We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marhaba Royal Salem
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have just got back at 4.40 this morning. 31/10/13.
well the complex is beautiful and the large pool is a hit with the kids but it has far to much sea salt in it so you can't be in it too long.
we took our two children 15 and 12 well there was nothing at all for them to do and I mean nothing!
The food was ok a good variation but not very hot kids food is better if you are in the blue wrists band section. Entertainment is poor it all happens around the middle pool and it's the only entertainment in the entire complex(little kids disco is good though).
WARNING if you go to Madina with a bloke from the hotel it's free (but you must tip the driver) tell them you only want to see the market and the harbour because they will take you to a carpet shop first this is very dodgy they won't let you leave until you buy a carpet and they are very overpriced.
Finally there was a suicide bomber 5 mins down the beach from our complex that scared us. Outside the complex there was nothing to do or go and visit within walking distance and it's a shame because it could be a great place if there was stuff to see.
To sum up if you like to lounge around the pool or beach all day then its the holiday for you but this active family will not be going to Tunisia again. Basically it's like marmite you will love it or hate it as we hated it.

Room Tip: If you are a big family ask for room 241 in the Marhabra royal salem at the back of the complex over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

The title says it all, the only people that complain about this place are the people who were born with a silver spoon and the arrogant Germans, besides that this hotel is Great for the price you pay, it's clean spacious foods lovely and the staff do all they can for you. Tunisia is a quiet place if you have never been before and slightly run down, so do not visit if you expect party's and late bars, the only niggles about this hotel is the glasses are slightly small ( simple solution get two ) and the entertainment is a absolute brain ache. Apart from that 5/5 excellent hotel highly recommended

Room Tip: The front of the hotel has the fountain on till late which is slightly loud, so try for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lewis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Have just come back and had a great time the hotel is kept very clean and tidy ,staff are very nice cant do enough for you,food was of a high standard and varied all ways something for everyone.the pools are very good and animation team work very hard.i did take some of the dinnars back through customs and spent in airport restaurants.
shall return again to this hotel .

Room Tip: had a sea view room ,paid extra worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Enjoyed the swimming pools and slides. Nice food. The staff were friendly.
There are mosquitoes in the grounds and on the tennis courts and I even got some bites in the indoor bar area. I advise taking some repellent to prevent bites.
The entertainment was good enough but the music played in the bar area was very old fashioned.
A small amount of litter in the sea made my daughter prefer the pools to the beach. We didn't have any problem finding sunbeds at the pools or beach.
Money exchange and safety deposit box in the hotel along with bank machine, shops and pharmacy close by provided the services we needed.
The tourist train that stopped at the gate was a cheap and enjoyable way to get into Sousse.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skiscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Marhaba Royal Salem is a great hotel, one of the best in Tunisia in my opinion and I have stayed at many. Hotel rooms are spacious and comfortable and yes some refurbishment is needed in some but it is being done! The rooms are kept spotlessly clean by the amazing maids and they leave lovely designs and flowers on the beds etc. I had a bowl of fruit and bottles of water left in my room and no...I had not tipped the maids! All the staff are very helpful and friendly if you are the same with them.....some people are downright rude and aggressive toward them and they still maintain their professional courtesy although perhaps without the smiles...and who can blame them!! Some peoples manners leave a lot to be desired and still all the staff go out of their way to try and give them what they require! The restaurant food is excellent with a great variety and there is something for all tastes...in fact there is so much it is hard to decide what to eat at each meal! While I was there they cooked steaks for dinner 3 times which is definitely not the norm in most hotels!! All the food was well cooked and fresh and tasty! Drinks are good and the red wine is excellent! The waiters in the restaurant are brilliant they remember what you drink and have it waiting for you at your table! The pools and surrounding gardens are all kept to a high standard and you can always find a sunbed no matter what time of day although you do get the guests that feel the need to rush down at 6am to place their towels in their chosen spot!! I went on holiday to have a relaxing, quiet break and this is exactly what I got, however if you are looking for a livelier holiday then this will also be provided at this hotel....the choice is yours! I thoroughly recommend this hotel to everyone, whether you are a solo traveller like me or you are travelling with friends or family...there is something for everyone! Will I be going back to this hotel....you bet your life I will....as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Myself and my wife have just returned from here, both had food poisining after 2 days here, NOT HEAT STROKE, I am fare skinned and wear factor 50 and my wife stayed in the shade reading her book, I have just returned from doctors, they are doing all the tests to treat the food poisining accordingly, the whole complex smells of sewage and it is a really awful smell, first room we were given 214 was very tatty and had grubby carpets on the floor, towels supplied smelt awful, as though they had not been laundered, air conditioning not working, no sea view as promised, complained to rep, did get moved to 402 a vast improvement, BUT STILL NOT 4 STAR, IT'S MORE LIKE PREMIER INN 2 STAR, man at reception with thinning hair, very sarcastic towards English people, if you rule out eating the salad, fruit, icecream, cakes, meat and fish, there is not a lot to SAFELY eat, just ask a doctor what the Tunisans use to fertilize there fruit and veg and you too will not eat these. IF ALSO YOU ARE NONE SMOKERS, DO NOT STAY HERE, EVERYONE SMOKES INSIDE THE HOTEL, CAT'S EVERYWHERE, WIFE EVEN SPOTTED A MOUSE INSIDE THE CAFE NR TO THE SWIMMING POOL, AND SHE HATES THE PESKY THINGS.
Very very very unhappy with this hotel, my wife had previously stayed in Skanes "The Sahara Beach" and had a fantastic holiday, so we thought we would stay some where different to get experience of a different area, please do not waste your money, if it's too late, put in an official complaint, and Michael the holiday rep we were not "Awright" as he kept saying to everyone, that's why we complained and you basically ignored us, and your excuse was "You're in Tunisia, all the hotels are like this", BUT ALL HOTELS IN TUNISIA ARE NOT THIS BAD !!!!!!
BE WARNED.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view have a room on the 4th or 5th floor facing the fountain at the front of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeffuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Myself and my family stayed at the Royal Salem for 2 weeks (2nd October - 16th October) and well... what an amazing holiday!

ROOMS : We were placed to stay on the 3rd floor, one room at the front of hotel and one room at the back - both rooms had a view and we were impressed from the word go. The cleanliness of the room was outstanding and the maids continued to do a great job for the whole 2 weeks. The maids were also extremely friendly.

TRANSFER : Booked our transfers through Travel Republic with A2B which worked out way cheaper (we were a family of 6!). Didn't have to wait long at the airport after our flight and it was a smooth ride to our hotel without many drop offs.

MONEY : Cannot change money until you get to Tunisia but money exchange is very straight forward at the hotel and there's a good exchange rate (est. £20 - 50 dinar).

FOOD & DRINK : Food was great but like others have commented - it does get a bit samey! Although if you're not fussy then you will not go hungry - plenty of variety every night, for example choice of fish, meat dishes, potato dish, pasta dish, vegetarian dishes and a variety of salad and fruit and patisseries/desserts. You are assigned a table with your dinner ticket for dinner but you may sit wherever you like for both breakfast and lunch. Drinks were good also - plenty of choice. For children they do children's cocktails and slush as well as a variety of soft drinks etc.

ENTERTAINMENT : Different show every night - usually a cabaret show of some sort, a Tunisian themed night (belly dancing) and then the best night of all - the fire show! (Fire show was on a Thursday when we were there). All of the animation team were outstanding. I agree with the previous comments about bingo and tombola - should be played earlier in the night apart from that the entertainment was brilliant.

STAFF : A true credit to this hotel - outstanding and very accommodating - every single one of them. Big thanks to Adel in the beach restaurant, very friendly and also kept us entertained by writing our names in Arabic. (Tipping goes a long way with the staff and they really do appreciate it and look after you extremely well.)

As I said before the animation team are all very friendly and really make you feel welcome at the hotel. I am sure they will get you up to dance to 'Bomba' at least once during your stay!

Last but not least, a HUGE shout out to Kalou (a.k.a Bruno Mars) and Hassine from the Royal Salem restaurant who both MADE our holiday. Kalou always came to sit and chat with us throughout the night and we became really fond of him!! A credit to the animation team at the Royal Salem. Hassine (a.k.a lovely jubbly) was a gem and always made sure we were well looked after throughout our stay. We miss you both lots - hopefully will return to the Royal Salem again soon!

Overall, a FANTASTIC holiday!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeeAshleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sousse
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#4 of 35 in Sousse
1,093 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,269 reviews
0.7 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,053 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
984 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#13 of 35 in Sousse
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Royal Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Royal Salem

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#6 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: $28 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Royal Salem 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marhaba Royal Salem Marhaba Royal Salem Beach Tax : SOLIDARITY STAMP for non resident foreign travellers leaving the tunisian territory are requested to present a solidarity stamp: * accounting 30 TND * It is sold at th finance offices, cusomer offices (including the borders ones), banks and tabacco shops. * Its entry into force is fixed on the 1st of October 2014, defined as the entry date into the territory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marhaba Royal Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Royal Salem Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing