We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We enjoyed a week at this hotel and had a fantastic time. Unlike many hotels, this resort really is 5*! The service was brilliant, particularly the friendly guy with the sun hat that brings you drinks by the pool throughout the day. He always has a huge smile on his face and remembers what you like to drink! The lifeguards around the pool and beach area are also lovely and help you with anything. We stayed all-inclusive and would definitely recommend. The variety of fresh juices and cocktails are great and the food is also very good. From my experience of staying in hotels around the world the only thing nice that you can count on is the breakfast but in this hotel breakfast, lunch and dinner was really good and there was a wide variety of options. Anything from pizza, pasta and paninis to tuna steak, fresh fish and tapas, and much more.The hotel itself is beautiful, it looks just like it does in the photos, if not better! We had a standard room and it was clean and spacious, with a mini bar and kettle. We went end of July/ August so everything was open e.g. beach bar (where you can get endless ice creams and great snack food) so would also recommend going during the summer season. The variety of water sports on the beach is also worth a mention, great fun and good prices. Overall this resort is excellent and I would recommend it to anyone going to Tunisia who are looking for a luxury hotel to chill out and enjoy the pool and beach. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 2,240 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay already for the third time and as always it was excellent. Despite the Ramadan time and full hotel the staff was very helpful and friendly. Nice music entertainment in the evening on the big terrace :-)

Room Tip: room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jiri2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

When we arrived , we were welcomed with drinks and cold towels. We booked a double no-view room, but we got an upgrade when we got there to a semi sea-view. The staff was friendly, the food was good ( kinda repetitive). Be prepared to tip. We were told that in Tunis people live from the tips they are given, so if you want to be treated nicely, tip. The rooms were clean, nice and tidy. The pool area was also pretty nice. There is no entertainment, so it's pretty quiet in the night, although you are kept pretty entertained by the loud music from the hotel next door, which stops at about 10:30- 11:00. Overall, it was a nice experience
P.S If you go there, try the spa. It's truly amazing there

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victorvilsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I had been staying in this hotel for a week in the beginning of July 2013. Everything looked very nice and I have a positive opinion in general.
I was looking for a relaxation and choosed a right place for this. Would like to mention Marine Spa int he hotel with its different treatment programms for any age and requirments. My therapist was the best i'd ever had. After 4 sessions of treatments and massage with Hamza I felt as I was born again. The pain in my back had dissapeared somewhere and slimming massage that he did as well DIDN"T leave any bruises on the body despite of my expectation. I was totaly agree with other guests who had experinced his talant that his arms are made of gold :)
About others. The room was good but very cold. Tiles on the floor and no slippers in the room (maybe only mine :)) Be careful and ecpesially with small children - there is only one small "carpet" that doesn't make any sense at all. The amenities in bathroom were not replenished.
Mini bar is for charge except one bottle of water/a day, that sometimes wasn't replenished either.
Restaurant. It's very subjective and depends on what you like but I disliked it. I could go around 2-3 times before I found something to eat. Can give a big plus to fruit table, ice-cream, sweet table and cheese (if you have dinner after 8 don't count to find it, it will be over).
The waiters in restaurnt are not in hurry and may forget about you.
I didn't pay my attention to this little minuses. The hotel is good but I gave a rate 4 only because of its SPA and the therapists. Otherwise it would be only 3.
Do not be sorry if you have made a reservation, your holidays depend only on you and your mood. Be positive and everything will look positive in your eyes. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very nice hotel. Very big problem the lack of internet access specially if you are business visitor.
NO WAY TO WORK. At everytime, internet access was denied because of "too many users online"
I will not go again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here in July for a week long pool/beach break.
Arrived about 1am. Greeting was lukewarm, no drink offered and they insisted on us filling in detailed registration forms despite the late hour (surely this could have been done the next morning).
Booked a pool view room which had a lovely view of pool/terrace and beach. Not sure why people pay for a sea view room as we had a good view of the sea from our room. All the rooms have a good size balcony to sit out on too which isn’t all that clear on the websites. There are rooms facing onto the road and outer sides of the hotel and I would only imagine them as being noisier due to traffic etc.
Our room was spacious and kept clean with good facilities. Wi Fi is a room option about £20 per computer per week but free in the lobby /restaurants/pool area so we didn’t bother. Flatscreen TV with some English channels
We went on an all-inclusive deal and you have to wear a rather cheap looking plastic bracelet which you could not remove at any time. This hotel purports to be a five star luxury upmarket resort but this feature rather cheapens the experience.
The pool area is great the pools are very clean with a heated seawater one and a huge freshwater pool both with Jacuzzi areas. Large kids pool which was very quiet during our visit (most families were around the other pools. We didn’t use the beach but it looked nice if you prefer the beach experience. There was never any problem with finding sun loungers which were plentiful and they are good quality wooden ones with heavily padded covers. The only problem we saw was the pool overflow plastic covers giving way on two occasions resulting in people falling into the drain area but this was attended to by maintenance crews very promptly.
So far so good but whilst the building and facilities are very nice, in our view the hotel does have some major problems when it comes to food and service. The AI was run as per many hotels on a self-serve buffet basis with a limited choice of drinks.
Breakfast was good generally, with a sit anywhere policy but weirdly they had a number of female staff who would sometimes guide you to a table, walking past a number of unoccupied tables getting further and further away from the buffet. This policy was repeated at lunchtime with some guests being allowed to find a table and others being guided. There was no consistency at all. Having been allocated or having found your own table it was then very much a matter of luck as to how long you’d have to wait for a waiter to take your order for drinks and then having done so it took a ridiculous amount of time for them to be delivered. This was particularly poor at lunchtime where thirsty holidaymakers coming inside from the sun would be trying to eat but still be waiting for drinks 20 minutes after arriving. In addition it was the norm that there was a distinct lack of cutlery on the tables resulting in guests having to chase up the waiters yet again.
In the evening you had to choose one of two sittings 6.30 to 8 or 8.30 to 10 for the duration of your stay and you were allocated a table for your stay but even then we found insufficient cutlery glasses etc on our arrival every evening. It seemed that there were insufficient waiting staff and too many supervisors/table guides and we witnessed a number of ‘frank discussions’ between the waiters and supervisors who were often having to help out in clearing the tables/serving drinks etc. It was definitely a case of confusion reigns for much of the time
Food quality overall is in my view only average. Whilst we understand that in catering to the masses that it is not realistic to cater to all of the people all of the time but we found the food was repetitive with no real difference between lunch and supper. No themed night at all and some dishes were not always as hot as they could have been but on a positive note there were never any queues around the buffet.
As part of the AI deal you can eat at the ‘a la carte ‘ restaurants as often as you can book them but you have to book 24 hrs in advance. They weren’t exactly busy when we used them. The Levante grill was at best just ok with its location (outdoors on the beachfront) being its main appeal.
The tapas restaurant visit can only be described as very poor. Tapas starter dishes were very average, not as described on the menu and the main paella dishes up there with the one of the worst main dishes we have ever been presented with. We simply could not eat them. Suffice to say that had I been in the UK I would not have been paying!
Both my wife and I suffered stomach upsets during our stay, twice for me! (We have travelled extensively and never experienced this before and clearly I cannot attribute this to any particular cause but it’s something to consider)
With regards to the staff, well here again there are serious shortcomings. We found the pool crew generally good, Kamil, Biel and the others were helpful but again given the number of guests around the pool area they seemed rather indifferent about offering drinks and in the main the offers for drinks stopped after lunch. Again we got the impression that they seemed understaffed based on visits to other hotels of similar quality . Another disappointment was the way drinks were served poolside. Again no consistency in drink size or choice and serving drinks including in disposable cheap white plastic cups (think children’s party) detracted from the overall experience of the resort.
I have already mentioned the staff in the main buffet restaurant but problems existed in the lobby bars where soft drinks often lacked chilling and fizz and orders were slow to be taken, also forgotten about and drinks served in dirty glasses.
However a big thumbs up to the tall thin security guard (I think his name was Mohammed) who was working on the terrace and always opened the door with a friendly smile.
Interestingly on our final night it seemed that things had been happening behind the scenes in the buffet as we were greeted on arrival, our table was correctly laid out and there was an increase in choice of food and as we left I was clapped on the back and asked if we enjoyed our meal. We had on the previous days noticed some senior type personnel in the restaurant so it was clear that things were not all well during our stay. Whilst I understand the low wages paid I still maintain that tips should be earned and not given in expectation of good service which should come as standard.
So an impressive building with good facilities and if you walked in off the street you’d think ‘wow’ but let down by its food and staff training (not all staff) and we won’t be returning.

Room Tip: pool view rooms good views but be aware of live music in the evening up to 11/12 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Snifferoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaknine, Responsable relations publiques at Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your precious feedback and for taking the time to post your comments.

We regret learning that we unfortunately could not meet your expectations. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences which you experienced during your last stay with us; these occurrences definitely do not reflect the standards you are to expect from a Mövenpick hotel.

Just a few points that need clarifying, if you’ll allow us to. If as you say you cannot clearly ascertain the origin of your stomach ache, was it really worth mentioning it? We take food and beverage safety very seriously, work according to international standards and HACCP procedures, and this is also confirmed by regular health & safety checks conducted by Tour Operators. While we acknowledge that there is no such thing as zero risk, we feel that mentioning this in the way you did can only cast a doubt among other readers, which is in our view not the philosophy of objective feedback that Tripadvisor was built on.

The “cheap” plastic band one has to wear at all times is unfortunately the only way one can operate multiple meal plans in a hotel offering all inclusive, and is widely used by hotels, both here and abroad. The other solution we have considered involves relying on the room keycard, a solution which may not be welcomed by all guests, especially around the beach and pool areas. At any rate, we are sorry if you felt this cheapened your experience.

As for the cheap white plastic cups used around the pool, they are indeed made of some sort of plastic (polycarbonate to be precise). While not as elegant as glass cups and crystal glasses, our procedures call for their use for safety reasons, as using glassware could be dangerous in areas as slippery as a pool can be. We do not want to close a whole pool in the middle of the day in order to clean out broken glass bits, as this would affect the comfort of our guests. Again, we are sorry if you felt this cheapened your experience.

As for the operations problems, mainly in the Mosaïque restaurant, there have been a certain number of issues shortly before and during your stay. We are aware of them and have immediately taken the necessary corrective measures. We have also taken up the subject of menu variety with our Chef for swift action.

Thank you for pointing these issues out and, again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused. As a management team, we truly take your comments seriously and share them with our associates, so we may resolve any issuesarising. Please rest assured that we will do our outmost in order to avoid a similar situation from happening again.

Again thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Maknine
Assistant Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Poor service, same as in Egypt stuff pickibg you up. The food is ok, pool/beach and location are good. Unhospital ladies in the reception. In general- there are better countries to visit. Even on the border in the airport they are arogant. Never back again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayoucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sousse
0.6 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#8 of 35 in Sousse
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#13 of 35 in Sousse
1,606 reviews
4.6 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse

Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#4 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: $81 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION The Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse is located at the entertainment heart of Sousse, and just minutes away from the city centre. Opened in April 2010, this luxury 5 star resort is the first International chain resort in the city of Sousse. The hotel comprises of 618 rooms and suites of various categories. Sousse is Tunisia’s third largest city, and an important industrial and commercial centre on the eastern coast. Sousse is located 135 km south of Tunis, 20 km north of Monastir airport, and just 40 km south of Enfidha airport. In addition to being the Sahel region’s economic heart, Sousse is also a major tourist resort area, offering a wide choice of restaurant and entertainment options. ACCOMMODATION A total of 618 rooms and suites, well equipped with flat screen LCD TV, direct dial telephones, mini bars, safe deposit boxes, coffee and tea-making facilities and individually controllable air conditioning and heating. All rooms are granted free access to the underground car park, the gym and the outdoor swimming pools. Non-smoking rooms are available, as well as connecting rooms for families with children. Two rooms are customized for the disabled. The top floor is also known as the Executive floor, offering complimentary Internet access and other services for the discerning business guest. DINING & ENTERTAINMENT The Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse offers a diversity of cuisines from around the world to tantalize your taste buds; enjoy show cooking and international buffets at Mosaique, indulge in Sushi and Teppanyaki from Japan at Sendai, sample authentic Spanish cuisine at Tapeo or enjoy a Mediterranean culinary experience at La Villa. And if it’s grill you favour, the Levant Grill & Jacuzzi is the ideal place to dine by the water’s edge. Watch the sun go down with a drink from a variety of bars such as the Breeze or First. Aga Cafe takes you back to the glorious days of the Ottoman Empire. And for a more lively end to the day, La Villa offers different atmospheres, ranging from the brandy and cigars of the Chimney Bar to the eased back elegance of the Onyx Lounge. SPORT & LEISURE With its 300-metre long sandy beach and a watersports base offering hobiecat sailboats, parascending and windsurfing, the Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse is the ideal sports and leisure resort. Other sport and leisure facilities also include beach volleyball, table tennis, sauna and fitness training. For golf enthusiasts, El Kantaoui golf course offers an 18-hole golf course in the immediate vicinity. A scuba diving club is also located nearby. Other amenities in the hotel include three outdoor swimming pools, one indoor/outdoor pool at the Marine Spa, the VIKs’ (Very Important Kids) house, a beauty salon, a boutique and business services. MARINE SPA Marine Spa is our unique interpretation of wellbeing: a full thalassotherapy centre combined with a large array of Spa treatments. Marine Spa welcomes both hotel and outside guests from 10.00 am till 10.00 pm daily, offering them a unique concept that gives its true meaning to wellness. Harnessing the power of natural marine ingredients, together with the latest innovations in product and treatment technology, we offer a complete package for all your spa and wellness needs. Under the guidance of our expert Spa therapists, we encourage our guests to actively participate in the selection and creation of a personalised spa programme. MEETINGS & EVENTS Perfection is our passion and Swiss hospitality our heritage. Movenpick Meetings & Events offers professional event management encapsulating the highest quality standards, creative cuisine and qualified, friendly service. You will find in Sousse this subtle alliance of efficiency and inspiration, of modernity and functionality, in each of our five meeting spaces. We offer one 629 sqm ballroom and four meeting rooms with daylight. All include state-of-the-art equipment and can be set up in a variety of styles. Need anything on the fly? Our dedicated Meetings & Events Concierge is there to cater for your needs and to ensure that your event is running smoothly. This enables you to focus your full attention on your meeting or event. Our excellent quality programme, Movenpick Meeting & Events, creates the optimal conditions to ensure that your meeting, banquet or business event will be a complete success. Your personal contact partner will take over the entire organization for you, ensuring highest quality service and attending to the individual needs of your guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse Hotel Sousse
Moevenpick Resort And Marine Spa Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing