We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”
Review of Hotel Marhaba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marhaba
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed April 20, 2011

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by friendly staff. The porter who took our cases to our room for a £1. The reception staff were all very kind and helpful. I travelled with my teenage son, and after we read reviews were very worried about what our room would be like. Worried for nothing, our room was spacious, clean and the linen and towels smelt lovely and fresh. The room was cleaned everyday and our maid was lovely. The hotel reception and surroundings seemed very plush. The gardens and pool area was surrounded by palm trees, making it seem very exotic. The beach was white sand and lovely blue sea, although too cold to swim in. We stayed by the pool. The animation team made sure we were entertained throughout the day and in the evening. They were a lovely bunch of lads who worked extremely hard. Especially Willy. The restaurant we very clean and comfortable. The food was very nice, always lots of different choices. They catered for everybody. Our waiter Abdullah couldnt do enough for us. We didnt want to come home and are already saving for our next trip back. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    317
    163
    64
    79
See reviews for
373
289
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Went with an open mind having read the reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. First room was directly above the bar but they were happy to let us move to a quieter part on the second day.
Reception staff were a bit off handed but the concierge was very helpful.
The bars and waiting staff were very pleasant, the chefs made extra efforts to please too, especially the pancake man who made treats for the kids.
Rooms were basic but clean and no dodgy smells ( as I had read about )
We were able to get good sleep and were not unduly disturbed during the night.
The gardens were lovely( could do with a tidy up here and there but they seemed to be working on that.)
The pools were clean but a bit chilly, the flumes were fantastic fun for kids(over 8) and adults alike. The little kiddies had their own slide too.
The kids disco was a bit predictable and young for the older kids Bingo every night and then some kind of in house entertainment provided by the Animation team. Their Ca beret show was hilarious ( I don't know if they get that hammered each time they do it but it was funny). Karaoke and Mr Marhaba were so so, if you like that sort of thing.
My worst points were the amount of smoking, especially in the bar area which seemed to have very little extraction, I felt like I was passively smoking 20 a night.
The other was the other guests, It really is no surprise half the world hates the British, if half the people who stayed here are our representatives. Loud, untidy, wasteful and rude, having said that I thought the same when I went to Lanzarote so I don't think it had much to do with the hotel apart from that the bargain prices probably attracted them here.
If are not too fussed about the decor being spot on and having a 5 star range of food and drink I'd say give this place a go, it was in a great location for the beach, lots to do if you want it, gym indoor pool, Boules,darts, table tennis, pool, air hockey, aerobics football, tennis.
BEWARE do not go here if you do not walk well, there a lots of steep uneven steps and paths.

Room Tip: Not for those mobility problems or non smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edholcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

After reading the reviews we were dreading going here, after booking a very cheap holiday for 1 week. On arrival we were welcomed and taken to our room, which was very clean, spacious, overlooked the pool & sea. The choice of food & the quality were far above our expectations, they never ran short e.g. if you wanted chips they were there all through the meal times. Pizza, omelette/fried eggs, crepe/pancake stations. We never had to queue for food at any time, but in the high season can imagine this to be so. Drinks were not skimped on and there was only one night we had to wait about 20 mins wine was of a good quality even the rose.
The only down side was the bed it was low and very very hard but soon remedied. Overall this was a very good holiday and would recommend, we have paid twice as much to go in 4 star hotels and the food/drinks/service have not been as good as we received here. It is also on the beach.
We were advised not to go into the Medina and other places but we did walk into Sousse along the beach which is a very pleasant walk. Weather was mixed but no rain during the day having said that you cannot do anything about this - we still came away with a good tan.
It even had a squash court that they charged 5 Dinar for which is very cheap and they had plenty of tennis courts. The spa was good and the gym is well equipped.
NO FLIES AT ALL.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACDC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

When first arriving at the hotel, the first thing that me and my partner noticed was the front of the hotel. Pictures in the brochure did not show it like this, which we thought looked like a prison from the front. Looks like bars on the windows, not very appealing.

The lobby was very clean and the staff were all very friendly and provided a good service. When being shown to our rooms we noticed that the hotel looked very shabby. A few windows smashed, wires hanging out of the walls and stains all over the carpets.

Our room was situated on the top floor which we did not mind as this is what we requested. However, the lift was not working during the week we were there which was not conveniant lugging two suitcases up 3 floors of steps.

Our rooms was basic (with single beds!), but very clean. We had our sheets changed everyday with clean new towels everyday. The food was very good. We have previously stayed in Turkey were the food was always the same (pasta, pizza, chips), the food had a lot more variety than this! Every night was different with a lot of choice.

All the staff were very friendly and very helpful. As we were staying before the season had started, the only problem we had was that there was nothing to do. The whole week we were there there was only one night with entertainment, which was our best night.

Our last night was by far the worst. 2am in the morning a group of local men (teenage boys?) were in the room next to us shouting and screaming. It also sounded like they were moving furniture around, jumping in pool etc. Had no consideration what so ever for any other guests. We did not get any sleep until about 4am and were getting up at 5am the next morning to go home. Not happy at all.

Apart from what i have stated, it was an ok holiday. Nice weather and nice to relax around the pool. Dont think i would recommend this holiday to anyone who enjoys being active as there isnt much to do.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minxy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

When we arrived the initial reception area was clean. However as we were being shown to our rooms, we noticed the shabby decoration in the corridors. Our room was very shabby, there were stains on the furniture, the chairs were broken, and our bedding had hairs in it. I went to reception to complain. The staff weren't very helpful and didn't offer us a room change, if I had paid the full rate to the holiday I would have demanded a different room. There were cockroaches and there was rubbish laying around all week. The bar well you had to wait hours for a drink, and quite often they ran out of glasses so we had to make do with plastic cups. The food was ok but quite often cold, and the chicken was under cooked.

The location and beech was good, but the travel rep advised us not to go into the Madina offering us a paid trip to the recommended market, we went into the Madena and didn't find it at all intimidating.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blonndemadwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

It was my second time in Tunisia, but this time a nightmare because of the hotel. The bed sheets smelled very bad, also when we let them change. The towels were dirty with old blood stains, also after they change it. We needed to buy new one for stay. And the worse for me was the cockroach in our bathroom and in public hotel toilets! Unfortunately friends of mine staying in another room in the same hotel had the same experience. And finally air conditionning didn't work properly in our room there have been plenty of water in the room while using it. They repaired it during our stay. In our friend's room, while using air conditionning, the room smelled very bad. But they wouldn't change room anymore cause they have had alreday change because of ants!
The food tasted OK, although my boyfriend didn't like it.
Reagarding sleep,we had the room with road view and it was a little bit noisy, but it was still possible to have a sleep.
The receptionist quite rude if you didn't pay him some tips. I definitely do not recommend this hotel because it's dirty.
English is not my first language, so I'm sorry for eventual mistakes.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north devon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

It does what it says on the tin! Half term was brill something for all the family. Fresh food cooked everyday. Animation team very friendly and funny - Butlins abroad! Basic room but very clean. Hotel is a bit shabby in areas. We were on the ground floor so not too far to walk. The other hotels in the chain are of a superior qualiy but you can use their facilities. Beach has security which was great for my teenage girls as you can get hassled a lot!!! Tunisia outside the resort is a bit smelly and they do proposition females!!! The weather was good but sun goes down quite early which was disappointng. We met lots of lovely people who made our holiday. During the summer I can imagine it can be a bit busy for food and drinks.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthDevonWhitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marhaba

Property: Hotel Marhaba
Address: 2011 Boulevard 14 Janvier | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Marhaba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 734
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classe 4 etoiles et faisant parti du Marhaba Resorts, reference par la prestigieuse chaine Marhaba Hotels, le Marhaba Club est entierement dedie a anticiper vos besoins et satisfaire vos attentes. Situe au coeur de la zone touristique de la ville de Sousse, a : 10 mn du centre ville de Sousse, 10 mn du Port el Kantaoui et du terrain de Golf, 20 minutes de l'aeroport de Skanes-Monastir, 40 minutes de l'aeroport d'Enfidha et a 90 minutes de l'aeroport de Tunis-Carthage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing