We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday”
Review of Hotel Marhaba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marhaba
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good holiday”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

My husband and I returned (18th) from a 10 day stay in this hotel. We arrived late evening and were shown to our room quite promptly. We stayed in Rm 10, A clean and pleasant room with fridge, tv, twin beds but its only for sleeping in,. Our View was straight across the top of the dining-room which did make us giggle but in the mornings we had the best of the early sun (blinding) and it was cool and shaded in the afternoon. We celebrated our anniversary whilst out there , whilst we never told anyone , we still put our cards up and on returning to our room later that day we found the maid had decorated our beds, a lovely touch. The outside areas were lovely, kept clean and tidy.Be careful if it rains though as some of the areas become quite slippy (outside bar area and stairs also down near the shops and outside the restaurants). Pool area was always busy and yes if you wanted sunbed go early as you find plenty of towels already placed on them but thats normal with holidays. The beach area was also lovely again if you wanted an area with parasol try and get there early (ish), they did have a couple of large shaded ares but as you could imagine these were popular with families with young ones. WARNING to parents if on the beach..PLEASE make sure your little ones put shoes on if walking on the sand it gets blooming hot and as i found out burns your feet!
As for the food it wasnt too Bad we ate 3 meals a day, More of a variety PLEASE.
My only Grumble at lunchtime would be that the sister hotel (marhaba club) was closed for lunch meals which meant that the main hotel restaurant was completely swamped and the staff struggled too keep up with the high demand, I felt quite sorry for the waiting staff, the only alternative was the poolside bar which also got busy, but served smashing chicken or pork from the grill. I have too say that the ANIMATION team and the WAITERS worked bloomimg hard keeping guests entertained and attended too, both teams worked tirelessly. Animation would talk too all but didnt push if you said no.
In general we would go back, only few things that the if new management sort out would complete it. For what we paid for our holiday we had a great holiday, met some lovely people too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScattyHev68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marhabaresorts, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Marhaba, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guest
on behalf of our team, we would like to thank you for your positive feedback and your great comments
looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    318
    163
    64
    79
See reviews for
375
289
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

we have been visiting this hotel over the last nine years, twice sometimes three times a year to visit family and friends. We have always had a very good time and found the food, staff, facilities and rooms very good. This time however, we have not had the same experience, we have just returned after two weeks there. Unlike many of the other people who have commented, we have not had any illness through food, and were not involved in the commotion of the rampaging lady; what we found is the overcrowding around the pool at lunch time due to the closure of the Marhaba club restaurant at lunch time and food no longer being available at all on the beach, which has always been provided previously. We have never heard so many guests complaining, the staff are doing their best to provide a good service, coffee is now provided by coffee machines and not made for you freshly as previously, the all inclusive bar is now together with the pay bar, or help yourself from pumps around the pool area that are sat out in the sun all day, and there is only water and soft drinks available on the beach. I feel very sad that a one time very good hotel is making changes that are not necessary and are not working.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank june a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marhabaresorts, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Marhaba, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
dear valued guest
we thank you for taking the time to describe for us your impression.
we do apologize for the fact that you didnt like our new management, be sure that we take all your comments seriously and we work hard improving our services.
Please contact us before your next visit, we will be thrilled to help facilitate your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was our 1st time in tunisia so did not know what to expect.The hotel has 2parts it seems, the newly decorated rooms and the rooms that everyone was complaining about, thankfully we had a room in the nice part. I did book a room with a balcony but did not get one i asked the rep marina if i could have an airer to dry the towels as we were a family of 4 and had no way of drying anything.She asked the man at reception and he said yes, 6 days later we were still waiting and all the rep kept saying was see me tomorrow. Unless you are booking an excursion with her she does not want to know.In the end i went and bought a washing line and hung it across the room much to the maids delight. the managers at this hotel could learn a thing or 2 from the waiters and animation team who where great especially our waiter ousarma and gigi and mano who kept us entertained all day. The food is not great but the desserts are,watch out for the cockroaches in the toilets they are massive one lady came out with one in her hair.the pools are great and the beach is nice i would go back to tunisia but not to this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a newly decorated room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marhabaresorts, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Marhaba, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guest
we do apologize for the inconvenience that you felt during your stay in our hotel, our team woks hard in order to satisfy all our guest's desires and provide that with the best service.
we hope you will visit us soon and see the improvements done since your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

my husband and myself stayed in the marhaba hotel for two weeks in may.we were in room 310 which is in the main building and has recently been renovated.while we were there the water went off twice and after reading recent reviews about other people having the same problem this matter needs some urgent attention.the animation staff were fantastic,taking time to speak to all the guests and asking if you wanted to join in activities but if you said no they accepted that and would leave you alone, they work really hard from 9am until midnight and are a credit to the hotel.the pool is always kept very clean but is always very cold.we found all the staff very friendly and would go out of their way to assist you with anything you needed.now onto the food,the pool area always served hot and tasty meals but the resteraunt food needs to be improved the chips were always undercooked I mentioned this to our waiter and he said he would have a word with the chef,the next day the chips were fine but after that they were horrible again.they need to vary the selection because for the full two weeks we were there they served beef and chicken just cooked different, I am not a real big meat eater anyway but my husband is and when you are served this every day for lunch and again for evening meal something needs to be done, its a wonder my husband did not return home either mooing or clucking. over all for what we paid ,one thousand pound for the two of us for two weeks and taking into account your flights and transfers not a bad holiday,would we return,yes if I read on trip advisor that the food has improved.TOANYONE DUE TO GO TO THIS HOTEL ENJOY YOURSELVES YOU COULD DO A LOT WORSE

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank katylate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marhabaresorts, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Marhaba, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,
We were absolutely delighted to read your fantastic feedback regarding your stay at Marhaba Hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a joyful vacation with us. All of our aim is to make each guest’s stay pleasant and cheerful.
looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014

we are in our 70s and they put us on the top floor that had no lift rep said come see me next day we did after having to go up and down stairs we got moved to another room but they were doing major building work so was very noisy so got moved again after having to see the rep on a number of times we got moved again we spent most of our holiday moving rooms or waiting for the rep the hotel was ok food appalling raw chicken and pork raw chips and overcooked beef some but deserts were nice staff demanded money for you getting your own tea i got pushed by some drunk lady who went on to assault guests and shout at children the rep and hotel staff did nothing untill the police came 2 hrs later got offered drugs just outside hotel one evening so we never went out again nice beach though and lovely pool but wouldnt go back

Room Tip: ask for a room that has a lift to get to it or ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marhabaresorts, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Marhaba, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear valued guest
we do apologize for the inconvience that you felt during your stay in our hotel, our team works hard in order to satisfy all our guest's desires.
we hope that you will visit us soon and see the improvements done since your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Me, my husband, daughter, son, step daughter and her partner and their 3yr old daughter stayed at the Marhaba Hotel and had the best 2 week holiday ever. The reason it was the best holiday is all thanks to the animation staff. My 3yr old granddaughter loved each of the animation team especially Mano, Nino and Sousou. Without the animation team this holiday would of been boring. They are a credit to the hotel and due to them making this holiday the best we are going back in October this year. My daughter, step daughter and my granddaughter will be returning, a girlie holiday. Thank you Nino, Mano, Sousou, Fifi, Bobo, Momo, Toto, Gigi and Mido. You all are the best animation I have had the pleasure to meet. The food an the other hand was not my type of food but I did like the salads and the spaghetti bolognaise. The room was cleaned every day and we had clean towels every day. The room was basic. Bedroom was 2 single beds pushed together and bunk beds. I thought my husband and I would have double bed in the bedroonm and there would be a sofa bed in living room, I was wrong. We were not dishearten by the room as we were only in the room to sleep. Definitely going back to see the animation team and if they end up working in a different hotel then I will go to that hotel. See you all soon

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marhabaresorts, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Marhaba, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear valued guest
on behalf of our team we would like to thank you for your great comments and very positive feedback.
looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had a horrible week room ok some staff friendly but others asking for money food disgusting had raw pork raw chicken so was I'll for a few days tried telling rep but she was not interested wouldn't write it down as a formal complaint my wife vegetarian so she was ok but lived on mainly rice and raw chips was there when lady was running riot security did nothing nor did the rep got offered drugs just outside the hotel one evening so wouldn't recommend going outside of an evening no internet in reception all week or in room but manager was not bothered room needed updating and smelt of sewers all week yet again rep wasn't interested also had no water for hours then it came out orange pool was nice but you had to get up at 6 to get a sunbed as the guests from other hotels all come to it only good thing was the weather was nice

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marhabaresorts, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Marhaba, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest:
i was really sorry to hear that the service was unsatisfactory , relevant departement have been notified about the concern you have reported
i do hope you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our quality of service in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.8 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Marabout Hotel
Le Marabout Hotel
#16 of 35 in Sousse
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marhaba

Property: Hotel Marhaba
Address: 2011 Boulevard 14 Janvier | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Marhaba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 734
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classe 4 etoiles et faisant parti du Marhaba Resorts, reference par la prestigieuse chaine Marhaba Hotels, le Marhaba Club est entierement dedie a anticiper vos besoins et satisfaire vos attentes. Situe au coeur de la zone touristique de la ville de Sousse, a : 10 mn du centre ville de Sousse, 10 mn du Port el Kantaoui et du terrain de Golf, 20 minutes de l'aeroport de Skanes-Monastir, 40 minutes de l'aeroport d'Enfidha et a 90 minutes de l'aeroport de Tunis-Carthage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing