We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Overall this was a great holiday. The staff are fantastic and really make this place. There are many positive reviews on here about individual members of staff and i agree with them all.

The reason i haven't given 5 stars is more down to the room and the hotel. The room was a little tired looking and the bed is rock hard. You get used to it but if you don't like a hard spring mattress you will struggle to sleep.
We had a private pool room and wether you need one or not depends on what you like to do on your holiday. We sunbath in the morning by private pool, chill out/ sleep from 1-3 and then head to the beach for the late sun. The pool rooms are great for this and as you are sharing a large pool between 3 rooms you can actually swim in it rather than it being just a plunge pool.
If your happy getting up early to get a lounger and stay out for the duration of the day then you could skip the private pool room. its all down to personal preference.
Sunloungers do get reserved early and there were a couple of days where it was quite busy and loungers were being set up on the grass.

Food is very good for an A.I. There is a different theme each night and a large variety of food. There are also 3 stations which are cooking different things fresh in front of you so if you do want your food pipping hot you can wait for a fresh batch.

Beach is sandy and is pretty well kept. There can be a lot of seaweed washed up but they guys seem to try and clear it as best they can. Kayaking is free and i recommend going out early in the morning on a calm day. Its really peaceful before the speedboats all start.

Entertainment is good through the day and evening but your not pestered to participate or go if you don't fancy.

Couples all seem to be primarily from the uk and of varying ages. Pink £ also welcome.

Room Tip: If you prefer it a little quieter then go for a pool room. If your not fussed then go with the uppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank charnuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

Best Holiday we have had so far! Food was lovely no fault at all, staff are friendly and helpful, entertainment team are brilliant (Jess and Achraf ) had such a laugh with them two, not far from local shops and bars was a really good holiday would defiantly go again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Xxstaceyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Relaxing Break
We’ve recently returned from a relaxing weeks break at this hotel. Having read the reviews I did wonder if it would live up to it. On the whole I would say yes.
On arrival there was the singing and dancing from the staff as previously mentioned. A bit too cheesy for my liking. Check-in was very efficient and we were quickly in our room.
The maid had decorated the room with flowers and petals which was nice. Stepping out onto the balcony we were greeted by a fantastic sea view. The only negative with this was that sunrise was about 5 am and the sun came streaming into the room making it difficult to sleep after that. Investing in some blackout curtains would be worthwhile. Also the small bathroom wasn’t finished and the walls were bare plaster, no tiles. However the maid did keep the room spotless.
We couldn’t fault the food and always found plenty to choose from, probably too much after getting on the scales back at home. My favourite theme night was Tunisian night, but they were all well presented. Also there was rice pudding at breakfast which I loved and took me back to my childhood.
Beer and wine were good but the spirits were an acquired taste. The wine glasses at lunchtime were always topped up as if by magic!
There were plenty of beds around the pool but we preferred the beach. The sea was a bit rough for the 1st couple of days but then it was calm and clear for the rest of the week. As other reviewers have said there was a few saddos who got up before 6am to reserve “their beds”
We have already priced up to return next Spring bank but it’s nearly 50% more than this year. So I may be shooting myself in the foot by writing another good review!

Room Tip: Not much to differentiate as all face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mr & Mrs T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just got back recently from this hotel. Wow what a fab time my husband & I had. The room was kept clean every day with fresh towels and swans &petals on the bed over the two weeks we spent there. Staff are fantastic.special mention to Hedi, Achraf, noirdine(smiley as we called him), Oussama(pool man). Bar staff Raed,Naoufel, Mondher and all the rest as we did not get their names. The food was excellent hot. They had theme nights on a 7 day rota. We went to the Indian which was really nice although don't expect it to be the same as home. We went into sousse one evening and had a lovely meal at Bonapartes which was recommended and booked by the rep Kirk. We also decided to go to the Mederteranian in the port again highly recommend it. We are defiantly considering going back to this hotel. Absolutely fabulous.

Room Tip: We were in room 626 probably not the best view but from what heard from other guests that if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was booked as a week in the sun without kids around but it proved to be much more.
The hotel surpassed expectations and I was very impressed with almost all aspects,

Firstly, the layout means that all rooms have a balcony and sea view. it does mean the sun comes in your room very early nut we get up early so it dod not matter. The rooms overlook the small private beach and the beautiful landscaped gardens.

The room was comfortable and much as pictured in the brochure. Not much else to say on this.

The food was excellent and i was very impressed. I regularly chose fresh fish at lunchtime and the Tunisian specialities at night. Considering it is a buffet style restaurant, the quality of the food was outstanding. The wine was also served in proper wine glasses and the drinks service was very attentive.

The beach is clean and well maintained. there is a lot of seaweed washed up each day but most of it is cleared. To see exactly how much, take a walk to the neighbouring hotel where they don't clear up and you will see how much. The lifeguard, Zeid, was very helpful at the beach and would move beds around for you to any place you wanted.
Both here and at thew pool there were always lenity of beds.

The staff are excellent and really make the effort to ensure they are doing all they can. all in, considering the price when compared to the Canaries, this represented terrific value and was a fantastic holiday.
I will be back

Room Tip: They are all good- some on the ground floor have small shared pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JJBaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Couldn't have found a nicer hotel to stay in! Food absolutely fab, Which they cook in front of you. Room (swim up) absolutely lovely. All bar staff very friendly, they took us all out on our last night for farewell drinks. Hedi and Raed made the holiday especially wonderful for us, Didn't want to come home!!

Room Tip: Recommend a swim up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amyfurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Not long back from our second visit to this fab hotel. As we have all said the staff in this hotel are just the best. Every one of them. They really do want you to enjoy your holiday with them and nothing is too much trouble.
When we arrived Heidi recognised us straight away and was shouting aw repeat guests, repeat guests!!
The hotel standards are just the best and all the management go round daily making sure all is well.
The rooms are comfortable with everything you need. Wine and fruit when you arrive as well as water and juice. Every room has a sea view.
There are two lovely pools but we spent all our time on the lovely beach! Sunbeds always available on the beach but as i wrote in my first review if you want a fancy bed you will have to be up very early as there are a lot of VERY sad people out there who love to have the same spot/bed every day. SHAME ON THEM as we met a lot of younger couples who would have loved to have spent a day chilling on them but the week i was there it was the same bodies splattered over them. Maybe the management need to sort this!! This maybe sounds harsh but i think they should be shared with all guests!
Food is brilliant, wine is drinkable, i drink red and my other half had the rose and beer. The spirits are not the same as we have in the UK but remember you are in Tunisia
All in all so much has been said in previous reviews this is an excellent value for money holiday if you just want to chill and relax.
Roll on our next visit and a big thankyou to all the staff x

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CandDEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.6 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.8 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#8 of 35 in Sousse
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#4 of 35 in Sousse
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade

Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia (Formerly Scheherazade Hotel Sousse)
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range: $232 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Scheherazade" concept is "Couples only" with romantic settings and new features such as: spa, swim-up pools, buffet restaurant, 2 a la carte restaurants and more...We hope the service which we are prepared to render will be extremely satisfactory. Have a Magic Moments!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing