We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, fantastic with young children. Lovely weather and good choice of food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marhaba Royal Salem
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, fantastic with young children. Lovely weather and good choice of food.”
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Nice, clean hotel with lovely staff. Entertainment staff, Tiesto, Alex and others brilliant with adults and children. Good selection of food and no extra charge for drinks, including bottled water, which you can take to your room. Felt totally safe walking around Sousse, Tunisians are mostly very friendly, especially towards young children. Usual hassle in shops etc, although there is a supermarket closeby where they leave you to shop in peace! Don't let recent problems put you off, there are some good deals at the moment and the country really needs the tourism trade to pick up.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HazLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    467
    235
    96
    93
See reviews for
684
390
55
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

This Hotel is a bit shabby round the edges but clean, tidy and for the money we paid. Well I would imagine the Hotelier actually ran at a huge loss during that period. And Anyone who has any moans about it should remember that if they traveled late March-early April. The poor Tunisians were only just recovering and actually still are from a Revolution, which began through the extreme frustration of a poor young lad who took his own life in Sidi Bouzid. As He lost the license for his Fruit and Veg cart and was the sole provider for his widowed Mother, plus his brothers and sisters etc. The economic crisis has hit us hard. But if the Tunisians don't work they don't eat!! And they did not work for ten whole weeks during the revolution.

In the UK Hotels just like that, cost £100.00 per night never mind about the extra of the All Inclusive.

We had a great time, lovely food, two choices the dining room and snack bar. Plenty to drink and no extras for that vital bottle of water.No big wait like in other hotels not to be mentioned with big brand names, known throughout the world for the supposed quality. The staff gladly gave us as much water as we needed. Stick with the Tunisian chains for friendliness and service. Sauna, Gym, a whirl pool bath, Free sunbeds everywhere even on the beach with lots of Resort information from Fred and Jozef, who were very helpful towards my disability, with the /chairs/sunbeds etc.

And a fantastic entertainment program for everyone, adults and children. And entertainments every night.

Plus lots of other help and information from a local guide Ben who spent a great deal of time in the Hotel as a Public Relations. Who was helpful with bus/train times. And glad to help us with a trip for us to the Pharmacy.

My friend and I are still laughing, and enjoyed our stay so much we have booked to return to the Marhaba Salem, its sister hotel just next door. We would have booked the Royal Marhaba Salem but cannot book it as a package, right now.

We would recommend this hotel to open minded cultured people, who appreciate good service and fantastic food.

Room Tip: Tunisia is hot n spicy, not bland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BIGPAULINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

The Royal Salem was a pleasant stay, went with my sister and we met some great people from other parts of the UK.
The staffs were mostly pleasant and helpful, and were on hand at bars, dinning areas, pool side.
Our room was sufficient and a good enough size, we had a side view of the sea from the terrace balcony.
The amenities were good, food, drinks all day and evening, pool side entertainment if you wanted to join in, we just soaked up the sun , as we don’t have that in UK !!

Beach access was in front of the hotel, walk through the garden
Snack bars open till midnight with salads and hot foods and drinks
4 swimming pools, gym, Jacuzzi, inside and out, sauna, steam room.

Evening entertainment was fair the entertainment team tried to please all ages and provided, music kiddies disco, bingo, Tunisian belly dancing, knife eaters.

Alex the entertainer seemed to be the ladies favourite and observing this it seemed some ladies were getting irritated by Alex entertaining other women, so be warned when you first arrive, that the other guests are not too envious if Alex gives a bit of friendly attention. !!!!!.
Other entertainers were great also, Testio, Tito, Omar they were all great and of course the bingo man.

It was great that all the entertainers spoke more than their own Arabic language so we could converse and have a laugh !!

Tunisians have a different culture to UK people and this should be taken in to consideration when you visit another country and their culture, and no you not going to find fish & chips UK style in Tunisia, its not Costa del sol!! Please!!.
Will defo be back with a cheap good deal like we just had. Keep it up Royal Salem.

Room Tip: Dont become territorital in the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazzy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Stayed for a week at this hotel in March. Found it to be really nice. The food was great and plenty of choice. The room we had was not in the main building but was fine. Bit smaller than we usually have but fine and comfy all the same. Room was kept spotless by the friendly housekeeper. Clean towels each day. All the staff that we came across were great, nice and friendly. Was a bit of a wait at check in as there were several buses arriving at once but it was not a problem to us, just went and had a coffee while we waited. Never found anyone with their hands out for tips as has been mentioned previously! Staff could'nt do enough for you. Some building work going on at the Salem next door but were never bothered by it . Worst noise was from some English guests out by the fountain late at night really drunk and chucking their glasses on the ground when empty. Having been to Sousse many times - I am married to a Tunisian - I would recommend it to anyone. Weather is great and there is plenty to do. Please dont be put off by the recent troubles there as Sousse is just the same as it always was, a bit quieter but business as usual to the Tunisians.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catwoman182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

the hotel was lovely, rooms clean and the food quite good. however the faisco at the bar is awful, the bar staff are quite rude to some people and the waiter service is appaling.with the exception of one older man who only appeared 2 nights before we went home. the worst offender was a man called Hassan who told 2 girls to go to the bar and get their own drinks, ignored me on 4 occassions in one night even though my husband tipped him well every night. the restaurent staff were a delight and treated you really well, they couldn't do enough to help you. our rooms were cleaned every day and towels changed every day.i would go back but i will sit next to the bar so that i can get my own drinks.

Room Tip: try to get a room inside the hotel itself as the .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxsecretxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2011

The Hotel was awful we got the same food everday. The room we were given was not in the hotel and was very small.

If you go on the beach, there is a man that sells camel rides. Do not buy off this man as we did. when we got to the place were the camels and horses were, it was a farm. All the animals were in a very bad condition and we were horrified to see one of the staff kick a horse in the face when is was eating some grass. at least one of the camels was bleeding it was awful an cruel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemo036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Just back from a weeks all inclusive holiday at Marhaba Royal Salem. Had a ball. We paid £226 for 2 people all inclusive and what a bargain. The food was fab, you can eat all day if you wish. Dont worry about missing breakfast or being tied to meal times as the snack bar always has something. The beer and wine are local but the beer especially is very easy to drink - maybe a little too easy ;-).
The staff are excellent. Some don't always provide service with a smile , but I find this frequently in Britain especially when things are as busy as they are in a large hotel like this. The vast majority of the time the staff were extrememly enthusiastic and helpful and I found the Tunisian people to be very friendly overall. The animation team are great. Alex in particular as many other people have said already is a credit to the hotel. He is great with children and adults.- ladies no fighting over him lol! The man that calls the bingo (sorry can't remember his name) is also extremely friendly and helpful. One of the newer entertainers was a bit annoying but if you end the conversation politely he soon gets the hint. The maids are lovely and really appreciate even a small tip (2 dinars is about a pound) .
The hotel is made up of the Salem and the Royal Salem which share facilities. As indicated in the title, the Marhaba salem (3 star) is being refurbished so all the entertainment was moved to the Royal Salem (4star). It was therefore quite noisy up until about half1 or 2 in the Royal Salem hotel as the rooms overlook the bar area. However I have been told that the entertainment will be moved back to the salem for the summer so noise should not be a problem then. I was always up until then apart from 1 night anyway so didn't bother me either.
Tunisia itself I found is not like Mallorca or Tenerife such that it can be difficult to go out at night and stroll around looking for restaurants to eat in and bars to drink in. People on the plane were complaining that there were no English bars and such to go to , but this didn't bother me at all. The craic in the hotel was enough for us and there was a nightclub on site if you fancied staying up until 3ish . We got a taxi one night into Sousee for 5 dinars and went to a bar and grill under the Tej Marhaba restaurant which had great food, so there are other places to eat out in if you wish. People also complained about the haggling and the Tunisian locals trying to sell you things. However this is their culture and if you are prepared, respect that and just say no you will be fine. I'd had enough of haggling in Marrachech the year before so I stuck to the fixed priced shops this time which are still really cheap!
I hope to return soon to Tunisia and will definately go back to this hotel. I hope to see all the usual gang back there again, hopefully later this year . x

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelMulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sousse
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,011 reviews
0.7 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
969 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,585 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Royal Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Royal Salem

Property: Marhaba Royal Salem
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#6 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Royal Salem 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marhaba Royal Salem Marhaba Royal Salem Beach Tax : SOLIDARITY STAMP for non resident foreign travellers leaving the tunisian territory are requested to present a solidarity stamp: * accounting 30 TND * It is sold at th finance offices, cusomer offices (including the borders ones), banks and tabacco shops. * Its entry into force is fixed on the 1st of October 2014, defined as the entry date into the territory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marhaba Royal Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Royal Salem Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing