We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot wait to return next year”
Review of Hotel Marhaba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marhaba
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to return next year”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We were a little apprehensive on arrival as had read some awful reviews, well what can i say? it was the most relaxing holiday we have had in years, on arrival we were given 1 room with a double bed and 2 single beds which was not appropriate as we had 11 and 14 year old boys with us the next morning we mentioned to our rep who spoke to reception and without any problem we were moved to another room which had 2 rooms (result) rooms are kept clean and towels and linen changed regularly, you can pay 10 dinars per towel for your pool towels which you get back when you leave. Food is fine and has a variety of choices restaurant managers are very helpful, animation team do a brilliant job keeping you entertained all day if you wish to be BoBo,Manu and Nino are great and really friendly. The beach is a nice place to go as well you have a bar and if you are all inclusive lunch is served down there, various water sports are available at very reasonable prices. Sellers are not allowed on beach area which is great. Over all we had a fantastic holiday and cannot wait to go back. One last thing the workers all over the hotel like to be spoken to and they enjoy banter which in it self can make your holiday more fun

Room Tip: Family rooms have no balconies and if you travel with thomas cook (which we did) they sleep 4 to 1 r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samn0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    318
    163
    64
    79
See reviews for
375
289
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed here in June this year for two week with my partner and two young children aged five and one. When we first arrived our room wasn't ready for another half hour or so..the reception offered us another room so we wouldn't have to wait around, when we got to the room it was a large family room with two seperate double beds + cot alot bigger than we expected, however I did not like the room and returned to reception to tell them, they did not hesitate to move us to our original room. The rooms aren't anything special but they are good enough. They have a good selection of food and deserts if your not too fussy, I lived on chicken and rice my daughter spag bol and found it very hard to feed the baby with what they had to offer, our waiter was very nice and always ensuring our glasses were full, they have Tunisian night on Thursdays and there was nothing there that we liked, after telling our waiter this we had a visit from the head from the front of the restaurant who told us we could have whatever we wanted he would have it made for us. The beach was great apart from the hagglers that walk along down near the sea but if you tell them bluntly 'NO!' they leave you alone, however this isnt as easy when they are putting stuff on the children, one man gave my daughter a necklace and told her she could have it for free and spent the best part of ten minutes standing around staring at us until i finally told my dughter to go and give it back. The pool was great not to crowded and they have all types of entertainment going on around it. The entertainment at night was absolute rubbish we went down twice and didn't stay very long. All in all it was a good holiday there was nothing that disappointed me too much apart from how little there was for the children to do, they have started a kids club at this hotel which i didn't try because i only found out about it two days before we went so if your trusting enough i suppose it could be abit more fun for the children than doing the same things day in day out. We went on two excursions whist we were there; the animal magic and ampitheatre which were both rubbish, the animal one was okish for the kids but was a good hour away from hotel so they wern't happy travelling, I would return to Tunisia but unfortunately not to Sousse.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaylz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Well what can i say ......... we stayed in this hotel last june , stayed here this june and we are returning in september this year . what more can i say ! a very friendly clean hotel with plenty of choice of food . The rooms are a bit dated but at the end of the day you only sleep in them and they are always clean and tidy , and have everything you need.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welshlady1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardglass, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 1 week in late June 2011on an all inclusive basis. It is listed as a 3 star hotel.
The public areas are modern and are certainly of a 3 star standard. However the rooms are very much in need of being brought up to standard with light fittings unsafe and hanging off, plaster and paint coming off the walls, no locks on the inside of the doors and the television not working correctly. I requested twice that the tv and lock be fixed but this was never done.
The service in the bar and restaurant was quite good if you tipped the waiters and also the food was quite reasonable and varied.
The noise at night was of loud music and could be heard from anywhere in the hotel. Do not go to this hotel if you want to sleep before 1am.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is our second visit to Marhaba hotel and another fantastic holiday, please do not listen to what other people say about this hotel, yes it is a bit out dated but if you want a 5* hotel dont book a 3* hotel. Whilst we was there we had no problems what so ever all the staff are freindly and the new animation team are fantastic a big thank you to Momo, nino, simo, toto, mano, fifi, and joujou the big boss man and leyla, they all try extremley hard and dont stop all day. whilst we was there we went on the half day boat trip which was an experience as we was the only english on the boat but we didnt pay other the top for it we booked through the (camel guy) that comes round the pool trying to sell you camel rides we also booked quad biking through him which was good just barter with him and he will give you a cheap price dont pay the first price he gives you. The only bad point to say about this holiday is there was a lot of forgein nationals there, men on the look for women we went with a our friends and their daughter is 16 and we caught them taking pictures of her in her bikini and whilst she was walking so just a tip to watch out if you have teanage daughters. overhaul a good holiday and most definatley will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachbd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Very pleased on arrival, looked so much better than we were expecting for a 3 star hotel.

Food tended to get a bit boring after 3 days, but there was a good selection to choose from.

2 minute walk to the beach, but the pool was better in our opinion.

No queues for the bar while we were there, but we did tip the bar staff and found if there were 3 people in the queue he would serve us first.

Entertainment was good, but we think they would benefit from having a stage to preform on. But all the entertainment staff seemed very happy in their work and we enjoyed some good shows.

All in all I would deffinately recommend this hotel to other people.

We met some lovely people here and have become good friends with them.

Had a couple of trips to the 'Medina' all I will say is that if you want to buy, you have to barter, we got some converse trainers for 20 dinar about £10 instead if the 95 dinar he was asking :)
If you don't want to go in to their shops just say no thankyou and keep walking, as they can be quite intimidating.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martinsawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Returned from the Marhaba hotel on the 27th May...Had a fab time, lovely hotel, lovely staff, lovely food, lovely pool...lovely trip. The weather was fab, the pool just right and the Animation team great.

Ive been going with my family to Tunisia for many years now and love the country and culture...i hear lots of people moaning and complaining WHY? Go with an open mind, a GSOH and relax. So its not the same food as home, the furniture not quite as good, the staff not same as our hotels - but if you want British food etc STAY AT HOME.

The staff will bend over backwards for you and if your friendly to them they will make your holiday one to remember. Dont be rude and spoil it for the rest of us...

In March/April we stayed for 2 weeks at the Tour Khalef with my husband, sister and 2 daughters (15 & 19) and my sister and I have just had one week here.
As a family i have stayed in Skanes and Port El Kantaoui but never before in Sousse although i have visited.

As my children are older now i think i prefer Sousse for the night life etc.
We will be back before the end of the year...

Fab time had by all a big hello to Mido, Christiano, Momo, Cheif security (and his partner), Atef, Ali and my friend DERRICK Dj from Lagrot Disco x

Room Tip: We had room 63 was clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheek2Chique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.8 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Marabout Hotel
Le Marabout Hotel
#16 of 35 in Sousse
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marhaba

Property: Hotel Marhaba
Address: 2011 Boulevard 14 Janvier | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Marhaba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 734
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classe 4 etoiles et faisant parti du Marhaba Resorts, reference par la prestigieuse chaine Marhaba Hotels, le Marhaba Club est entierement dedie a anticiper vos besoins et satisfaire vos attentes. Situe au coeur de la zone touristique de la ville de Sousse, a : 10 mn du centre ville de Sousse, 10 mn du Port el Kantaoui et du terrain de Golf, 20 minutes de l'aeroport de Skanes-Monastir, 40 minutes de l'aeroport d'Enfidha et a 90 minutes de l'aeroport de Tunis-Carthage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing