We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, if you don't mind being on a 10 line highway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fine, if you don't mind being on a 10 line highway”
Reviewed April 30, 2010

In the Four Seasons brochure it shows a picture of an infiniti pool leading on to the Med. It does not show the 10 line highway in between. Altougth the sound proofing in the bedroom was good it did not drown out all the traffic noise. We were also suprised to see some tinned fruit in the breakfast buffet.

The business centre is available 24 hours but after 6pm it is necessary to have it opened by a member of staff which is inconvenient.

The staff generally were helpful and friendly.

Overall we thought that the Four Seasons First Residence in Cairo to be a different class.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRMEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    75
    24
    2
    8
See reviews for
148
111
30
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights here all of which were very nice. We had a room with a porch overlooking the med. It was beautiful. The restaurants of the hotel were very nice-as was the breakfast which was included in our rate. The concierge recomendations were OK-he sent us to one restaurant that was under construction and closed but didn't seem to believe us when we told him.
The spa was very nice although I didn't have any treatments-just used the steam, sauna, and workout facilities. There is a co-ed workout room and a womans only as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabiolaabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Lovely, clean luxurious hotel - grand and chinzy in decor - no minimalism here.

Huge room and bathroom, service wonderful and friendly.

Only gripe - you have to pay for bottled water in the room (apart from the bottle given at turn down). Given that the water in Alex. isn't drinkable by visitors bottled water should be free in a £300 a night palce.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaP74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Everything about it was to high standard. The friendliness of staff, swift checking-in, the highest standard of hotel interior and cleanliness; best comfortable room.

Our hotel room faced the city, but the sea view front rooms must be outstanding! There is a shopping centre below the hotel, where you can just walk through and get your shopping needs if necessary. Valet parking is good; our car came back spotless! very good service.

The restaurants at the hotel have good selection of cuisine. We went to "Kala" and the Lebanese restaurant. Both are good.

Best place to stay in Alexandria. No need to say more. And of course, we will return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaPaish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I note in the "Tips & Guidellines that the Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria ask that you not:

>Use profanity, threats, or personal insults
>Include e-mail addresses or phone numbers
>Write in "all caps"
>Report someone else's experience

In writing my review of the Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria (and those of many others and the above comments would indicate), none of that is necessary!

I have nothing but positive exclamations about this hotel!

My husband and I are American who reside in Dubai. We are world travelers who have seen more of the eastern side of the Asian, African continents and European than most Americans will in their lifetimes. We have stayed at some of the "best" hotels in the world as well as "some of the worst! This one moves to the top of the list (including American hotels)!

This was our second visit to Egypt together (third, for my husband). My husband is a jazz pianist who has traveled the world. Our first visit to Egypt was via a 5-star Nile cruise for my birthday in June 2005. We stayed at several 5-star hotels along the Nile from Luxor to Aswan. This time, June of 2009, we went to Egypt to hear our President Obama's speech to the Islamic world, and only stayed at the Four Seasons in Alexandria and Nile Plaza. Nothing, emphasize: "Nothing!" could even hold a candle to the Four Seasons Hotels throughout Egypt. Everything else is a waste of money! Yes, it is expensive, but, if you're not ready to spend some cash in Egypt, stay home! Other hotels are, even though it seems you're getting "a deal" don't even come close!

In a city that is on the way but, not ready for "prime time", the Four Seasons in Alexandria rocks! I won't repeat all the wonderful comments of the Hotel given herein, but, would only reinterate them. If you want a pampered "get-a-way" that's (as Richard Gere said Julia "Pretty Woman" Roberts emphasized in the movie: "It's the Best"!!!

Dr. Dwight and Cassandra Dickerson
New York, USA/Dubai, UAE

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CassandraUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

It was my first time in Alexandria at the Four Seasons and best experience in Egypt, and will definitly go back. Truly a first class hotel in everything; location, rooms, staff, service, food, Spa, fitness center, etc.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

LOCATION: The Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria is located in Alexandria's San Stefano district directly on the Corniche on the Mediterranean Sea. It sits on the site of the former San Stefano Hotel, a local legend known for being the city's most luxurious establishment before it was torn down and replaced with this complex [appropriately named San Stefano Grand Plaza]. The complex houses two enormous pink crescent-shaped buildings, housing the hotel in the sea-facing crescent and apartments in the city-facing one to the back. Both towers rest atop a multi-story podium housing the city's best mall. The building has the distinction of being the tallest in the city. The hotel itself has 118 rooms, so it's incredibly small and feels very personalized.

ARRIVAL: The hotel entrance is located in the podium beneath the behemoth of a tower. It's almost fully covered, but softly illuminated and serves as a large, roomy driveway up to the hotel.

LOBBY: The lobby is typical Four Seasons splendor. Done in yellows, beiges and golds with accents of blue, it's a very grand room, but has the tendency to feel a bit old-fashioned. There are high ceilings and glass walls overlooking the driveway, so it's far from being stuffy. Illumination is fantastic and there are beautiful floral arrangements at the entrance and in front of the reception.

CHECK-IN: Very friendly and professional. The staff addressed my parents and I by name, making us feel very welcome. The process took under 10 minutes [conversation included].

CORRIDORS: The room corridors are something right out of a mansion, with small chandeliers, pile carpets and framed artwork. They are softly lit and have a color scheme of gold, brown and yellow.

ROOM: I was given a superior room on the sixteenth floor. This room is huge at 53 square meters and carries on the same color scheme of yellow and blue seen in the lobby. The luxurious Four Seasons bed takes center-stage in the room, with tables with lamps on each side of the bed. A working desk is also available, as well as an armchair with ottoman. A forty-two inch plasma screen television is located next to the armchair. The room has a balcony with two chairs and a table. The view appears to stare directly into the back of the apartment crescent, but when you look to the side, you have a view of the sea and the city. Storage space is aplenty, with two full-sized closets and enough shelves to stack all your belongings. A safe is located in the closet.

BATHROOM: The bathroom is beautiful, with a deep soaking tub, a separate shower stall, a sink with a huge vanity and a toilet and bidet located in a separate room in the bathroom. A nightlight is located below the sink for nighttime convenience. Water pressure in the shower is fantastic, with endless supplies of hot/cold water. The bathroom is fully-stocked with toiletries from L'Occitane, which are replenished by staff when they turn the room down at night or make it up in the morning.

RESTAURANTS: We ate at the hotel's restaurant Kala for breakfast for both days we were staying there. The restaurants are located down a gallery and a small staircase from the elevator bay. Kala overlooks the sea, with seating available indoors and on the outdoor terrace. There is an extensive buffet available, as well as à la carte options.

FOOD: The food, both in Kala and from room service, is simply top-notch. Fresh, professionally prepared and presented, and cooked to perfection.

FACILITIES: The hotel has a large, luxurious spa with separate facilities for men and women. The men's area has a Jacuzzi, chilled pool, sauna, steam room, changing facilities, a relaxation room, massage rooms, and shower stalls. My only quibble about the spa was the showers - they're slightly complicated to use as far as water temperature adjustment goes. Once you figure yourself out without scalding your flesh or surprise-freezing yourself, the rainshower is wonderful to use, with tons of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel located in a wall-mounted dispenser. The outdoor infinity pool, overlooking the sea, is gorgeous. Granted, it was cold and shallow, but refreshing to swim in nevertheless. The adjacent deck is strewn with chaises and tables. A hot Jacuzzi is available next to the pool. The hotel also has a beach, marine club, marina and outdoor restaurants under construction; apparently, these should be operational before the end of the year.

SERVICE: Since Four Seasons Hotels specialize in service, it's no surprise that this hotel nailed this category. The staff are all friendly, smiling and cheerful, with no language barriers whatsoever; nothing seemed to be too much for them. Addressing us by name was also highly appreciated. Time was also something they used to their advantage; I asked for a copy of the Four Seasons directory to be sent to my room and received it in under five minutes.

OVERALL: This is a luxurious property that looks and feels like a Four Seasons. With fantastic staff, top-of-the-line facilities, impeccable food and location, location, location, it deserves its ranking as one of the best hotels in Egypt and the Middle East.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Khaled B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#5 of 38 in Alexandria
1,096 reviews
4.3 mi away
Helnan Palestine Hotel
Helnan Palestine Hotel
#8 of 38 in Alexandria
386 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hilton Alexandria King's Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche Hotel
1.5 mi away
Tolip
Tolip
#10 of 38 in Alexandria
306 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
#12 of 38 in Alexandria
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria
Address: 399 El Geish Road, Alexandria 21599, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Spa Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the Mediterranean in a setting of legendary glamour, discover an intimate enclave within the stately Grand Plaza shopping and residential complex. Indulge in classically elegant accommodations, European spa treatments and terraced restaurants with fresh sea breezes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Alexandria
Four Seasons Alexandria
Alexandria Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing