We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstairs, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great place to spend a week just before main season (week before Easter week). The hotel was delightfully empty and the staff very relaxed and pleasant. We had one minor cleanliness issue with our room which was dealt with so thoroughly and embarrassedly (by two housekeepers and a man with a clipboard bearing a huge flower arrangement within 2 minutes of phoning housekeeping - we couldn't get to the room that quickly!) that the experience was positive rather than negative.

In fact the hotel staff were faultless as far as we were concerned, combining invisibility with concerned helpfulness and professionalism when you needed assistance.

Breakfast was superb, buffet style with two or three chefs to cook to order. Evening meal had similar format in main restaurant, but the food choice varied from excellent (hot, plenty of variety including local cuisine) to poor (lukewarm, all very similar - hence queue for grill chef was huge that evening!) Having said that, other restaurants are available.

Room excellent - we had asked for a queen sized bed and a sea view, were on the seventh floor with great view of both the hotel pool area and the coastline for some miles. Most comfortable bed we had ever slept on in a hotel.

All in all would recommend highly - go expecting to try the local cuisine in the main restaurant if on half-board, local wine and beer reasonable price and both palatable (the Tunisian Chardonnay on the list was surprisingly very good).

We also partook of a couple of 'activities' provided by the hotel - an introduction to cooking sushi, mosaic workshop and Arabic lessons. All worthwhile, good fun (and a lot of sushi to eat!)
and gratis.

Don't expect the locals (or some of the hotel staff) to speak or understand English well if at all - French is obviously universally understood.

Children - ours have grown and gone, but this was a surprisingly child friendly hotel - with a good proportion of guests with young families from a number of different cultures. Children seemed to be well catered for but can't comment on the kids' club etc . . .

Would / will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on floor 7 of 8 facing pool and sea. High rooms would give best view - lifts were efficient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaknine, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your last stay at the Mövenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse.

We are very pleased to read all the positive comments you mention, especially emphasizing on the great attitude of our team members and the quality of our product and service; please be assured that we will share your points with the respective team members.

We thank you again for your kindness and look forward to welcoming you again at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    497
    229
    124
    66
See reviews for
565
696
152
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Spent a week at this 5 star resort hotel in Sousse, Tunisia.
Only a few years old, and very well laid out.
Very impressive lounge/lobby and all bars, public spaces, gardens were lovely. Spa with own pools looked good but we didn't actually use it.
Best views from higher floors ( 7 was good )
Our room had its own safe, no charge, and thats much better than in hotels where safes are based in reception.
Double bed made of two singles but otherwise very comfy, smart bathroom with shower over bath, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space.
Staff were charming and helpful
2 good pools, one heated, other a bit chilly at this time of year
Beach front well maintained ( a lot of seaweed and debris washes up on every tide - the good hotels like this one, clear it for guests - the poor ones don't) and security to deter beach sellers of camel rides, roses, shirts, beads etc.
Fresh poolside and beach towels whenever you want them.
As (early April) is still classed as their winter, the two beach restaurants and one beach bar/swim up bar were not open, but there were still 7 other bars ( one beach bar day time only) and 5 restaurants plus a coffee bar, the Aga Cafe.
We were on half board booked from UK.
Lovely breakfast selection, breads, pastries, fruit, sweet couscous, juices etc good coffee as well. Just don't expect full English. Olive bread, local cheese and Harissa were great
Evening meals could be taken in the same ground floor restaurant - self service - very wide selection, though hotel less than 25% full ( my estimate)
At no additional cost you could book and eat in the evenings at Tapas/Paella restaurant (Tuna Cerviche excellent), or Sushi restaurant. Hotel offers All Inclusive in their summer, so my comments might not apply then.
At additional cost then French a la carte - La Villa, and Japanese - Teriyaki ( try the Movenpick Special with prawns, scallops, sea bass, chicken and beef with seafood rice or udon noodles) were great fun, very good food, and service, sensible cost.
Wine, Magon or Jour and Nuit very very good. About 30DT a bottle ( £1 = 2.40 DT at April 2012)
Local beer ( lager) Celtia OK, cold and wet
Small shop across street sells large bottles of water at 1DT. We got one complimentary bottle of water in the room at the start of our stay and a minibar stocked with beer, juice, (take your own bottle opener as they seem in short supply!)
You can stroll into Suisse to the Ribat/Madina in about 25 minutes. Fish and Produce markets very lively and colourful.
Watch out for locals accosting you, by the old town, and telling that that they recognise you from the hotel....just ask which hotel and keep walking. Its just a ploy to get you to visit their friends shop. The Soula Centre, near the Medina, is good for shopping as hassle free, no bartering etc, olive wood pestle and mortars make great souvenirs
Cab into Port El Kantoui from hotel about 7-10 DT (£3 to £4.50). Driving standards interesting - not for those of nervous disposition but entertaining....and you can play spot the car with all its panels and external fittings intact if you haven't got your eyes closed!
Good fresh grilled fish, salad and some of the nicest chips in the first outdoor restaurant on your right as you reach the harbour. The one with the fish display cabinet out front.
If you want a good quality resort hotel in Sousse then this is the/one of the best. Very popular with moneyed Tunisians, who drive from Tunis and elsewhere for a break.
If you go, have a great time, we did, cheers, G.

Room Tip: High floor, facing sea, inwards onto resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

A very high standard luxury hotel let down by it's disappointing main restaurant serving poor choice of food.
Having stayed in many 3* & 4* hotels in Tunisia we decided to treat ourselves to a luxury 5* half board holiday but the evening meals were the worst we have ever had in any Tunisian hotel in over 20 visits. Limited choice with food rarely hot, even butter failed to melt on baked potato.
The hotel is impressive, fitted with high quality furnishings. Rooms are large, comfortable and secure. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
The hotel is located on a very busy main road and the local pavements outside of the hotel are uneven and treacherous.
The indoor spa pool is surprisingly NOT available for free use by guests during the daytime between 10am and 4pm when it woud be most appreciated during bad weather.
The outdoor heated sea water jaccuzzi pool is surprisingly used by children almost exclusively when the hotel is busy.
The gardens and pool areas have high quality sunbeds and towels provided.
The rear of the hotel leads onto the fabulous beach.
To sum up, this was a very relaxing holiday in a luxurious hotel where we felt safe and secure but bitterly disappointed by the evening meals. We will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmaknine, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your precious feedback and for taking the time to post your comments.

We regret learning that we could not meet your expectations in terms of food quality, variety, presentation or even temperature. This definitely does not reflect the standards you are to expect from a Mövenpick hotel.

With regards to your comments on the Spa pool access however, kindly note that, though the management has opened its access to all guests at specific times in order to enhance their experience, the Spa pool is solely intended for Marine Spa guests. So we beg to differ on this particular point, as it is indicated to all guests by the Spa management and should therefore not come as a surprise.This is why we also have an outdoor, heated seawater pool (as well as fitness and sauna facilities) available to all guests.

And the period of your stay (coinciding with Tunisian school holidays) probably accounts for the fact that many children were swimming in the outdoor heated seawater pool, which is available to all guests, regardless of age.

At any rate, we are glad to learn that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay, such as relaxation, and sincerely hope that you will consider visiting us again in future.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Yours sincerely,

Mohamed Maknine
Communication & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I stayed in the hotel,as a single traveller, in March 2012.
I was on "half board" basis.
I was allocated room 3054.
The hotel layout and décor were very good, and the staff were brilliant.
The service was exceptional.
Being the winter period the hotel was only half full and not all facilities in the beach area were available.
My room was was more than adequate for my needs. The only niggles were the web radio/TV which didn't always work, and the aircon which wouldn't reduce the temperature below 20 degrees - no real problem in Winter.
Meals were taken in the Restaurant Mosaique and were a buffet type meal. The food quality was average and the service fair. One niggle was the menu, it wasn't in English, which did cause me some problems.
Two nights I ate in the La Villa restaurant( paying extra ). This was a totally different experience - brilliant food and service.
One night I ate in the Tapeo restaurant( no extra charge ). Then service was good and the food average.
I spent most of my night time in the "First" bar listening to the piano and drinking the local beer. The service was very good and the snacks excellent.
The hotel lobby was good for people watching especially at a weekend.

The one bad point of my trip was the cost of beverages at dinner time - this really niggled me!
I was on "Half Board" basis, therefore my breakfast and evening meals were paid for.
No problem at breakfast all beverages were free.
BUT at the evening meal ALL beverages were charged extra, and when I was charged 6 dinar( £3 ) for a very small cup of coffee and the same exorbitant price for a bottle of water I wasn't very happy.
This is something people should watch out for.

To summarise - A good hotel, brilliant staff and service, average food and drink, worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ianeon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

wonderful, dreamy, lovely, delightful,excellent,friendly, respectful,
I wish I could be there one more time....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cedar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

It's a lovely hotel, nice location, beautiful views, comfy beds ... but small things kept the stay from being perfect -- like one of the major restaurants being closed due to a private party on a themed night with no notice that I saw, the minibar not getting restocked daily (or even after 4 days), one omelette pan and one crepe preparer for a huge dining room (and with most other hotel guests ordering 2 or 3 omelettes -- breakfast was a long process), a room with 2 beds and one coffee cup, complimentary water but no bottle opener to open it(or the beer in the minibar), elevator signs leading to a dead end -- small things yes, but the details do add up. Depending on the weather and the price -- I might go back but with open eyes and my own bottle opener.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loki_21202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

A most attractive hotel in a really excellent location, only a 20 minute stroll along the promenade south to the Medina of Sousse. A lovely beach with everything one could need - including very attentive attendants, even in the off season.

The bedrooms were a dream, we were there in the cold snap so were very appreciative of the easily mastered heating - as well as the proper feather duvets. (This did present a problem to a fellow guest with a feather allergy which rather flummoxed the staff! But they did eventually understand what was the trouble and solved the matter) The bathrooms were in tip-top order - no bidet but a stragetically placed "hose/spray" - a novel but most effective alternative.

In my opinion, this hotel was built with its main eye on the conference business - delegates in meetings all day and partners enjoying the lovely pools, beach and spa facilities. While we were there, there were numerous local conventions / reunions which did not impinge on guests, apart from their presence in the huge dining room. It was low season, so numbers in the hotel itself were very low. However, the menu was geared to huge numbers, a large variety of dishes kept warm over heated water and replenished as required from the kitchen. There was also a small carvery area, but how this will cope with large numbers is a puzzle. Meat on the whole was not up to European standards of tenderness, even when presented as a stew. The fish was a better bet but even calamari toughen when kept warm for an hour. However, desserts were superb, the Tunisians seem to have a sweet tooth.

One problem common to North Africa surfaced here - in spite of what would imagine would be the strict Swiss hotel training of staff. This was the total inability of the waiters to understand that Northern Europeans make their tea with boiling water! There was a large urn with burner underneath, but the burner was not lit - so the water, over time, emerged only tepid. The waiters would go to the kitchen to fetch individual jugs of boiling water, but it was only after bringing the situation to the attention of a manager that the burner was actually lit under the urn. The waiters did not think to do this on their own initiative.

The staff throughout were exceptionally helpful, There were problems of communication though. While Tunisia was once a French colony, the bulk of the population speak only their local brand of Arabic, French is not as widely used as one would expect. In fact, English seems the language of preference. The hotel management speak many languages, but it was not always easy to communicate with waiters, sous chefs and room cleaners. We were missing a bottle opener in the mini-bar, which kept us amused for days - we eventually "got through" on the third day
.
There was a charge for the use of the hotel safe, which, of course, we felt we had to have. However, the staff proved to be totally honest, a friend dropped a 10 dinar note in the lobby and it was spotted by the bell boy who gave chase, to make sure that it was returned to the proper owner. As the monthly wage is 300TD, that was a day's wages up for grabs.

With finance in mind, tips are very very welcome. There is very high unemployment and there is no dole or old age pension. If you have are unemployed , you have to rely on your family. So all who are in employment are anxious to earn what extra they can to support their extended family. A good tip makes a lot of difference.

The only other piece of advice is re the climate. North Africa, in the spring, may be expecting temperatures of 14C - but this is not how it feels - there is an icy wind which cuts through you. We were dressed for -6C when leaving the UK but remained wrapped up in those clothes for most of our stay in Tunisia. Only when the wind dropped could we sit in the sun in comfort.

,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.6 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,585 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#11 of 35 in Sousse
39 reviews
1.1 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse

Property: Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse
Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#4 Family Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION The Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse is located at the entertainment heart of Sousse, and just minutes away from the city centre. Opened in April 2010, this luxury 5 star resort is the first International chain resort in the city of Sousse. The hotel comprises of 618 rooms and suites of various categories. Sousse is Tunisia’s third largest city, and an important industrial and commercial centre on the eastern coast. Sousse is located 135 km south of Tunis, 20 km north of Monastir airport, and just 40 km south of Enfidha airport. In addition to being the Sahel region’s economic heart, Sousse is also a major tourist resort area, offering a wide choice of restaurant and entertainment options. ACCOMMODATION A total of 618 rooms and suites, well equipped with flat screen LCD TV, direct dial telephones, mini bars, safe deposit boxes, coffee and tea-making facilities and individually controllable air conditioning and heating. All rooms are granted free access to the underground car park, the gym and the outdoor swimming pools. Non-smoking rooms are available, as well as connecting rooms for families with children. Two rooms are customized for the disabled. The top floor is also known as the Executive floor, offering complimentary Internet access and other services for the discerning business guest. DINING & ENTERTAINMENT The Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse offers a diversity of cuisines from around the world to tantalize your taste buds; enjoy show cooking and international buffets at Mosaique, indulge in Sushi and Teppanyaki from Japan at Sendai, sample authentic Spanish cuisine at Tapeo or enjoy a Mediterranean culinary experience at La Villa. And if it’s grill you favour, the Levant Grill & Jacuzzi is the ideal place to dine by the water’s edge. Watch the sun go down with a drink from a variety of bars such as the Breeze or First. Aga Cafe takes you back to the glorious days of the Ottoman Empire. And for a more lively end to the day, La Villa offers different atmospheres, ranging from the brandy and cigars of the Chimney Bar to the eased back elegance of the Onyx Lounge. SPORT & LEISURE With its 300-metre long sandy beach and a watersports base offering hobiecat sailboats, parascending and windsurfing, the Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse is the ideal sports and leisure resort. Other sport and leisure facilities also include beach volleyball, table tennis, sauna and fitness training. For golf enthusiasts, El Kantaoui golf course offers an 18-hole golf course in the immediate vicinity. A scuba diving club is also located nearby. Other amenities in the hotel include three outdoor swimming pools, one indoor/outdoor pool at the Marine Spa, the VIKs’ (Very Important Kids) house, a beauty salon, a boutique and business services. MARINE SPA Marine Spa is our unique interpretation of wellbeing: a full thalassotherapy centre combined with a large array of Spa treatments. Marine Spa welcomes both hotel and outside guests from 10.00 am till 10.00 pm daily, offering them a unique concept that gives its true meaning to wellness. Harnessing the power of natural marine ingredients, together with the latest innovations in product and treatment technology, we offer a complete package for all your spa and wellness needs. Under the guidance of our expert Spa therapists, we encourage our guests to actively participate in the selection and creation of a personalised spa programme. MEETINGS & EVENTS Perfection is our passion and Swiss hospitality our heritage. Movenpick Meetings & Events offers professional event management encapsulating the highest quality standards, creative cuisine and qualified, friendly service. You will find in Sousse this subtle alliance of efficiency and inspiration, of modernity and functionality, in each of our five meeting spaces. We offer one 629 sqm ballroom and four meeting rooms with daylight. All include state-of-the-art equipment and can be set up in a variety of styles. Need anything on the fly? Our dedicated Meetings & Events Concierge is there to cater for your needs and to ensure that your event is running smoothly. This enables you to focus your full attention on your meeting or event. Our excellent quality programme, Movenpick Meeting & Events, creates the optimal conditions to ensure that your meeting, banquet or business event will be a complete success. Your personal contact partner will take over the entire organization for you, ensuring highest quality service and attending to the individual needs of your guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Marine Spa Sousse
Moevenpick Resort & Marine Spa Sousse Hotel Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing