We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fine Grill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosny

Hosny
Ranked #23 of 1,250 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Egyptian, Mediterranean, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine Grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

A famous Big grill house in both Cairo and Alex, I recommend mouza Dany

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank adham1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    39
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
438 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Worth a try!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Checking in late to the Sheraton Montazah, my colleagues and I were hungry and one asked the valet where to eat. Without compunction, he immediately recommended Hosny, pointed to the side street by the hotel and said it was right up the street. Well, it was, indeed -- up the street, around the corner and down another street. But everyone knew where it was so getting directions was no problem.

On arrival, we were immediately seated. The restaurant appeared to have several rooms and we were pointed to a level above (two steps) the other floor. This afforded me a grand view of other diners and their meals and helped with my selection.

We were immediately served with hot bread and salads while the waiter, who spoke excellent English, took our order. In no time we were served our dishes and we tucked in. I had seafood soup and moussa (sole) that was excellent. One of my colleagues ordered the seafood soup as well and remarked how good it was. But she didn't like the entree she ordered - it looked like Vienna sausages to me (not kofta) -- so I shared my sole with her, which was more than enough for the two of us. My other colleague tried the okra with lamb and I tried it. It was excellent. The bill came to LE300 (slightly less than US$50) with decent tip.

I would recommend Hosny for a good (not fancy), tasty dining experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

One of the best shish kebab and kofta in Cairo & Alexandria
I tried the grilled fish boury as well and it was tasty.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ragui_Bassali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

the new branch in down town alexandria is very nice nice place to the entance of the city in front of carrefour begining to the road to cairo while the old one was in a tinny crowded road
hosni is the best for local testy grilled food kebab keftah grilled chicken served with a varity of mezzes beautifull small dishs as side dishs if you want to taste the real oriental grilled meat and chicken this is the good address .....very abordable staff

Helpful?
Thank hanaegypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had a nice business dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Food was nice specially the seafood soup. You can choose which fish to be served.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abuhnida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hosny also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to Hosny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing