We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge hotel on sea front”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed 3 nights from 17 June.

A giant (600+ rooms) hotel situated on the coast about 2 kms from the railway station where I arrived by train from Tunis (journey 100 minutes and fare DT 10). Though walkable, a taxi costs just DT 3 to the hotel.

Monolithic in appearance from the street, it has a lovely marble floor entrance hall like you find in many upmarket Tunisian hotels. This entry level is 3 on the scale inside the lifts. Easy to press 1 and not find yourself back at Reception!

I arrived late afternoon. Check in was friendly though a bit bureaucratic. They could not verify online my Amex card so I had to fill in a form by hand undertaking to pay. On checking out, that card was refused 3 times on line and I had to insist that a Manager got individual authorisation which he did of course get from Amex, but a bit embarassing nonetheless.

The hotel has a massive fresh water pool (about 150 metres in circumference) which it was a pleasure to swim in. there is a smaller salt water pool and, of course, a stretch of private beach and direct access to (rather choppy) sea. so I preferred the pool.

The hotel has a conference centre attached and a large event was going on while I was there.

There are several restaurants in the hotel. i much enjoyed the Japanese teppanyaki one but found La Villa over formal and below average value for money.

my room 5048 overlooked the pools and, like most rooms, had a small balcony. there was a very large comfortable bed and sofa. the bathroom had bath with integral shower. as an older visitor I had to be careful not to slip when standing in the bath. fair range of shampoo etc but no wash cloths. towels changed daily.

The room guide says there is Business Centre but it has not got one! you can borrow a laptop with wifi access but to print you have to email to reception's email address for them to print. WIFI in rooms is chargeable but free in Reception area. i found the connection unreliable and no good for POP3 access to my mailboxes.

Breakfast seems to be included in all room rates. You simply go down to Level 1 Mosaic room. This is very large with lots of buffet choices. got very busy. Staff struggled, without trolleys, to keep tables cleared and relaid..Jugs of fresh strawberry and kiwi fruit juices were delicious.

The hotel was not full by any means and I would guess half the rooms were empty. quite a few fellow Brits but few French. staff clearly enjoyed using their English. some youngsters said English more useful now than French in this former French colony.

Overall, some weaknesses but a very good hotel. i would use again if visiting Sousse again.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up looking towards sea
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,194)
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 2,194 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

The movenpick was a fantastic hotel and I would always recommend it to the people who ask me. It's miles and miles better then the average 4 star hotel. Where do I start you sleep in the kids club the staff are the best staff in the world please go and try it out its brilliant.

Room Tip: There all great
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

When you first pull up to the hotel you realise just how big it is. Normally I would tend to favour a smaller hotel when the trip is for just a week since time is too short to wander around trying to find everything.
Although the moeventpick is large the amenities are easily found and to help the hotel provides a simple map to guide you to the many restaurants and other key locations.
The hotel is located on a lovely beach and also offers great swimming pools both fresh and sea water. The guys at the pool (kamel and saba especially) work hard to ensure you are looked after by bringing a steady flow of drinks and ensuring you have sun loungers and fresh towels everyday. Advice, tip the guys early on with 10 or so dirriams. They earn every part of it and are proud that they have made your stay perfect and to present their hotel in the best light.
The room was immaculate (pool and sea view no. 4042) and also benefits from the hotel being relatively new (built approx 5 years). The bed was super comfy and you can select various pillow types to suit your personal preference. The cleaning staff specifically akhmed, kept the room immaculate and added some very nice personal touches such as leaving flowers in the room.
Overall the hotel and staff (very welcoming and warm Rami in tapas restaurant) provided a perfect weeks break. The food and drinks were excellent for an all inclusive deal although through my own choice I sometimes opted to pay extra for different foods and drinks.
The biggest question at the end of a break is would you come back and recommend it to friends? This is easy... A big YES to both..

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisJTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We thought the hotel was very good nice rooms the pools and the beach well laid out. The service from start to finish is great. The only disappointment was food on offer in the self service dining room we were expecting more choice for our English taste breakfast was very limited.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent a gorgeous week at the hotel staying in a comfortable and pleasant room with a sea view. The room was clean and elegant furnished, food delicious and quite diverse every day. The lobby, restaurants, bars and any other room have been designed in a really good taste. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful what additionally made our stay special.

At the hotel, apart from Spa, we found a couple of swimming-pools nice maintained and the beach direct behind the hotel – clean and secured.

This 5-star hotel may be for sure compared to the European hotels of the same standard.

It’s really beautiful and worth seeing place not only once.

N&M

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I still like this hotel, but I didn't like few changes I experienced this time. Problem breakfast: there are two stations where you could order an omelette. It happened not only once, that only one was available and you had to wait in a longer line. There are rush hours, the service was almost running to keep tables clean and laid. Maybe they need more service people? Problem wifi: you have to pay if you like to have it in the room. Fine. I would like to pay for it, but it wasn't available at all, in stairway yes, in the room no. We tried with a wire, but than we got a message, that to many users are logged in. I tried next morning, still the same. Problem coffee machine in the room. It's actually not a problem with the machine, it's a problem with the coffe caps. I had three in my room. After I used them, they weren't filled anymore. I believe, if I call the front desk, they try to help. I just think, it is a high level hotel and I'd appreciate don't need to make this call, so maybe just pay more attention making daily service for things like this. At the same time I had two TV in my suite, which I personally think is a overkill in such small suite, but I believe the management would like to offer most possible comfort. Thank you for this, but don't loose the focus on the small things. The coat at the handrail at the balcony is peeling, it doesn't look nice. Still, I like this hotel, hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molekulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at Moevenpick two years ago and as we planed to visit Tunisia again, there was no question - it has to be Moevenpick. Our disappointment couldn't be bigger as we entered the room. The rooms are run down that much (actually not only the rooms), I just can't imagine what happened in this two years. It was in best of the taste, elegant, it was a pleasure to stay there, but now all the glamour is gone and it is nothing but one of the holiday hotels in Sousse. The sheets are old and not very white, the towels are stiff, the pillows are blotty; Service is as it was in the past, sometimes better, sometimes worse. The breakfast buffet is disappointing. Very, very avarage. Very sorry ...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 0_Aneta_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaknine, Responsable relations publiques at Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your precious feedback and for taking the time to post your comments.

We regret learning that we unfortunately could not meet your expectations. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences which you experienced during your last stay with us; these occurrences definitely do not reflect the standards you are to expect from a Mövenpick hotel. Should you wish to discuss these issues in further details, please feel free to contact our management directly.

Again thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Maknine
Assistant Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sousse
0.6 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#8 of 35 in Sousse
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
982 reviews
4.6 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse

Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
#2 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#4 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: $88 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION The Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse is located at the entertainment heart of Sousse, and just minutes away from the city centre. Opened in April 2010, this luxury 5 star resort is the first International chain resort in the city of Sousse. The hotel comprises of 618 rooms and suites of various categories. Sousse is Tunisia’s third largest city, and an important industrial and commercial centre on the eastern coast. Sousse is located 135 km south of Tunis, 20 km north of Monastir airport, and just 40 km south of Enfidha airport. In addition to being the Sahel region’s economic heart, Sousse is also a major tourist resort area, offering a wide choice of restaurant and entertainment options. ACCOMMODATION A total of 618 rooms and suites, well equipped with flat screen LCD TV, direct dial telephones, mini bars, safe deposit boxes, coffee and tea-making facilities and individually controllable air conditioning and heating. All rooms are granted free access to the underground car park, the gym and the outdoor swimming pools. Non-smoking rooms are available, as well as connecting rooms for families with children. Two rooms are customized for the disabled. The top floor is also known as the Executive floor, offering complimentary Internet access and other services for the discerning business guest. DINING & ENTERTAINMENT The Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse offers a diversity of cuisines from around the world to tantalize your taste buds; enjoy show cooking and international buffets at Mosaique, indulge in Sushi and Teppanyaki from Japan at Sendai, sample authentic Spanish cuisine at Tapeo or enjoy a Mediterranean culinary experience at La Villa. And if it’s grill you favour, the Levant Grill & Jacuzzi is the ideal place to dine by the water’s edge. Watch the sun go down with a drink from a variety of bars such as the Breeze or First. Aga Cafe takes you back to the glorious days of the Ottoman Empire. And for a more lively end to the day, La Villa offers different atmospheres, ranging from the brandy and cigars of the Chimney Bar to the eased back elegance of the Onyx Lounge. SPORT & LEISURE With its 300-metre long sandy beach and a watersports base offering hobiecat sailboats, parascending and windsurfing, the Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse is the ideal sports and leisure resort. Other sport and leisure facilities also include beach volleyball, table tennis, sauna and fitness training. For golf enthusiasts, El Kantaoui golf course offers an 18-hole golf course in the immediate vicinity. A scuba diving club is also located nearby. Other amenities in the hotel include three outdoor swimming pools, one indoor/outdoor pool at the Marine Spa, the VIKs’ (Very Important Kids) house, a beauty salon, a boutique and business services. MARINE SPA Marine Spa is our unique interpretation of wellbeing: a full thalassotherapy centre combined with a large array of Spa treatments. Marine Spa welcomes both hotel and outside guests from 10.00 am till 10.00 pm daily, offering them a unique concept that gives its true meaning to wellness. Harnessing the power of natural marine ingredients, together with the latest innovations in product and treatment technology, we offer a complete package for all your spa and wellness needs. Under the guidance of our expert Spa therapists, we encourage our guests to actively participate in the selection and creation of a personalised spa programme. MEETINGS & EVENTS Perfection is our passion and Swiss hospitality our heritage. Movenpick Meetings & Events offers professional event management encapsulating the highest quality standards, creative cuisine and qualified, friendly service. You will find in Sousse this subtle alliance of efficiency and inspiration, of modernity and functionality, in each of our five meeting spaces. We offer one 629 sqm ballroom and four meeting rooms with daylight. All include state-of-the-art equipment and can be set up in a variety of styles. Need anything on the fly? Our dedicated Meetings & Events Concierge is there to cater for your needs and to ensure that your event is running smoothly. This enables you to focus your full attention on your meeting or event. Our excellent quality programme, Movenpick Meeting & Events, creates the optimal conditions to ensure that your meeting, banquet or business event will be a complete success. Your personal contact partner will take over the entire organization for you, ensuring highest quality service and attending to the individual needs of your guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Marine Spa Sousse
Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse Hotel Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing