We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a fantastic holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marhaba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marhaba
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“what a fantastic holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

arrived 27 th aipri 2011 . 3 adults .4 kids 14. 9. 4..9.
we all thought this place was amazing . slides for the kids .food was great .my lads are hard to please but they had a great time here. beach was really nice but be warned they do get on youre nerves selling things stay at the top near the hut and they are not allowed up to sell you anything unless they have a licence.
i thought the shops were very cheap .but please note do not go out on youre own at night .if you wear gold please remove it befour you otherwise you will loose it .
tip the staff they will run for youre drinks. quad bikes are a must great fun
the hotel will get a very bad reputation for theft there was quiet a few guests hundreds of pounds mobile phones were stolen . even a case was taken from the lobby . do not show any of the staff youre wallet temptation .the cleaner was even caught stealing in 1 of the rooms .something seriously needs to be done maybe the owner should be taught a lesson and be closed down .if we stole in our country we d pay the crimes so why is it different for them . be very carefull and you wont go wrong
maggie manchester

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    316
    163
    64
    79
See reviews for
373
289
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fife scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

i went to the marhaba hotel for 14 nights. with my 14 year old son .on 10Th April 2011. on our arrival we thought we had hit the jack pot the hotel looked nice . and first impressions of the staff was they where nice ..that however didn't last as they wher constantly rude to everyone unles they got a tip .. their was constant building around the pool and the hotel next door . every time we went to the pool the work men would make rude comments to my self and my son. my son went swimming and came out the pool covered in blisters. as they added way to much extra salt to the sea water they where already using . The indoor pool had so much chlorine in it the kids all had red eye and rash marks on there body . as for the food it was moderate and what we didn't eat for lunch. came back in a sauce for dinner .snack during the day where basic with little choice . there was a fight between a drunk guest and 3 other men in the hotel blood everywhere . it was not what children should see . the hotel refused to call the police . the following night the same man assaulted my son. for no reason .when i asked for the staff to call the police they again refused . and told me that id have to go to the police station but not to take anything but my passports . i thought this was for security reasons . it was however so the staff could go into my room and break into my locked suitcase and steal £480.00 pounds our ipod's ,chain and my sons ring . when i complained to the hotel i was told they could do nothing .and to go back to the police station . which i did .nothing was done . there was nothing we could do . when i discussed this with other people . I was informed that several people in the hotel had also had money and belongings stolen . The rooms where entered with the pass key. by the staff and security staff at the hotel . when i informed the owner of the hotel he informed me he knew it was going on but could do nothing about it . There is nothing in the area for children and we where advised not to walk out side the hotel grounds . this is not a safe place this resort should not be used for families . as it isn't safe and not what they say it is in the brochure

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddiefifescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Went in March 2011 and what a fabulous holiday.
The service was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, the food was fab, the beer was good, the pools and slides were great and the entertainment staff tried their very best.
My in-laws went the week after us and thoroughly enjoyed it too.
Trying to get back with the kids in September and have advised all of our friends to go there.
Only down side was on the flight out we were sat on seperate aisle seats despite being on our way out for our honeymoon! But the hotel could not be faulted, go you will not regret it! x

Room Tip: Tip little but often, 1 dinar is only about 50p!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaxpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

we thought the hotel and staff dam excellant very friendly indeed we thought it was that good we have booked up already to go there this sept and that 6 of us we like to take the time to thank all the staff for a great holiday esp attare mosutafer kemo we can not wait to see u all this year kev ali take care all see u all soon

Room Tip: room 301 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alikev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

We came back from Marhaba Hotel, Sousse, Sunday 17th April 2011, must say we were abit apprehensive about going but had nothing to worry about in the end. We had an absolute brillant holiday! The weather was ok but had a couple of days that were overcast. The hotel itself was very good value for money, the rooms were nice and were cleaned everyday. The staff were always friendly apart from the reception. The Animation team we found were absolutely brilliant, very friendly and funny and my two teenagers loved them. Well done to Ben, Christiano, Willy, DJ Moss, Enrique and all the others for making our holiday fun! Also the food was 1st class and the tunisan night was really good. The only negative side was that you have to be careful of the outsiders who sell things on the beach ect. dont be sucked in, like we were on the first day, just be friendly but stern if you dont want to buy anything and dont except free samples because after they exspect you to pay for them. Overall the holiday was absolutely excellent and we will be going back, hopefully later on in the year.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boxbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by friendly staff. The porter who took our cases to our room for a £1. The reception staff were all very kind and helpful. I travelled with my teenage son, and after we read reviews were very worried about what our room would be like. Worried for nothing, our room was spacious, clean and the linen and towels smelt lovely and fresh. The room was cleaned everyday and our maid was lovely. The hotel reception and surroundings seemed very plush. The gardens and pool area was surrounded by palm trees, making it seem very exotic. The beach was white sand and lovely blue sea, although too cold to swim in. We stayed by the pool. The animation team made sure we were entertained throughout the day and in the evening. They were a lovely bunch of lads who worked extremely hard. Especially Willy. The restaurant we very clean and comfortable. The food was very nice, always lots of different choices. They catered for everybody. Our waiter Abdullah couldnt do enough for us. We didnt want to come home and are already saving for our next trip back. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Went with an open mind having read the reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. First room was directly above the bar but they were happy to let us move to a quieter part on the second day.
Reception staff were a bit off handed but the concierge was very helpful.
The bars and waiting staff were very pleasant, the chefs made extra efforts to please too, especially the pancake man who made treats for the kids.
Rooms were basic but clean and no dodgy smells ( as I had read about )
We were able to get good sleep and were not unduly disturbed during the night.
The gardens were lovely( could do with a tidy up here and there but they seemed to be working on that.)
The pools were clean but a bit chilly, the flumes were fantastic fun for kids(over 8) and adults alike. The little kiddies had their own slide too.
The kids disco was a bit predictable and young for the older kids Bingo every night and then some kind of in house entertainment provided by the Animation team. Their Ca beret show was hilarious ( I don't know if they get that hammered each time they do it but it was funny). Karaoke and Mr Marhaba were so so, if you like that sort of thing.
My worst points were the amount of smoking, especially in the bar area which seemed to have very little extraction, I felt like I was passively smoking 20 a night.
The other was the other guests, It really is no surprise half the world hates the British, if half the people who stayed here are our representatives. Loud, untidy, wasteful and rude, having said that I thought the same when I went to Lanzarote so I don't think it had much to do with the hotel apart from that the bargain prices probably attracted them here.
If are not too fussed about the decor being spot on and having a 5 star range of food and drink I'd say give this place a go, it was in a great location for the beach, lots to do if you want it, gym indoor pool, Boules,darts, table tennis, pool, air hockey, aerobics football, tennis.
BEWARE do not go here if you do not walk well, there a lots of steep uneven steps and paths.

Room Tip: Not for those mobility problems or non smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edholcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#7 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marhaba

Property: Hotel Marhaba
Address: 2011 Boulevard 14 Janvier | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Marhaba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 734
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classe 4 etoiles et faisant parti du Marhaba Resorts, reference par la prestigieuse chaine Marhaba Hotels, le Marhaba Club est entierement dedie a anticiper vos besoins et satisfaire vos attentes. Situe au coeur de la zone touristique de la ville de Sousse, a : 10 mn du centre ville de Sousse, 10 mn du Port el Kantaoui et du terrain de Golf, 20 minutes de l'aeroport de Skanes-Monastir, 40 minutes de l'aeroport d'Enfidha et a 90 minutes de l'aeroport de Tunis-Carthage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing