We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing holiday at the salem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marhaba Royal Salem
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“amazing holiday at the salem”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

just got back from a 12 day stay group of 25 of us and loved it,
stayed in the block by pool slides with a sea view room which was big and the added surprise
of having a mini kitchin .
met some great people and kids really enjoyed there stay here.
food great, rooms great, pools great staff great,
animation team awesome ben crazy crazy crazy mido happy lol, alex sagon and every ones fav FIFI were all amazing.
really hope to go back here next year and hope all animation team are still there next summer
2nd year running we been to Tunisia and love it weather is just boiling

Room Tip: sea view amazing looking out at the view 1st thing every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swanseajacks2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    464
    234
    95
    93
See reviews for
682
390
55
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The animation team are great mira,fifi,sophie are the best love to tunisia loads been to that hotel many of fimes but got to say this time was the best found love in the dame hotel once again just holiday romance but love the place. Would deffitly advise people to come to here amazing and good night life xxx

Room Tip: Just be kind and they will try there best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went at the half-term school break at the end of May 13,taking our daughters and grandchildren with us...the weather was wonderful...not too hot ...just right.
The entrance hall is lovely..Moorish in design...Bedrooms good size as was our balcony but not all of them are.The building is built on a curve and the balconies get smaller as you get to each end of it...one of our daughters had literally a Juliet one.My husband and I had room 223 .
Food got rather boring,however,if you like spicy food,there was plenty of Tunisian dishes.We had to pay to have a fridge in the room...was not happy about that!!
Grounds are lovely with two pools but one can also use the Salem one ,which is all in the complex.and the beach very clean with a bar restaurant there...no complaints on this..Beach towels available with a returnable deposit and can be changed every day .
The internet was hopeless and the receptionist barely speak English which was a pain!!
We will not be going back to that hotel again...going in September... back to the Sentido Phenicia Hotel in Hammamet (see my review on this).
Went in January !3...wonderful,if I had known about the hotel prior to booking the Royal Salem
would have gone there instead.
However,I might be biased with having stayed at the fantastic Phenicia.

Room Tip: We had room 223 which had a good balcony,so I imagine if one gets say:room 123 323,423 etc. or one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Me my auntie ,nan and nannie went to this hotel and it was really good, it was our first ever time visiting tunisia and the hotel (royal salem).
The food was amazing and all the people were amazing especially dino , sarah , nino , momo , alex and ben from the animation team they made the hiliday extra special , i got close to all of them and was really sad to leave them, they made us laugh and done lots of activities ,took extra care of all of us ,but they deserve something better for the care and all of their shows were amazing especially the fire show, i really enjoyed that show, i felt sorry for the ones who got burned with the fire :(.
The rooms were all nice and i couldn't give a complain about the holiday.
It only took two and a half hours to get there, i hope to visit the lovely hotel again, i really miss tunisia and the hotel. The air port to get to the hotel was useless it took us 11 hours from the air port to the hotel , the bar was good , the pools were really good, i really enjoyed the slides there too! Its got to be my best holiday i have been to yet, really miss the animation and the place tunisia, we stayed in the hotel for two weeks and enjoyed every day of it the hotel was very clean, the maids were very kind and done a lot of effort cleaning the rooms, the bets were comfy but a little hard , the staff ( reseption,cooks+wators) were very kind ,the beach was very nice, the bar there was too, you could go for dinner there and the people were very nice too! the animation get involved with nearly every sport there ,if the staff and animation team were (NOT) there the hiliday would of been rubbish!! :( ,it was a great experience ,we will definetly be vistiting the hotel again, i couldn't live without not visiting the hotel again, me,auntie,nan+nannie really enjoyed every bit of it ! thanks for all the effort made by all the staff i really loved it!! x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Sousse is overall quite dirty. The beach attached to the hotel was small and cramped. We could not get a sunbed round the pool or a sun bed on the beach unless we got up very early and put towels out.
although the holiday was all inclusive they actually took the fridge out of the room and required money to have it put back!
The aircon was very poor.
Our 'balcony' was approx. 12 inches deep!
The food was good, service was good.
I wouldn't go back to this hotel as it was nothing special.
The rep from Medhotels- Omar was AMAZING. So helpful- lovely man.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony which you can sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel for a week and really enjoyed the first 4-5 days.

The animation team and entertainment was excellent especially from Mido, Dino, Alex, Ben, Sagon, Momo, Sarah and Fifi they made an extra effort to make us feel welcome and provided us with lots of fun and laughter throughout our stay. They deserve a big pay rise!!

The rooms were kept clean and cleaned on a daily basis but the decor is dated. Bed's are a little hard but still managed to get some sleep.

The staff and receptionists are very friendly and funny and always try to do the best they can.

The beach was nice besides the seaweed and certain parts of the ocean was full of rubbish, its best to walk further down the beach for slightly clearer water. We believed someone had died on the beach due to under currents , so be very careful when swimming. Always say no to the sellers no matter how friendly they seem, but do get involved with the water sports (package) as its very worthwhile.

The food was awful and even found a maggot in my rice. It was the same every day, a few people we spoke to including ourselves were ill due to the food. There are restaurants outside of the hotel.

The outside bar staff are so funny, welcoming and provide a very, very good service.

We would recommend this hotel for a family due to entertainment, music and activities throughout the day, and evening, if the animation team was not there we would have rated it a lot less. Will only return to see the team. Overall it was a good experience with a few lessons learnt.

Change's need to be made to the food but all inclusive is recommended as you will need lots of water (and alcohol lol)

Will really miss the staff and animation team.... Will be returning with our daughter next year.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view if you stay in the hotel nearest the beach :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satya p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Arrived at the hotel at 11.00am and we were asked to take a seat at the bar while they checked us in. Barman brought over a courtesy fruit juice while we filled in a visa for the hotel. Reception took our accomodation voucher from us and came back with our room number written on a lttle card, we were then advised our room would not be ready untill 12.30pm. As this was another hour and a half wait we checked they were putting us in a seaview room which we had paid extra for. We were then informed this was not a seaview room! so after pointing out we had paid extra for a seaview room she changed our room number but said the room would still not be ready untill 12.30. We returned to reception at 1.00pm to see if our room was ready and a porter went off to check. 20 minutes later he returned, ignoring us and went straight back to reception. The lady on reception then asked us again for the little card with our room number written on it and again changed the room number. We were then finally shown to our room.
On first appearances our room was lovely although the fridge had been removed from the room. We checked over the room and unfortunately one of the bed sheets were dirty so on our way down to the pool we informed reception of this and asked for them to be changed while we were by the pool.
We returned to the room after spending the afternoon at the beach at around 5pm and nobody had been in the room to change the sheets so we again went back to reception and there was now a new team of staff on reception. We informed the man on reception of the issue we had and he asked to take a seat at the bar while he sent a maid straight to our room to resolve the problem.
After 20 mins we returned to our room where both beds were made again, but on closer inspection the bed sheets that were dirty were still dirty, the maid had not changed the sheets at all she had merely remade the bed. So after informing reception yet again we waited in the room while the maid finally changed the bed sheets - problem resolved!
There is no safety deposit box in the room they are situated at reception and are charged at 2 dinar a day.
The afternoon we spent at the beach was lovely - the weather was sunny and hot and we had free sunbeds on the private beach, there were a few men selling items on the beach but would not pester you constantly. The only issue we had with the beach was the sea was disgusting - It was full of rubbish so unfortunately we didnt return to the beach during our stay at the hotel.
We spent most of our holiday lazing around the pool which was lovely - we favoured the smaller pool as it was very quiet and the only pool out of the three which was chlorine. There was no rush to get sunbeds in the morning and Fred the poolboy couldnt do enough for you.
The waiters in the snackbar started off good although the hotel claims to offer cocktails - the barstaff have no idea how to make a cocktail and if they did manage to make a good one then refused to do it again the next day as too many people had asked for one!?!
On the second day of our stay when we returned to our room we found a note pushed under the door asking us to go to reception. When we went to reception they asked for our acommodation voucher. We explained we had given this to the lady on reception when we checked in and had not been given it back. They then asked us to print out another copy of the acommodation voucher which we refused to do so as it was not our fault if they had lost it. When asked why they needed it we were told of was because we were not on the computer system. We then asked if this was going to be an issue that they had lost our documents and they then apologised profusely and reassured us this would not be an issue.
The restaurant was always busy but was always ever so hot with no air conditioning and if you tried to open the window people would get very funny with you.
Food was ok but when a tray of food ran out they took about 15minutes to refill it. The waiters were always on hand to clear your plates and refill drinks when neccessary.
Our room was cleaned daily and the maids made lovely decorations with our bed sheets and shower curtain and placed fresh flowers around the room. Just a slight issue with the shower as it kept going cold and constantly lost the pressure so no water would come out of the shower head.
If you have small children all the rooms are situated around the evening entertainment which is very loud no matter what room you are in so small children may struggle to sleep untill if finishes around 11.30.
All in all the hotel was fine untill you needed something and then it all went wrong!! Probably would work better as a halfboard acommodation not an all inclusive as they seem to struggle to cope with this.
The best things about this hotel was the pool and the weather but would definately not rate it a 4star acommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,008 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#15 of 35 in Sousse
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Royal Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Royal Salem

Property: Marhaba Royal Salem
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#6 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Royal Salem 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marhaba Royal Salem Marhaba Royal Salem Beach Tax : SOLIDARITY STAMP for non resident foreign travellers leaving the tunisian territory are requested to present a solidarity stamp: * accounting 30 TND * It is sold at th finance offices, cusomer offices (including the borders ones), banks and tabacco shops. * Its entry into force is fixed on the 1st of October 2014, defined as the entry date into the territory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Marhaba Royal Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Royal Salem Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing