it is not a problem any more.
Very helpful and responsive is Maria at the reception. She really cares about the guests.
The hotel did not meet my expectations, but as we took a lot of excursions and travelled around, we used hotel mostly as a sleeping place for night time, therefore I have to admit that we had good time.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rudite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,644)
There are newer reviews for Marhaba Royal Salem
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,194 - 1,200 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2007

1. PLEASE DO NOT BOOK THE 2 DAY SAFARI EXCURSION!! REALLY GREAT UNTIL THE SECOND DAY, WHERE WE WERE TAKEN ON A HORSE AND CART RIDE. THE WAY THE HORSES WERE TREATED WERE HORRIFIC. THEY LOOKED LIKE THEY WERE STARVING, ONE LOOKED READY TO DROP AND THE ONE WE WERE GIVEN WAS COVERED IN OPEN WOUNDS, WHERE THE CARRIAGE HAD BEEN DIGGING INTO IT'S FLESH.

This hotel is OK. I travel a lot and I'm very very fussy about where I lay my head. The Marhaba Royal Salem is OK wouldn't say it was a 4 star hotel like it states but its OK i would stay there again. Rooms and towels are cleaned, changed every day. Reception staff are very friendly, it's close to the beach, nice bar at the top of the Hotel, good selection of swimming pools. Inside, outside, large one down a little and the sea water pool right by the beach and the Food is OK also. Had a really good holiday apart from the above which really upset me.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rob_odowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights towards the end of June and it was great. Our only problem was that upon arrival we were allocated an annex room, and we had booked a sea view room in the main building. The rooms in the main building are much nicer. We complained and were allocated our sea view room 2 nights later. This did not spoil our stay though as the lovely gardens and pools made up for it! The staff are all very helpful and nice. The food was fantastic, with plenty of variety for all ages every breakfast/lunch & dinner. We were on an all inclusive basis which meant we tasted all the food in the different outlets and they were all great. The drinks were nice also. It is a very very clean hotel. My only suggestion is that if you want to use a sun bed by the pools you have to wake up early and reserve one with your towel as by 8am they are usually already taken. Entertainment is nice in the lobby and also around one of the pools, its varied for kids and adults. We are looking forward to returning back to this hotel for our vacation next year as it is very relaxing!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaltaOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

Ok, let's start with the positives, Oh, there are none. We arrived late at 12.30 am to be greated by one guy on reception , no lights and no one about. There was NO air conditioning in the hotel lobby, floors or dining room for the entire holiday. We asked where we could get some water and we were told "if you want some go to the disco and buy some." We were all inclusive and thought it a bad show not even to have a bottle of water in the room. Our room over looked a chicken shack and the main road, strange , as I had booked and paid for a sea view. We had to wait two days to be moved to the correct room. The dining room was complete chaos, no seating plan except for after 3 days you were allocated a table which all the Russians tried to pinch. The drinks were warm and the plates for the cold desserts , red hot.
The beach had rusty old fold up beach chairs and people put there towels around the pool chairs at 5am in the morning. Sousse itself was a complete dump and I met people on the return coach who had been mugged, robbed and had had the same misserable time that we had. I strongly advise that if you are going to Tunisia, give Sousse a very wide borth. I can highly recommend Club Magic Life just outside Hammamet , a wonderful hotel where everything is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burntbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Arrived late on a Sun evening 27/5.07-3/6/07, was told u have a lovely sea view, in the morning looked outside and it was wonderful view of the pool and further more the sea.
All staff are friendly, You are alocated a table for yr entire stay, we got lucky and shared a table with a fantastic couple. Think by the 1 June all inclusive is introduced so its a busy hotel and they can split the dinner ect.. times up so u get an hr only sitting for yr food :-( Food was good, do not expect alot of meat though. Travelled through a travel agent and it is worth booking all trips through them, we went on the 4x4 drive through berber villages and the salt lakes, and not to be missed the Sahara 2 Day trip. Goldrush pub just opposite the Casino is open till 4am, great atmosphere. We walked from the hotel into Sousse and it took about 50mins, great tip for using the medina which worked for us is if you feel hassled just walked on and dont speak as they try to get you to say hello which they know every language for, and it puzzles them if they cant work out your language so they go on to another tourist!! Restaurant Hannibal at the top of the medina is good place to eat, good food and welcoming atmosphere. Tunisia for us was an experience and the tunsians are wonderful, it is a culture shock compared to UK, and please dont try and drive there as the drivers are crazy and cars do not have MOT only tax.

Stayed: June 2007
4  Thank Sassybabe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

I stayed in the Marhaba Royal Salem at the end of May with my friend. We are both girls in our early twenties. The weather was good and hot, however it rained for 2days when we were there.

The hotel rooms are nice and comfortable. The maid cleaned our room everyday and we tipped her at the end of our stay.

Food: Repetitive! However there was a lot to choose from. We always looked forward to our meals :-)

The staff at the Royal Salem are very friendly but the hassle we got from the men was too much. We got several love letters through our door asking for an ''appointment'' outside the hotel. The case is worse if you are blonde! They won't leave you alone!

The beach is lovely. Get there early though to get a sunbed! We went in half term so it was very busy.

Nightlife: There is nothing to do at the hotel in the evenings. We got a taxi to some bars in Sousse. Every night we went to a bar/club called Boneparte (opposite legends bar). It was really good in there. They play all the latest R n B, Hip hop, Funky House and cheesy music. Don't go there too early as it will be empty. Best time to go is 10.30. It closes at 4.00am.

If you want to watch football when you are there. Go to a pub called the Rose & Crown. Its an english pub. There are several there. In Port El Kantoui there is a big Irish Pub. Just ask the locals they will direct you. they have kareoke there most evenings!

Excursions:
There is a man at the beach who sells all the excursions. We did the camel trip. It was 20dinars each. Make sure you wear long shorts or trousers because you will get a rash from the camel!

We went on a jet ski too, it was 15dinars each for 15mins. Great fun.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank party_princess21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2007

I stayed for 1 week at the Marhaba Royal Salem from March 25th-April 1st. The hotel complex consists of 3 hotels – Marhaba Royal Salem, Marhaba Salem and one called the Blue Star (I think). Make sure your booking is for the Royal Salem and then you should be placed in the main building, which really is as lovely as the photos posted here. There were a significant number of (affluent) local tourists staying there too, which I always find reassuring as it generally means it’s a good hotel. I went with my sister and 3 children under 10. We asked for and were placed in adjoining rooms, which were of a nice size, clean and extremely tidy. The cleaning staff were excellent. We had fresh bed linen and towels every single day and the rooms were thoroughly cleaned. I don't believe in tipping every day but I left a generous tip out for the cleaning lady the last day we were there and came back after lunch to find it still there! She did not presume it was for her and was visibly pleased to receive it and our thanks in person. We stayed on a half board basis and the food was lovely. Personally, I was extremely grateful for the pizza/pasta options a couple of nights when the kids were tired and cranky, and for us adults there was so many things to try, that we were spoilt for choice. As you walk into the restaurant, look to the right and you'll see where the chefs are at all meal times. They will make you anything you like for breakfast (do try the crepes!) and in the evening the choice of meals was always different, with both international and Tunisian dishes on offer. Try the 'chorba' – delicious! Yes, it was crowded. Yes, you are assigned a table for the entire length of your visit. But at least it meant you always had a table to go to and you never had to wait for an empty one. The beach was lovely. Yes, it was short but walk a bit further on and there was masses of space. And the man selling fresh fruit was looked out for by us every day – the fruit was a bit expensive but well worth it! The outdoor pools were a nice size and in summer would be fantastic but in the last week of March it was just a little too cold to take more than a dip. The indoor pool was great – we were there every day and I have to say, I didn't notice any mould… maybe I was having too good a time to notice something as natural as mould in a wet environment?? The water was clean and the surroundings were cleaned every day and several times each day. What more do you want? Bearing in mind that this is an African country, I think the Marhaba Royal Salem is a good 4 star hotel for the region. It would probably compare to a superior 3 star in Spain or Portugal – but better than a 3 star in Greece. But I defy you to find a 3 or even 4 star hotel in Europe where the waiter will go to a neighbouring hotel to find something not on the menu but asked for by a disappointed 6-year old! The pleasant, helpful nature of the Tunisian people is what makes the difference. Now for the haggling and hassle... yes, there is both but as others have said, say 'No' firmly and they will respect that. Please also remember, 1 dinar is less than 50p sterling but means a lot more to the average Tunisian. And if you really can't face the souks in the Medina, you can find pottery just as good in the supermarket just in from of the entrance to the hotel. Make sure you use the Noddy train that runs from Sousse to Port El Kantoui (PEK) all day every day. Just go to the main road and wave it down as it comes near. Or try a horse and cart ride instead. I personally wasn't that keen on Sousse but PEK was lovely especially the marina with the cafes overlooking the private boats. Haggle for a good price on a boat ride – it'll be worth it. And if you have kids with you, check out the little petting zoo (called the zoo & botanical gardens) just around the corner from the marina. If you have time, go to the bigger zoo about 40km away. Or a day trip to Tunis for the Medina and the museums and a side trip to Cathage… just remember that you can't just hop on the train for the return journey. You have to go to the ticket office at Tunis station and get your tickets stamped first! If you're worried about taking kids to Tunisia – don't be. The Tunisians LOVE children – they will find endless ways to entertain your kids on long tram rides! Just go to Tunisia with an open mind and hopefully you'll have as good a holiday as we did.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TravelSSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sousse
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,235 reviews
0.7 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,043 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
981 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Royal Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Royal Salem

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#3 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#6 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: $29 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Royal Salem 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marhaba Royal Salem Marhaba Royal Salem Beach Tax : SOLIDARITY STAMP for non resident foreign travellers leaving the tunisian territory are requested to present a solidarity stamp: * accounting 30 TND * It is sold at th finance offices, cusomer offices (including the borders ones), banks and tabacco shops. * Its entry into force is fixed on the 1st of October 2014, defined as the entry date into the territory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marhaba Royal Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Royal Salem Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing