We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming.”
Review of Hotel Marhaba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marhaba
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed December 30, 2012

When I walked into the hotel I was impressed from the start. The public areas are lovely, comfortable and welcoming as are the staff. The rooms are a little basic but at the price I paid I certainly wasn't complaining. The bed was comfortable, the TV worked and there was plenty of pillows, blankets etc. The most important thing to me about a hotel is that it is clean and this one certainly is that. The cleaners come every day but are happy to leave you alone if you are having a lazy day. All the staff are attentive, remember names, cannot do enough for you but, again, are happy to leave you alone if that is what you want. I was made to feel like a special guest and that they wanted me there. The animation team work extremely long hours and must be exhausted but they always have smile and a friendly comment, again, happy to leave you alone if you want.
Whilst I was there they had a gala christmas eve dinner and they pulled out all the stops. I was impressed as I had booked very last minute, got an extremely cheap all inclusive deal and this was included in the price.

Overall I would say this is a great hotel to use as a relaxing break if all you want is to stay in the hotel, relax by the pool, on the beach or take advantage of the all inclusive activities but also a good base to explore the local area too.

See you there sometime!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up as room 7 on the ground floor only has a view of the restaurant roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 985 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

First impressions of the hotel was very good, the hotel was clean and the staff helpful. We were shown to our room which only had the one bedroom with 3 beds, seen as there was 2 adults and a child a seperate bedroom would have been nice but this wasnt really a big problem for us. The room was cleaned daily and beds made. We were all inclusive and we all found the food fresh with a excellent choice, the waiters were helpful and would serve you with drinks at the table. We would often sit in the reception area on an evening and make use of their wi fi while having a drink. There was some entertainment which wasnt great but was ok for a few hours, the Animation Team were very nice though and we always supported their shows as they put a lot of effort in to make our stay entertained. The pool area was nice and and a short walk from the beach which was clean and the sea blue. I made use of the indoor pool, the gym, massage and tenis courts. Overall I can not complain at all for the money we paid. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a Xmas break away.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the sea/pool which was quite although with the tiled floors you could ofte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I'm going to start this review by saying that at around £40 per person per night, (INCLUDING flights), this hotel is fantastic value for money.

We arrived back on November 4th from a 2 week holiday. Originally we were put in one of their rooms that hadn't been renovated. It was perfectly clean, if a little dated but unfortunately as I have a disability was a little too far from the main amenities for me.
They then changed us to a much closer room. This had been renovated. You will know if you are getting a renovated room as they have electronic keys. The renovations were nice, although the finish is somewhat lacking - perhaps this will be completed over the winter season, but for example we could get our fingers fully behind the door frame and the grout was all over the floor and tiles.
The cleanliness cannot be faulted however, the maids were brilliant and the main areas of the hotels were cleaned regularly throughout the day.

Food was amazing. There was so much choice and it was clean and well cooked. The dining area itself was beautiful, so much so that people from the sister hotels were coming to the restaurant in our hotel as it was so much better than theirs. Needless to say, we didn't try theirs!
The pool food was a tad repetitive (pizza, chips, paninis), but you could choose to use the restaurant instead, which was nice and quiet. The food at the pool was still cooked well and the area was clean.
Tipping. This is a must. The staff are on very low wages and are grateful for your tips, which are well deserved because of the service you receive.
1 dinar is approx 40p, so to pay £4 to have your room cleaned for 10 days, and another £4 to have your drinks waiting on your dinner table when you arrive is well worth it. The pool guy is great - tip him a couple of dinars every few days and he will reserve your loungers for you in the same place each day.
All the staff worked so hard to make our experience a good one, that I would recommend this hotel.

The only thing that let it down badly were the areas for children. The playgrounds were derelict, and the area used for the Kids Club was in the middle of a square of rooms - all used by staff, which made me a little uncomfortable. VERY run down and basic. As was the crazy golf. The archery area had missing fencing at the rear and arrows were found in the children's playground. Not good. We did mention these concerns to the management on our feedback form, and the next day saw noticeable tidying going on. Whether it was a coincidence or not I'm not sure.

You are right next to the beach, and the beach sellers aren't allowed into the sectioned area, so unless you want to pop into the sea then you won't be bothered.

There is a man on site called Basem 'The Camel Man' who will come up to you while sunbathing by the pool, having coffee in the sun and will hassle you non stop about taking a camel ride with him. (Or boat trip on a Pirate ship!) If you plan on doing this, book quickly so he'll leave you alone. We made the mistake of leaving it until the 2nd week, so had him asking us probably 3 times a day for the first week. To be fair, the camels were an enjoyable trip for the money.

We went into Sousse and found the market an experience. We have been to Turkey, but this was on a different level, with traders following you down the street and giving your children 'gifts', then demanding payment for them. As we had a small child with us, this was far too intimidating for her and we left quite quickly.

Port El Kantoui was a beautiful place. It was around 6 dinars to get a cab there and much more relaxed to shop, although they still try hard to get you into their shops.
Take a walk around the marina to see how the other half live, and enjoy an ice cream in one of the local restaurants.
In the centre is the 'Dancing Fountains', which are nice but beware the restaurant owner who hovers and offers to take your picture for you. We got caught with this, allowed him to take our picture and then felt obliged to use his restaurant, only to be royally ripped off! He is careful not to advertise drinks prices, which is where is bumps the price up. We had a kids pizza, 2 burgers and 3 (soft) drinks and were charged 50 dinars. Now that's reasonable for the UK, but is probably double what it should be to eat out in Tunisia. The name of the restaurant is El Banefrei I believe (I've popped some pictures of the restaurant AND the owner on here). The restaurant we would definitely recommend was the Tangerine - spotlessly clean, lovely staff and clear pricing.

Also, the Zoo at the Port may only be cheap, but once you are inside the ONLY things to see are birds (chickens mainly), so save your money and take pictures of the 2 Chihuahuas and camel from outside.

This was our first trip to Tunisia and for a budget holiday we would definitely go back.

The only reservation I would have is that if you book a budget holiday, be prepared to holiday with people from different social backgrounds to yourself. For example, one of the barmen was very surprised that we were English because we didn't have tattoos, and one parent tried to get our 7 year old to look after her little one (who couldn't swim), at the POOL, while she drank and flirted with the Animation team.
This wasn't for us so we moved to the quiet pool, which was lovely with a swim up bar.

All in all, a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Try and get a room near reception if you can as there are VERY long corridors and a lot of stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mimidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

just returned from Marhaba. Had un renovated room which was lovely and clean, with great views over sea. hotel staff were very friendly. Food was plentiful and fresh. something for everyone. Thanks to the waiters and chefs who work so hard behind the scene. Met some great people and made some new friends.......travelled on my own and thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Will definitely be back . PS Simo xxx

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank judy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

my first time to tunisia my wifes second daughter 4th it was a great holiday good hotel staff where brilliant no problems cant wait to go back my daughter was worried i would ant like it i did rearly did.We had are anniversary out there they rearly looked after us

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pompeydaveWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have been to Tunisia 5 times before usually staying in Port El Kantaoui the Royal Kenz, which is great So this time we thought we would try Sousse.
The room we stayed in was on the ground floor, as is the norm we locked the patio doors when we went out only to find the maid left them open on three occasions after cleaning the room. we went to reception and complained each time to be told they would inform the maid to lock them, in the end I had to look for the maid who didn't speak much English so I had to show her that she must lock the doors. The room was very dated and in need of a refurb the bath had rust around the plughole and the shower was old and basic the water was only luke warm.

The room had a T.V but all we could get was BBC news. there was NO hair dryer, NO fridge
The rep said she would request a fridge for us but it never arrived. You could request an hairdryer from reception for a 20 dinar deposit if you took the hairdryer back within 45 mins you got you 20 Dinar back. I don't like rushing when I am getting ready to go out.
The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and we were unlucky to get the part of the hotel that had not been done, saying that it was mostly the communal areas and a few rooms that had been refurbished. The hotel also needs a cosy bar area not the open reception area to drink in. The indoor swimming pool was closed after one week as it was being demolished.
The hotel staff were great they couldn't do enough for you. food was the usual Tunisian all inclusive, the sunbeds on the beach were free.
When the hotel has been completely refurbished it will be a great place to stay, but at this moment in time I would not recommend it to family or friends.

We hired a car from paradise car rentals and had a day trip to El jem (This is a great place to visit) had a lovely meal in a cafe facing the entrance to the amphitheatre.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has been refurbished. Don't stay on the ground floor a chance the patio doors wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carol t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here from 07.11.12 - 14.11.12. On arriving at the airport we were warned there would be Tunisian men posing as airport 'porters' wanting to help you with your luggage to your bus, it is safe to do so - but be prepared to hand over a tip, However, a kind 'No thank-you' is fine and they leave you. Arriving at the hotel we were very impressed on what the hotel looks like, You have to fill in a form then the porter takes you to your room and shows you how things work, they also expect a small tip for this. You are not allowed to take Tunisian Dinar in or out of the country, but they will accept Stirling etc. if you have not changed anything yet. ( £1 is equivalent to about 2.50 Tunisian Dinars).The rooms behind reception have recently been renovated and are the better of the rooms, however the other rooms are basic but are fine as all you are using them for is sleeping, showering etc in. We were in room 134 - Not behind reception. The food is excellent, they have lots to choose from. They do fresh omelettes & pancakes (recommended), they also have boiled & scrambled eggs, toast, beans, tomatoes, croissants etc. Obviously no bacon or sausage as it is a Muslim country. Lunch time, you can get anything from a panini by the pool bar, to pizza, chips, pasta, Bolognese, chicken etc. Dinner time varies each day, but there is always something for everyone. Fish, chicken, beef, pie, lasagne, Tunisian dishes, chips, pizza etc. There are two pools here, one is a pool with water slides, music , entertainment etc and the other is a more quiet chill out pool. We spent most of our free time by the beach. Lovely sand, the hotels area is roped off to stop Tunisians getting on and selling you stuff, but this doesn't stop them shouting over the ropes to you! Again a kind No thank you does nicely. We did 3 trips whilst here, the 1st one is a full day tour called 'Roman Empire' where you visit old Tunisian Ruins, very good but quit a lot of time spent on the bus. A lovely lunch is put on with brik for starter, Wild Board Rice & Veg for main and Fruit for dessert. The 2nd Trip was to the Medina in Sousse, this is a good experience of bartering for your souvenirs. The 3rd was the Camel Caravan which is excellent!! would recommend all those trips! Out of the hotel is pretty safe to walk around, however there isn't many shops around, and if you are getting a taxi about get a yellow one and agree a price before hand! The saloon down the road on the left from the hotel is very nice and cheap too! (steakhouse)
The entertainment team are fab! They work so hard for such little money and do a great job to make everyone's holiday.
This is a lovely hotel and definitely deserves more than the 3 stars that it has, would definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms behind reception are recently renovated. We were in room 134 (not behind reception)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mattandlaura2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sousse
0.1 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#13 of 35 in Sousse
1,606 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#8 of 35 in Sousse
70 reviews
3.8 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marhaba

Address: 2011 Boulevard 14 Janvier | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range: $42 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Marhaba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 734
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classe 4 etoiles et faisant parti du Marhaba Resorts, reference par la prestigieuse chaine Marhaba Hotels, le Marhaba Club est entierement dedie a anticiper vos besoins et satisfaire vos attentes. Situe au coeur de la zone touristique de la ville de Sousse, a : 10 mn du centre ville de Sousse, 10 mn du Port el Kantaoui et du terrain de Golf, 20 minutes de l'aeroport de Skanes-Monastir, 40 minutes de l'aeroport d'Enfidha et a 90 minutes de l'aeroport de Tunis-Carthage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing