We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% risk worth taking ... FANTASTIC!! ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Sorry for the long reveiw, but being a new hotel would like to give travellers as much info as possible to elimate any worries they may have .... and to ensure Couples Sousse recieves the credit they deserve for this great hotel at a bargain price ... thank you!

Myself & my partner booked the hotel back in March before it was open and admitted we had our concerns being a new hotel not open is always a risk. However on arrival we had nothing to worry about this was def a risk worth taking for the price we paid the hotel exceeded our expectations :-)

On arrival (which was about 12 at night) we were greeted by friendly staff who laid on cocktails and ensured the restaurant was left open for us to make sure we had food after the travelling which we thought was a nice gesture. We filled in a couple of forms and were taken to our room, our luggage was brought up for us shortly after - we did give the porter a tip however he seemed surprised and I dont think he expected it but as we believe a gd service deserves rewarding and you are not expected to tip all.

The bedroom was clean, spacious, perfect for what we needed, lovley balcony with a sea view (room 817) The mini bar is stocked on arrival and kept topped up throught the holiday, fresh fruit and wine and water waiting in your room. There is a hairdryer and robes and some toilitries. We had no issues with the air con seemed to work all the time, whenever we needed it to - **JUST A TIP** - you do have to leave a card in the electric supply box in the room to keep it on maybe this is where people are assuming it doesnt stay on.

The food is very good and the best selection and taste of any all inclusive we have previously stayed in, there is loads of flavours and loads of choice, each night is a different theme which is a nice change. Beer, wine and soft drinks is avaliable with dinner each night served in nice large glasses ... :D. There is an Indian restuarant where you get one free visit per stay, the food is good and very tasty although please go with an open mind. Dont expect your standard Chicken Korma or Chicken Tikka, we found the dishes tatsed simular and not how you would expect, but the meals were very tasty. **JUST A TIP** - The food comes out quite quick and you do have to order your whole 3 courses in one go. Any other visits to this restaurant would be payable - us personally probably wouldnt pay as the buffet food was just as good for us.

The 2 pool areas are lovley, the courtyard one much quieter and its much easier to get a luxury sunbed here as as lovley as the main pool is does tend to get quite crowded and this is where the daily activites take place. **JUST A TIP** - Hit the courtyard pool or the beach for a bit more of a quiet relax. The beach is a private beach and we spent most of our week here, the breeze was needed with the gorgeous hot weather and was refreshing to have the sea so close. The beach staff are great and friendly and the Kayak's are free so good to be near them if you fancy that!

The hotel is in a great location shops literally outside the hotel or a short walk and there are more shops - the usual supermarkets/ tourist shops perfect for holiday essentials. There are two towns nearby Port El Kantoui and Sousse we found Kantoui better for the shopping and the Marina and Sousse better for nightlife (unless of course you visit the shopping malls there is one in each town and both as good as the other) You can reach both towns by the train that stops in the hotel grounds and takes you back and forth, it runs each hour of the day **JUST A TIP** - Do not get a return journey as you have to get the exact same train back. Nightlife great we visited the local nightclubs and the Tunisian's were great very friendly had a chat had a dance, feel very safe walking around and going out no worries here at all! I would recommend Saloon Bar about 5 Mins from the hotel in Taxi each night is different, very busy, good drink prices a great night out - & a kebab shop next door!! lol ... Also a steak house restaurant above this. Not to forget Casa Del Gelato good ice-cream but we visited this more for their Shisha :-) ... howver bear in mind no alcohol is served here.

The entertainment is good in the hotel always something going on day & night ...would def recommend doing the bonfire on the beach really romantic evening and the 2 singers TNT are fab you will hear them at various times in various places during your stay - well done guys! Go to the black and white night and real laugh and great time to meet people and the blues brothers tribute was brill. The only thing that is a bit of a let down is that if you are not going to the "entertainment" and just fancy a chill in one of the other bars there is nothing going on there, there isnt really any atmosphere / ambience just some odd lift background music - so would be nice if music was played throughtout the bars. Although not a huge issue as we headed out be nice for people who enjoy hotel surroundings. The Shisha tent isnt really mentioned much in the hotel if this is eomthing you like make sure you visit it, you will need to take drinks down to the tent with you though but is a real nice Tunisia feeling experience, by the pool in the tent sitting on the cushions on the floor, we didnt know this was here until the 3rd night so make time to visit it!

Finally the staff one word FANTASTIC they can't do enough for you, so friendly so chatty always on hand a real asset to te hotel. Hedi & Ozzie were fab in making sure we was always happy & had everything we needed :-)

We took a risk booking this hotel but was so worth it honestly had an amazing week. Yes, there are still bits going on & the hotel is shutting again in October for more refurb, but nothing affected our holiday & the hotel is only going to get better will def be going back to see the improvements.

Thanks
Jess & Charlie x

Room Tip: High rooms have great views ... If booking a swim up room you want the ones oppopsite the pool that...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,753)
There are newer reviews for TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was an amazing resort.

This was a wonderfull holiday the food was fantasic eveyday the lunches and dinners were diffrent and there was many options for us.

the staff were so helpfull. we had a waiter call Mahmood He was the most amazing person he english was very good and he would help get our table ready every day morning lunch and dinner he really made the stay so much more enjoyable.A Big Thank you to him.

Also hedi was brillant and lots of fun a great rep.

The pool Guys were Brillant and Chamber maid.
any problems you had the respention would sort stright away.
the resort was so so so clean everyday the pools floors stairs were cleaned.
This had to be the best week i have everyhad away, and wished i was still there.
Thank you so much to everyone That worked at the scheherazade.

Dannielle matthews

Room Tip: we had room 611 and it was lovly.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

just got back today 16th june.From start to finish this holiday was just perfect .Just under 3 hr flight , perfect transfer, about 25 mins. Greeted with staff who go above and beyond to make your stay a truly wonderful escape. All are exceptional in there profession .Hedi ,a perfect, beautiful Customer relations rep.Who was just so funny,professional and a true happy guy. Kirsty the rep,jess the entertainment rep dream the pool guy and far too many too mention bar and waiter staff all non-invasive and helpful in getting to know your likes and dislikes in food,wine etc. Greeted with cheerful staff cocktails in hand for you and nibbles and towels to freshen up .A perfect ,direct key handling process.Once in room which was absolutely fine .Air con, fresh fluffy white towels,contemporary style,mini bar with soft drinks and wine kettle, hair dryer .Rooms all overlook pool and beech area .Did have to pay for safe , never had to do this before in a hotel about £2o week .The hotel had everything for every body .Half beech and half pool area for sun bathers.A little non invasive music around pool bar ,Sometimes got a little more lively which was great as we like that in small doses and for those who dont there is also a quiet courtyard pool with bar .Pools were immaculate as were all the eating areas ,beech and the whole hotel really .Never met such happy cleaners.Walk lovers you can walk in both directions on beech safely.We did not do any excursions as we just wanted a total pampering relaxing holiday .So cannot comment on them ,but feedback was all positive for trips .Had a problem with door not shutting and a leaky air con , both issues were rectified within minutes Food was excellent ,good choice and of high standard .I always find puddings when i go abroad to be a bit bland and i am not a pudding person BUT .they were to die for mmmmmmmmmm.This is still a work in process hotel and i cannot wait to go back and see finished results .Already a 5 * now i would rate it .Lastly i can truly say that this has been the best holiday in every aspect for what we like we have ever been on and we do have a few a year!!! well done for given us that to all off you who helped us feel so pampered ... Tim and Tracey

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traceyjanewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a hotel?
This shines out in Tunisia. Right from getting off the coach on arrival to sadly getting on to go home.
Wonderful staff throughout.Excellant food the whole week, including a good, new idea of a speciality, Indian restaurant.
All areas of the hotel are spotless including the beach, no beach traders are allowed to get near you, what a benifit!

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view but 804 or 805 are the best
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glosflyer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

On arrival at couples we were greeted by the most friendly staff ever with drinks .and a meal laid on late at night . the bedroom was lovely & clean Great balcony and view overlooking pool , sea & Beach. I was very disapointed with the aircondtioning as it apeared to be not working .I went to reception who told me the aircon was seasonal.,and was only on 10pm-until 4am .I throught aircon was for me to decide when i wanted on .The front of house manager managed to get on for me 2pm-4am which was better. But when put the airconditioning on it still didnt work properly .they brought us a large fan which helped. on a good note the hotel & Food was great .the best choices ever ,large wine glasses at dinner & restaurant themed each night. Hedi from guest services was brilliant funny helpful & Profesional He made our holiday .I must mention Kirsty the rep ,she was great very profestional ,helpful ,nice to chat to, she could not do enough for us well done. overhaul a brilliant holiday many thanks also to ozzie guest sevices.

Room Tip: Higher floors views great but Airconditioning poor
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and it was superb. We had a sea view room that has to be one oft the best views we have ever had from our balcony. Room 804 for any of you that are lucky enough to be going there. The rooms are very nice tho' the lighting in the bathrooms needs sorting a bit. Its really quite ark in there. We had a bottle of wine and fruit in the room as well which was also a very nice touch Hairdryer,slippers and dressing gown supplied and toiletries.
Restaurant food is of a very decent standard and lots to choose from. Snack bar at lunchtime also worth a visit as you can sit and watch the sea whilst eating. Good food here also. Wine beers soft drinks available in this one (no spirits) tho' all drinks in the other bars.
The staff are truly lovely and they cant do enough for you. Yassine was very special. He had a continual smile all the time. The speciality Indian restaurant is also of a very high standard.
Sunbeds are plentiful but we did prefer the beach as pool did get quite crowded.
Weather to top it off was very hot all week
For a hotel that we thought might not be ready for our holiday they have done truly well to get it to how it is.and the staff should be very proud There are a few bits still being done but nothing big or noisy.
Thanks to you all for a very special holiday and we will be returning

Room Tip: If possible a room on the higher floors to get the best views. We had 804 and other two had 805. Not...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROS881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and myself have just returned from this hotel, after having a fantastic week there,as soon as we arrived the greeting was great, told to go and have food as we got there about 10.15 pm, was then shown our room, which had a wonderfull view of the sea, all rooms have this, was well decorated and all that we wanted including a fridge with free drinks in, water supplied every day for drinking,the staff are always on hand and very friendly,one of the porters on duty we knew at first site, he was at the Riviera up the road, he was glad to see us, so we got on very well with Sami, as for the Front office manager Bechir, he is great always ready for a laugh and a joke, and guest manager Heddi, you can but love this bloke, food well so much choice in all courses, cakes to die for, we will be going back again, we both said that we should have done 10 days, and we miss all the staff, fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerry66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.6 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.8 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
981 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#8 of 35 in Sousse
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade

Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia (Formerly Scheherazade Hotel Sousse)
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range: $233 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Scheherazade" concept is "Couples only" with romantic settings and new features such as: spa, swim-up pools, buffet restaurant, 2 a la carte restaurants and more...We hope the service which we are prepared to render will be extremely satisfactory. Have a Magic Moments!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing