We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Wonderful location and staff"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENSIMAR Scheherazade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Wonderful location and staff"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

For Easter, I was surprised with a week’s break for my birthday at the Scheherazade by my daughter. It exceeded any expectations that I had from the photos she showed me online. Its excellent spa treatments were a real treat. It has the most wonderful spot on a secure secluded part of the beach that was breathtaking. The pool side is effectively managed and scrupulously cleaned by attentive, friendly and hardworking staff. The selection of sunbeds was amazing and if all was taken by the two pools, then there were always ones available on the beach under grass umbrellas.
A very special thank you to Mohamed (Reception staff) for going out of his way to mend my reading glasses... it meant I could finish my book on the beach!! Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the professional and friendly staff at this hotel particularly the entertainment staff, Hedi, Achraf, Jess. We had the opportunity to paint Easter eggs on Easter Sunday near the beach which will stay with us forever and thank you Achraf for the patience you showed when teaching us to write Arabic by the pool. The bar staff in the Reception/Main Bar deserve mentioning for their excellent customer service and their ‘special’ cocktails.
Be sure to take the opportunity to go on a Thomson trip. The trips are really cheap when converting to Tunisian Dinars and there is a wide selection for everybody’s tastes. It may be useful though for the rep to provide a more informative sheet (Itinerary for each trip?) regarding Tunisia culture, so that people feel safe and knowledgeable when out of the cocoon of the hotel.
Lastly, (I could go on!!) the all inclusive restaurant is outstanding. The variety of food was excellent and extremely tasty. Do not miss out the Tunisian corner; it was such a taste sensation along with the most amazing cakes and desserts for pudding. Thank you especially to the hardworking Balti, who attended to us each evening with a smile.
The beauty of the Scheherazade is not just the location but the staff. If you are reading these reviews because you are unsure what to do, do not hesitate, book now and you will not regret.

Room Tip: Room 223 – although at the end of a long corridor, it was exceptionally quiet with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    333
    102
    32
    8
See reviews for
58
1,267
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have just returned from staying at this hotel with Thompsons on Sunday April 20th.
Upon arrival around 10am we were greeted by numerous staff clapping us and there were cool fruit drinks available whilst we completed necessary paperwork . . Most people had their suitcases taken up to their rooms. Our room was spotlessly clean and ready for us, it was decorated with petals, but suffering from hay fever I had to have these removed, which the staff were very efficient and helpful in doing. Each day the cleaner would lay towels, night attire etc out in different patterns. We had a complimentary bottle of red Tunisian wine in the room which we thought tasted very pleasant. The balcony had wonderful sea views and daily there was a man walking a camel on the beach.

After settling in, we explored the pools and beach, our preference was the beach, just as in photos, under the shade of the palm umbrellas, but wherever you went there were plenty of sunbeds and staff eager to help, brushing sand from the beds, fetching mattresses and you were given tokens to exchange for beach towels. All staff s made it their aim to make your stay here an enjoyable experience. My partner went out on the hotel catamaran, which was in need of some upkeep, but really enjoyed the trip. I tried the fitness room which had enough equipment for guests and managed to burn a few calories.

The Thompson rep. has a meet and greet which is self-explanatory and helpful, and was always available each day in hotel reception, so when we needed advice how to visit Mussee Dar Essid Sousse, although unable to answer at the time, a note was pushed under the door of our room with the information. Thompsons also include activities whilst there and we had a go at playing boules which we both enjoyed and learning to speak Arabic, which Hedi made very interesting. We had two day trips both of which were made very informative with our guide.All food was excellent and a very wide variety of choice, we did try the beef cooked with jute, and an unusual flavour for our taste buds. The food was so good we did not feel the need to book one of the other venues available.

For relaxation I tried the Spa, and had a mud body masque, followed by a body massage, which I have to say is one of the best massages I have ever had. All staff were very helpful and kind and the spa is reasonably priced, so do treat yourselves.

Entertainment was the house band which my partner enjoyed more than me. After the day trips out, I was ready to relax with a quiet drink. The bar staff were very good with prompt service and pina colada seemed to be favourite, although I was more than happy on the G & Ts. You do need to drink plenty of water too and bottles can be collected from the bar.

We highly recommend an all-inclusive holiday at this hotel

Room Tip: Only three floors but those on the ground floor had an infinity pool to share between three rooms, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CazL31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penkridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Myself and my partner went for 7 nights from the 20th -27th April 2014. Weather was mixed some days were very cloudy and windy however for 2 days we had temperatures of 39 degrees and blue sky.

Good Points:
POOL AREA - 2 pools one heated one not, plenty of sun loungers and a snack bar by the pool.
SEA VIEW - beautiful views from the room.
FOOD - we loved the food, plenty of choice at the buffet, I'd definitely recommend the beach side area at lunch times.
THOMPSON REP- Tammie was very caring and helpful throughout our stay.
HOTEL STAFF - Made the stay very enjoyable were always happy to help.
HOTEL ENTERTAINMENT -
Always plenty to do and see around the hotel, my favourite was the belly dancers and singer and guitarist at the pool side during the day.

Bad Points:
COCKTAILS - They weren't served by the pool or in the restaurant. Were made using a machine and weren't very nice. Served them in tiny glasses also.
ZULU EVENING (Thompson Excursion) - Do not go on this excursion, we really enjoyed the zoo, were able to feed elephants and ride Camels however the evening meal and entertainment was awful. Food portions were tiny and the traditional African food was a chicken drumstick and rice with an orange for dessert! Food was cold. At the end we were forced to tip 30 dinar by the waiter per table having been told by our rep an average tip was 2 dinar, I was not impressed. Could not wait to lleave and get back to the hotel, then went for dinner at the hotel along with everyone else who attended the trip.
AL A CARTE MEAL - This was a big sales pitch as after them telling us how great it was we were not able to go as it was fully booked and they made it that complicated to book with rules such as booking only 24 hours in advance and the restaurants only being open certain nights.
CHECK IN AND CHECK OUT - hotel were really slow to check some people in, although we went straight to our room and were told our bags would be brought to our room. 2 hours later we retrieved the bags ourselves from hotel reception. In the rerun journey We were transported back to the airport at 6.15 despite our flight being at 10.15,by his meant we missed breakfast. No tea, coffee or breakfast was offered despite 3 coach loads of people leaving at this time. Also only one member of staff was behind the reception desk checking people out so the process was painfully slow.
TUNISIAN AIRPORT - This airport was complete chaos and Thompson had got us there that early we spent ages waiting round in the airport even after going though all the long queues at check in and duty free. On top of this our flight was then almost an hour late leaving as the airport was that disorganised.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent 10 nights here from 13-23rd April. Firstly some hints and tips: It would be nice if the bar stayed open later than 12 at night or if there was another bar for people who wanted t stay up late. The area around the hotel isn't that great, there isn't much around it but if you're looking for a chill that's fine. It would be nice for the swim up pools to be heated as they are freezing!!

Now the good bit...
OZZY, ACHRAF, HEDI, and MOHAMMED (Scheherazade bar) were absolutely fantastic and made our holiday! Hedi helped my now fiancé to plan our engagement and it was fabulous.
The staff in this hotel are wonderful they cannot do enough to please you, and nothing is too much for them.
Evenings leave a little to be desired as its quiet, but for a chill holiday its lovely. The food was great, far east and gala nights the best for us! Brilliant location on the beach with free canoeing!
Didn't want to come home, so thank you for such a lovely stay and making us feel like VIP's all the time!
Will definitely return! Amy and Karl xx

Room Tip: All have good views, swim up room possibly not worth the extra as they are freezing and lose sun in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arichards7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed over the Easter Week with My Husband we are in our 60s/50s and wanted to get away to relax . The location is spectacular right on the beach and the views from every direction were stunning that said what made our holiday were the Tunisian Staff they were all excellent, but some we just have to mention for going above and beyond expectations - our waiter Femmi was so attentive and polite and always with a smile to greet us. The two hardest working guys in the Hotel who never seem to sleep! Yousuf and Mohammed the bar staff - you guys deserve a rise!! Monti who was always available with a smile and a chat and Hedi AKA Gok was fab.
The entertainment was good the resident duo did a night of requests which was great fun. Sat night was a great night with fab singer from Manchester and the belly dancers and strong man act was also great fun.
We only went on one excursion which took in the market, wine tasting and a Restaurant in Hammett all in all it was a fab day made really interesting by the tour guide he was so knowledgeable we learnt so much about the country, the wine and restaurant were great too.
The room itself had a fab view although a little small but didnt detract from a great holiday would highly recommend. We did have three bad days of bad weather which was such a shame. We still came back with a great tan and some wonderful memories all at a fantastic price dont think about it just Book it.

Room Tip: we booked double room and sea view it was on the first floor and couldnt fault it the swim up room b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BerylKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Overall we had a good holiday very relaxing particularly round the court yard pool, fabulous temperature, nice position for beach and the sea. Accommodation good but let down by the bathroom, when showering the bathroom floor flooded due to water running through the glass panel at the bottom and sides. Eventually replaced with shower curtain which was better but still did not prevent water escaping onto the floor. The bathroom needed a complete refurbishment, painted plastic coated wall finish results in water running down the walls. A very good selection of food available and of good quality, excellent restaurant staff. A warm and inviting welcome on arrival from hotel staff who made checking in an easy experience. Would we go back possibly yes. Well done to all the hotel staff you are very professional.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the sea and overlook the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bentley60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent a week here and upgraded to a swim up room which was around 40 pound a night extra, the view was fantastic and was worth that bit extra as you also got your own sun loungers outside your room. All rooms are actually the same though and ours was spotless, nice bed, large flat screen LG on the wall, kettle, fridge and a safe etc... The pool are was good too, I liked it that they had lots of different types of sunbeds, not all just the same, they had hammocks and chairs and sofas and all sorts which made a nice change. There is a bar next to both pools, and the beach bar was good as they served snacks all day and at lunch they had a set menu, (burger, pizza, sandwiches etc however this was really nice and we went there every day. Another bonus to this hotel was the outdoor heated pool in the middle courtyard, this was amazing! This beach was also good as the hotel doesn't have hotels right next to it therefore it has quite a long stretch of beach to itself, also there are hardly any locals on it trying to sell you things! I think i saw one guy all week, and the beach has security guards too. Watersport - kayaks were free and everything else you had to pay for, however to be fair it was quite cheap. Jet ski was 50 dinar for 2 for 15 minutes. One of the best things about this hotel was the food, every night they do a different theme, Mexican, Italian, far east etc and the do actually change the food every night. The best food Ive had at an all inclusive, and the lager and wine isn't bad either. The staff are all really nice and helpful, I find Tunisians the nicest out of the Moroc/Egypty/Tun, the managers are constantly out and about all day and night too talking to people and making sure they are having a good time, and they actually do things for you if your not (we didn't need to ask for anything). Finally i think i could sum it up by saying i didn't see the Thomson rep all week because i didn't need to! would definitely return in the future but would maybe wait a couple more weeks until the end of April weather wise just so it is a little bit warmer. Any questions please ask!
Tip - No cash machine in hotel, there is an ATM about 3-4 minutes walk away, also there is a shop and currency exchange in the hotel and a Sheesha corner!! :)

Room Tip: Swim up room gives you another sunbathing location!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keiron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.8 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
1.2 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#13 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#14 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENSIMAR Scheherazade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENSIMAR Scheherazade

Property: SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia (Formerly Scheherazade Hotel Sousse)
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENSIMAR Scheherazade 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Scheherazade" concept is "Couples only" with romantic settings and new features such as: spa, swim-up pools, buffet restaurant, 2 a la carte restaurants and more...We hope the service which we are prepared to render will be extremely satisfactory. Have a Magic Moments!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your SENSIMAR Scheherazade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing