We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment 2200 Le Monaco Residence Sousse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Monaco Residence Hotel & Spa
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Apartment 2200 Le Monaco Residence Sousse”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We rented this apartment 4-11 September 2013, private rent. We was hoping to make use of the self catering aspect of this holiday as twice this year we have gone all inclusive. we were very dissapointed!! We paid £450 for one week, there was very limited utensils in the kitchen and what was there was not fir to be used. one glass and one cup (we were a party of 4) The kitchen area was very dirty including the oven and microwave were filthy and a health hazard if used! There were no hangers in the wardrobes, shower was broken. The sheets on the double bed were filthy and had not been changed since the previous occupant and stank!! No supply of clean sheets for the duration of our stay (we had to buy sheets) No towels ot toilet rolls were supplied either. it was a DUMP!!!

We have no complaints about the staff, restaurant, beach or beach bar these were great!!

Room Tip: Le Monaco was good just Apartment 2200 must be avoided at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sharon1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    13
    10
    13
See reviews for
17
24
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Le Monaco twice now and cannot fault it.
You are left to get on with your holiday on your own but if you want anything the staff are there.
The rooms have separate bedroom, large sitting/dining/kitchen area and bathroom. They are cleaned everyday with fresh towels and linen.
We stayed bed and breakfast. Breakfast is a choice of the usual Tunisian options - salads, meats, bread, jams, eggs, cereals etc. At the Monaco you can also ask for a crepe, omelette or fried eggs as well.
Outside there is a pool which has a pool/security man. He monitors people coming in and out from the back entrance (which all hotels seem to have now in Tunisia). There are 2 areas to eat outside an Italian next to the pool and a snack bar next to the beach, both offer excellent food - only downside of the beach bar is the very loud music on an afternoon (but that might be me!!).
The beach is looked after by Wallid and his colleague.
The Monaco isn't for you if want an all singing and dancing hotel - but if you want a place to stay that is within walking distance of Sousse and all things nearby - Slim Centre, restaurants, ice cream parlour, corniche then you can't go wrong with the Monaco.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunisiamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

My family of 7adults and 2 small kids stayed at this awful hotel from 5th April to 12th April, not sure where to start with my long list of negative things to say about this DUMP! Firstly, on the first night we were dumped in some rooms above a nightclub, the music was playing until 1:30am, the beds in the main room had a dip in the middle of the beds-woke up feeling 'fantastic' the next morning. Secondly, only when we asked about the spa they told us its closed for a refurb and will remain closed for 3 months! We booked this hotel mainly for the spa and because there was an indoor pool which would be suitable for the two kids. Reception guys told us that they advised booking.com that the spa was closed. They are absolute liars as I checked on booking.com's website whilst in Tunisia and there was nothing mentioned. They did not even have the curtousy to apologise for the inconvenience. Due to no indoor pool we went to the next door hotel and used their indoor pools for our time in Tunisia and it was great the kids loved it. We asked them reimburse us but the reception guy kept saying no we can't.

There was smoking in the children's area!! No sun beds, dead rat and sewage on the beach. Don't be fooled by what this hotel writes on their website/booking.com's website. There is no private beach it is a general beach because the hotel can't be bothered to maintain their area. Due to the sewage near the hotel's 'private beach' there were lots of bugs that would sit on you as soon as you step on the beach. No garden as described on their website, no swimming facilities for kids as indoor pool closed and outdoor pool temperature was like ice cold and therefore too cold for the kids. Ac never working had to call the plumber 5times during our stay. Water leaking from the hot water tank above the kitchen sink- room 1007. Breakfast wasn't too bad but their croissants were hard and old-avoid them if you can!
When calling reception from your rooms there is no one to answer you're call as all staff are so busy either at the bar smoking or playing pool. Also if you want to play pool you have to wait you're turn while the staff enjoy and have about 5 games!!! The tv in room 1007 wasn't even working, so enjoy the view of looking at the wall with a massive crack in it.
The staff are so shockingly rude, they don't care about anything you have to say, especially the manager that took 15minutes to see to me at reception because he was too busy eating breakfast in the restaurant!! The sofa had dust all over it, even though the floor is always cleaned the sofas were never dusted. One person has a dust allergy and was always sneezing because of that.
Overall, this hotel is a nightmare and not sure how it has surprisingly gained 4* on trip advisors website. Would never stay in this hotel, it doesn't cater for kids at all. On the positive side the maid/cleaners and one elderly staff who worked in the restaurant were really nice and done their jobs to an exceptional standard. If I was employed as a professional hotel criticiser, I would close the hotel down. For whoever is looking to book this hotel soon, don't do it, pick another one because all the information/details provided on their website, booking.com's website is all lies and certainly not close to even the actual truth about this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Vaishali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sousse hotels

Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The power in the hotel did not work all the time in our room. The staff did not care, they where more interested in football on the television . The staff did not care about the guest only about the locals. The restaurant had no service. And if you love old croissant to breakfast then this is the hotel for you. Building construction around the hotel. And the staff did not speak English. What more is there to say?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I wanted to write a bad review, but when I think about whole experience in Sousse, Tunisia in general and after reading some reviews about Movenpick (which costs almost double more ) I am realizing that biggest problem is not in this hotel but it is in Tunisia and its people. It is a shame that country that has that much potential for tourism and is so much dependent on it allows that kind of treatment of tourists.

About hotel. Hotel is not big, sometimes that was a plus, and sometimes not.

Good things - Size of rooms. New furniture, SAT TV, WiFi and kitchen (even has microwave) in rooms. Sheets and towels are very nice on touch, but starting to look overused. Food. Breakfast is descent, but dinner was always great. The cook (I think he is sous chef, one guy with darker skin) is not just good in his job but also he is a great person. I got the impression he works whole day, but still he is always in full speed, smiling, always there to help. Also one waiter with mustache was also cool and helpful. Walking distance from both Medina and modern clubs and bars. On the beach. Spa. No bugs.

Bad things - Management of the hotel, who really needs to put more pressure on the stuff. Maids. Finishing touches of interior and exterior of hotel. Not having free indoor pool or heated outside pool (we had some bad weather). Activities for kids, there is none for them. Speed in fixing broken things in rooms - is it really that hard to change a cheap shower head?

Some things from start in our room didnt work properly or at all- one AC unit, shower head, one blind. Kitchen was not properly clean on our arrival, there was grease in microwave and on the cooktop.

Cheap details in spa - Expensive pool with hydro massage system, hammam, etc and cheap Chinese bathroom curtains on rusted rails, and rusted cheap door knobs.

This wasn't my first time in Tunisia, I went there six years ago, and I have noticed that country has changed for worse. Now there are much more aggressive and crook sellers. In restaurants waiters tell different prices to Arabic and to western guests, even prices were sometimes different in English and in Arabic menu, if there were any. Privately owned supermarkets are really overpriced, double than GM. Taxi drivers are often reluctant now to use taximeter. I did notice that in Port El K. situation is much better, like it was before. In new part of Sousse you get good service in restaurants and you pay same price like everybody. Streets are now really full of garbage, even in the most posh parts of Sousse. We had problem to change money in Saturday morning (9am), finally after 20 minute of driving trough city center and trying to find some place to change money, we had luck, but we did get 180 TD for 100 euros.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BBBB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The room was quite nice, there was a nice outdoor pool and the hotel is really close to the beach.
There was also an indoor pool but it was only open between 13:00 and 14:00!
Walking to the center of Sousse takes about 20min.
The personnel was really impolite and not helpful at all. I would not recommend this hotel, there are many hotels in Sousse to choose from so I would definitely recommend that you try another one. The Mövenpick hotel is very close Le Monaco and that looks really nice.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the left hand side when facing the ocean. On the other side is a construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Considering that Sousse is mainly a touristic destination due to its beaches, being there for Business travel lets you feel quit unease. The pictures on the internet site of the hotel are giving the impression of a bigger structure, than what it actually is. Generally speaking, the hotel is mainly clean and the personnel is rather friendly. Big and rather good furnished rooms with small kitchen welcome you and give you a general good impression. Being on travel for business purposes, I really appreciated the the free-of-charge Wi-Fi connection. Restaurant is giving a small choice of international as well as local gastronomie.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runningnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,123 reviews
0.4 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Marabout Hotel
Le Marabout Hotel
#16 of 35 in Sousse
462 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#23 of 35 in Sousse
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Monaco Residence Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monaco Residence Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Monaco Residence Hotel & Spa
Address: Boulevard du 7 Novembre, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monaco Residence Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Monaco Residence Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monaco Residence Hotel Sousse
Le Monaco Residence Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing