We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Hotel Marhaba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marhaba
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

just got back from this hotel. Hotel lovely and clean. Our room overlooked the sea breath taking.Beach amazing the sun bed man Mr fatty was the best we got him some lunch and bottles of water he was so gratefull.the cleaner changed the towels and made the beds nothing special but it is a massive thing to tip.entertainment was good the animation team were fantastic made us laugh so much if you are going please tell TIMO he is number 2 lol.Food breakfast was good toast eggs pancakes fruit omlettes the usual,dinner was better than night evening meal we did struggle one night there was octapus rabbit and fish we arenot fussy we dont complain we are in a foreign country but found some nights hard. my only other advise please be carefull when going out of the hotel we didnot feel safe going out my son was pickpocketed luckly he felt them souse was not nice we found port kantoe lovely all in all a lovely break especially if you want a hotel based holiday any questions feel free to ask me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    318
    163
    64
    79
See reviews for
375
289
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

my husband and myself had a very pleasant stay at the hotel marhaba. a nice hotel with a lovely beach and well kept grounds. nice clean rooms and very pleasant staff there was always a good choice of food. entertainment was ok. would go back to this hotel. FAB!!!!!

Room Tip: request the new part of the hotel. the older part is quite dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbernauld
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Been there a few years ago airport took 90 min to get through passport control she kept shouting on her boss to look at passports when we got through rain could not come down any harder
when we got to our bus drenched got to hotel he had no lights could not find our bags getting wet again.Got the cases driver turns to me ( YOU GIVE ME DENA I TOLD HIM I HAD NONE AS YOU HAVE TO GET YOUR MONEY CHANGED THERE THE SCOTS WILL LIKE THIS
WELL JIS GEE US A POUND RIGHT GLASGOW TALK THE WAY i WAS FEELING i TOLD HIM WHERE TO GO.
The hotel very clean food differant but good entertainment 2 young boys all they did was chase up the young woman entertainment rubbish That night when we go there we got cup of tea but they had run out of beer The complex was well laid out lovely right on the beach .Man on the beach gave us 2 strawberrys each to eat then asked if we wanted to buy we said no we had eaten 1 he took the other 1 off us and walked away. Taxi's WACKY RACES door tied up with Black tape my wife disabled sat in the front when we got out she was shaking a wreck.
When you get out taxi at market they look at your wrist band then tell you they work at your hotel and they will take you to his cousin he will give you bargin. I realised what was going on I grabbed my wife and our friends and run them out the shop I worked in Saudi and could speak Arabic I think they got shock when i started talking to them Other than that Hotel and holiday was very good P.S. we were on ground floor the lift at our side notice KA POOT

Room Tip: nothing all the rooms are fine lovely gardens all round Thats not the date we were there had to put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just came back after 1 week all inclusive at the Marhaba hotel.  The grounds were pretty and the building was clean.  The staff were attentive, the waiter we had had our drinks on the table every tea time ready (after tipping) and he taught us some Arabic, the maids always cleaned our rooms well and change our towels when required.  The Animation team were hard working and great to occupy the kids but as we didn't use their services we had a relaxing holiday.  Outdoor pool was cold early morning (March) but warmed up.  We didn't use the indoor pool, gym or spa facilities.  The restraunt was constantly cleaned and the food was varied for even the fussiest eaters offering pastries, cereals, toast and fresh pancakes for breakfast; soup, chips, a variety grilled meats, pasta and pizza as well as other dishes for lunch and tea followed by ice cream and lots of different cakes.
This hotel was more 4* than 3*.  We will return

Room Tip: WiFi in reception and rooms in close proximity
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sonictkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

me and the wife have just returned from a two week stay and cant really fault the hotel its the best out of the three in the complex we think . the hotel is really clean in the new bit but not so nice in the old part were its not been modernized yet . food wise i always found something to eat and had a good variety each day . the grounds are really nice as is the outside pool went in the indoor pool once n didnt like it at all only two ladders to get in and out where local people would sit on and refuse to move cause they said they couldnt swim not good when u are wanting to get in or out .
rooms in the modernized part were kept spotless by realy nice maids who did there job well and were always polite.
entertainment . well this lets the place down . during the day is fine cause u can join in the games or just chill out by the pool but at night theres only the neptune bar were they mime to music or play games not very good at all . no extractor fans in a small area so the smoke stings your eyes within 30 mins of being in there. so u end up in the lobby sat drinking n playing cards all night with no music so u r bored sensless
the bar staff and waiters were very polite and always happy to help
beach is really nice made our holiday apart from how cold the sea was lol
sousse its self is a bit of a let down very run down and way too much hassle made us feel really uncomfy.

apart from that we would recomend this hotel to anyone wanting to just chill out and relax

Room Tip: refurbished rooms r 100% better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having read some of the reviews here, we went with an open mind, especially considering the price we paid. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were at all times friendly and eager to please. The whole hotel was clean and tidy, the room we had was a joy, nicely laid out, clean bedding and towels daily, the chamber maid even laid out my silk pyjamas on the bed every day.
The food was of excellent quality, plentiful, and always hot. Massive amount of choice, and something available to suit even the most picky eater. The waiters were attentive and very friendly, and would often stop to play with the children.
Bar staff were also lovely, and would often bring our drinks to the table, when we ordred at the bar. The gardens and the pool area were always being cleaned and tidied, nothing was left to chance.
We did not use the indoor pool but it was lovely and clean as was the fitness area, and was in big demand with families, and older couples who did not want to chance the temperature of the outdoor pool, as this was late March,, and the outdoor pool was not exactly at the best temperature yet.
The animation team worked extrememly hard and very long hours, and are always on the go arranging some activity or another.

I am writing this review from the Hotel as both my partner and myself are very impressed and we are enjoying are stay here. We would come back to this hotel time and time again, such is the level of service and great value for money.

Room Tip: Tea bags are a must, and for me I would have brought a travel kettle and some instant coffee, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

For the background to this review you'll need to look at my write up entitled 'More '2 Star' than '4 Star'' for our recent stay at the Hotel Marhaba Club.
This is a more brief appraisal as we used this hotel as an escape from the 'Tunisian Madhouse' under our All Inclusive 'escape clause' rather than being resident in a room throughout.
To that end I cannot grade our experience for anything other than our use of the restaurant and lobby bar.
Compared to it's 'superior' sister hotel this 3 Star property clearly towers above it in terms of general appearance. quality and service. Whilst it's by no means perfect I thinks it's worthy of the 3 Star rating and could even push towards another half or full star.
There has obviously been some rejuvination and renovation over recent years which explains why the whole building looks fresh, bright and inviting.
The restaurant is a complete contrast. It looks less like a canteen, is bright, tidy and clean. The food is laid out in seperate areas so people aren't confined to one location for everything. The choice and variety is larger than the other hotel offers and, best of all, the food is fresher, hotter and generally more appealling. We ate there for nine of the ten days we stayed and always found something different to eat.
The only downside were the cats that occasionally found their way into the building but it was apparent that the staff did their level best to try to ensure they were kept out by locking one of the doors they used most frequently.
The Lobby are and bar were more than sufficient although service did tend to be a little slow and they forever seemed to be washing glasses which appearred in short supply.
There was a flat screen TV showing films and sport (albeit with the sound down) with a clear signal too!
We don't intend to return to Tunisia soon but if we did I would have no qualms about staying at this hotel. If you're deciding whether to opt for the 'magnificence' of the 4 Star Marhaba Club vs the 'poor relation' Hotel Marhaba don't be fooled by hollow titles.
Hotel Marhaba wins hands down!
I'd choose Cinderella over her big ugly sister any day!

Room Tip: I can't rate the rooms but they can't be any worse than what was on offer next door. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Orchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.8 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,010 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Marabout Hotel
Le Marabout Hotel
#16 of 35 in Sousse
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marhaba

Property: Hotel Marhaba
Address: 2011 Boulevard 14 Janvier | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Marhaba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 734
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classe 4 etoiles et faisant parti du Marhaba Resorts, reference par la prestigieuse chaine Marhaba Hotels, le Marhaba Club est entierement dedie a anticiper vos besoins et satisfaire vos attentes. Situe au coeur de la zone touristique de la ville de Sousse, a : 10 mn du centre ville de Sousse, 10 mn du Port el Kantaoui et du terrain de Golf, 20 minutes de l'aeroport de Skanes-Monastir, 40 minutes de l'aeroport d'Enfidha et a 90 minutes de l'aeroport de Tunis-Carthage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing