We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not matching Movenpick brand image”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very poor service with so many mistakes at different levels (reception, restaurant, bars…). It’s a mess and a shame for a well-known Swiss brand like Movenpick.

This hotel would be great place to be if managed otherwise: great facilities, very nice location, wonderful beach, many restaurants and bars…: the real issue is the very poor service and the way how client relationship is managed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnouarBYZurich2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 2,340 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Despite nice location and great facilities (pools, restaurants and wonderful beach), Movenpick Sousse is simply horrible: do not worth the money we pay (250 EUR/room), do not worth 5stars and it's a shame to have it under great Swiss brand of Movenpick!

Few examples to illustrate why:

- Horrible reception: waiting for 1 hour 15 min to get our room at 4:15 PM! Very poor and not friendly communication until one manager has been contacted

- House keeping: room cleaning requested from 10:30 to 7:00 PM: room was not done until we contacted reception for the 3rd time!

- Horrible service at all restaurants and bars: not professional at all, do not know how to communicate with clients, orders came very late and frequently wrong...

- Managers not looking after clients and not visible around!

- Restaurants: bad quality not matching 5 stars/ brand name and do not match the money we pay for (only exception Tapyniaki restaurant)

- Air conditioning: not working

- Mini bar: not re-filled automatically

- Parking: only 50 places for 800 rooms!

The above feedback is based in our stay, with my wife and son, on August 2013 ( we stayed before during winter season and was not good neither: I thought it will be better during high season!)

I highly recommend to avoid this hotel when you plan vacation in Tunisia: it does not reflect the quality of hotel industry in Tunisia ( you can have much better for less money...

I know very well the other hotel Movenpick in Tunisia (in Gammarth) : it has nothing to do with Sousse one and it's from far much better

Room Tip: The best tip I can give is to not book at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chadlia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hi All,

Family here from Belfast, Ireland. We stayed for the 3rd time at the Movenpick Sousse from 06/07-20/07 and had a really wonderful and relaxing time - which can be hard doing when our boys are only 4 and 7!!

Still a great and friendly hotel and staff/managers could not do enough to help. Big thanks as usual to the General Manager (Peter Shoenberger) and his usual attention to details and talking to guests. Also thanks to Amed (Concierge) who helped me and also Mohammed (Manager of Beach Levant Restaurant) and our room cleaner (Hamen I think).

Great facilities, food, swimming pools and lovely sea/beach right beside the hotel. We were B&B but has dinner most nights as well at the main buffet restaurant and drinks in the many bars afterwards. All great and very varied and tasting.

God willing.....................hope to be back next year.

Brian Murtagh and family from Belfast, Northern Ireland

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will have views to pools and sea; and will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianm39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel it is stunning. The hotel is beautiful it is kept very clean all the time. The service is excellent, food is excellent the staff all around the hotel were friendly and could not do enough for the guests. Totally relaxing could not fault any part of our holiday. The staff and locals around the hotel welcoming, very friendly, always happy and will do anything and everything for you. Would highly recommend this hotel and we are already booking to go again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LisaYoung_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaknine, Responsable relations publiques at Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing the time to review and comment your experience at the Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your encouragements are much appreciated and we wish to reassure you that no effort will be spared to maintain our quality of service at a level that meets the expectations of our discerning guests.

We thank you again for your kindness and look forward to welcoming you again at our property.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Maknine
Assistant Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel looks fantastic and there are many great elements to it, including its position right by the sea, the three pools, the kids' club, and the food, especially in the Japanese and Spanish restaurants was very good (though I agree with those who say that there are not enough staff on duty to clear tables etc.) But appearances can be deceptive and the devil is in the detail. Staff on the check-in desk should learn to smile - the one who greeted us was almost surly. Water pressure in our bathroom was poor so showers were a hit and miss affair. The hotel seemed to run out of ice cream before lunch every day. There was sand in the pools. These may seem minor points but this is an expensive five star hotel. I expect better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaknine, Responsable relations publiques at Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing the time to review and comment your experience at the Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse.

We are glad to hear that you globally enjoyed your stay, even though you are very right when you say that the devil lies in the smallest of details. We sincerely apologise for these shortcomings, all of which have been relayed to both our General Manager and the heads of departments concerned. We wish to reassure you that no effort will be spared to correct these issues and maintain our quality of service at a level that meets the expectations of our discerning guests.

We apologise again for the inconvenience. We thank you for your kindness and look forward to welcoming you again in our property.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Maknine
Assistant Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Typical Moevenpick high Class Beachhotel in Sousse, with a very friendly Service Staff there. As our Friends have been there already last Year, we followed their Advice and went also there. Friendly Check In and they also speak good english there.
The very good thing there was the Breakfast Choices and especially the good Coffee. Friendly Staff there too. Also we have to say, that there was a nice and friendly Atmosphere and we could relax good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WesternsunDOS00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaknine, Responsable relations publiques at Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing the time to review and comment your experience at the Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your encouragements are much appreciated and we wish to reassure you that no effort will be spared to maintain our quality of service at a level that meets the expectations of our discerning guests.

We thank you again for your kindness and look forward to welcoming you again at our property.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Maknine
Assistant Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of august. Unfortunately I have more negatives than positives to say about the hotel.

The good part: The hotel is very nice looking and probably the best looking in Sousse. The hotel was clean.

The bad part: I expected more from dinner. They have teenagers cooking fresh food with no cooking skills. The pizza was always burnt, the meat was always so hard, the dinner was repetitive every single night, not even a slight change. If you don't ask them directly they wont serve you drinks for dinner only occasionally. They barely had cutlery at the table when you started dinner. Just the overall service of the hotel is bad. Unless your constantly tipping then you will get service, so be prepared to walk around with your wallet every day.

If your a young couple forget about entertainment. They only have a guy singing every single night on the terrace. There is nothing to do there at night. Most people stare into their phones all night. Only go in groups if you want to have fun.The pools had sand in them, no one bothered to clean that every night. Overall when I book a five star hotel I expect service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petey349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaknine, Responsable relations publiques at Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your precious feedback and for taking the time to post your comments.

We regret learning that we unfortunately could not meet your expectations. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences which you experienced during your last stay with us; these occurrences definitely do not reflect the standards you are to expect from a Mövenpick hotel. Your comments about food at the buffet restaurant have been relayed to both our Executive Chef and to the Food & Beverage Manager. Our pools are cleaned and sand is hoovered every day. In times of high occupancy however, it is normal to see sand accumulate throughout the day as guests come and go between the beach and pool areas. This is unfortunately a time when maintenance cannot be carried out, and we have to wait for the evening. We are sorry if you felt the pool was lacking cleanliness. Should you wish to discuss these issues in further details, please feel free to contact our management directly.

As a management team, we truly take your comments seriously and share them with our associates, so we may resolve any and all issues. Please rest assured that we will do our outmost in order to avoid a similar situation from happening again.

Again thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Maknine
Assistant Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.6 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marhaba Beach
Hotel Marhaba Beach
#4 of 36 in Sousse
2,325 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#7 of 36 in Sousse
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 36 in Sousse
1,685 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#3 of 36 in Sousse
1,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#20 of 36 in Sousse
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse

Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
#2 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#3 Family Hotel in Sousse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: $77 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION The Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse is located at the entertainment heart of Sousse, and just minutes away from the city centre. Opened in April 2010, this luxury 5 star resort is the first International chain resort in the city of Sousse. The hotel comprises of 618 rooms and suites of various categories. Sousse is Tunisia’s third largest city, and an important industrial and commercial centre on the eastern coast. Sousse is located 135 km south of Tunis, 20 km north of Monastir airport, and just 40 km south of Enfidha airport. In addition to being the Sahel region’s economic heart, Sousse is also a major tourist resort area, offering a wide choice of restaurant and entertainment options. ACCOMMODATION A total of 618 rooms and suites, well equipped with flat screen LCD TV, direct dial telephones, mini bars, safe deposit boxes, coffee and tea-making facilities and individually controllable air conditioning and heating. All rooms are granted free access to the underground car park, the gym and the outdoor swimming pools. Non-smoking rooms are available, as well as connecting rooms for families with children. Two rooms are customized for the disabled. The top floor is also known as the Executive floor, offering complimentary Internet access and other services for the discerning business guest. DINING & ENTERTAINMENT The Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse offers a diversity of cuisines from around the world to tantalize your taste buds; enjoy show cooking and international buffets at Mosaique, indulge in Sushi and Teppanyaki from Japan at Sendai, sample authentic Spanish cuisine at Tapeo or enjoy a Mediterranean culinary experience at La Villa. And if it’s grill you favour, the Levant Grill & Jacuzzi is the ideal place to dine by the water’s edge. Watch the sun go down with a drink from a variety of bars such as the Breeze or First. Aga Cafe takes you back to the glorious days of the Ottoman Empire. And for a more lively end to the day, La Villa offers different atmospheres, ranging from the brandy and cigars of the Chimney Bar to the eased back elegance of the Onyx Lounge. SPORT & LEISURE With its 300-metre long sandy beach and a watersports base offering hobiecat sailboats, parascending and windsurfing, the Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse is the ideal sports and leisure resort. Other sport and leisure facilities also include beach volleyball, table tennis, sauna and fitness training. For golf enthusiasts, El Kantaoui golf course offers an 18-hole golf course in the immediate vicinity. A scuba diving club is also located nearby. Other amenities in the hotel include three outdoor swimming pools, one indoor/outdoor pool at the Marine Spa, the VIKs’ (Very Important Kids) house, a beauty salon, a boutique and business services. MARINE SPA Marine Spa is our unique interpretation of wellbeing: a full thalassotherapy centre combined with a large array of Spa treatments. Marine Spa welcomes both hotel and outside guests from 10.00 am till 10.00 pm daily, offering them a unique concept that gives its true meaning to wellness. Harnessing the power of natural marine ingredients, together with the latest innovations in product and treatment technology, we offer a complete package for all your spa and wellness needs. Under the guidance of our expert Spa therapists, we encourage our guests to actively participate in the selection and creation of a personalised spa programme. MEETINGS & EVENTS Perfection is our passion and Swiss hospitality our heritage. Movenpick Meetings & Events offers professional event management encapsulating the highest quality standards, creative cuisine and qualified, friendly service. You will find in Sousse this subtle alliance of efficiency and inspiration, of modernity and functionality, in each of our five meeting spaces. We offer one 629 sqm ballroom and four meeting rooms with daylight. All include state-of-the-art equipment and can be set up in a variety of styles. Need anything on the fly? Our dedicated Meetings & Events Concierge is there to cater for your needs and to ensure that your event is running smoothly. This enables you to focus your full attention on your meeting or event. Our excellent quality programme, Movenpick Meeting & Events, creates the optimal conditions to ensure that your meeting, banquet or business event will be a complete success. Your personal contact partner will take over the entire organization for you, ensuring highest quality service and attending to the individual needs of your guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Marine Spa Sousse
Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse Hotel Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing