We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hosny Mandarah” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosny

Hosny
Ranked #24 of 1,258 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Egyptian, Mediterranean, Barbecue, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Marmande
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hosny Mandarah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Good food and plenty of it. Very crowded, always seems to be busy. Could do with cleaning up after clients a bit better, rather messy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kayS647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    41
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Ate twice at the Hosny located on Gamal abd el Nasser Street, Montazah, Alexandria. We ate grilled lamb chops (ribs) twice, mahshi mombar (rice-stuffed sausage) twice, grilled shrimp, and the various salads.

Food was served quite rapidly after ordering and was quite tasty, especially the lamb. The mombar was far better than the versions I've had in the USA. My wife, a native Alexandrian, thought the shrimp was excellent. We noticed a slight variation in the salad selection over successive nights, but it was all good.

Note to foreign customers: pay the tip directly to the server who manages your table. Do not include it in the money you use to pay the bill.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerberlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“dinner at hosny with family”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

last friday I had dinner with my family at the new branch in down town in alexandria it is originally serving grilled meats as well as traditional Egyptian food. The salad were fresh but not alot of varieties and you have to ask more than once to get more the staff seemed confused and not on the ball despite it was not too busy.
The meat cuts were appropriate and delicious but most of our proposed menue they got us something else but It was yummy kebab and kofta but it is not the best as balbaa still the best
The dessert menue is so poor and I did not really enjoy any of the variety
I wont really recommend iot but it is value for money and I hope they will improve by time

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherif1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
155 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent grill and good seafood as well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hosny is originally a grill restaurants serving mixed grilled meats as well as traditional Egyptian food. But this time we had a mix of grill and seafood. The meat was delicious but so was the calamaris and shrimps. We had a decent meal and the price was also reasonable. Next day we asked for delivery inside Montazah and the food was also very good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Naguib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanbu
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Egyptian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Food is excellent but location is not on the sea. The area around is not clean. As I came on ramadan I didnt find a table so you need to book in advance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaser A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hosny also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to Hosny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing