We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Glory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed July 25, 2010

The hotel has seen better days. The lobby is very grand and beautiful, but the room was a bit cramped, the bathroom had dangerously slippery tile, someone had swiped the shower cap from its box and the next door neighbor's cigarette smoke came through the ventilation shaft. On the other hand, the breakfast spread was excellent, minus the unset gelatin. And the view from the breakfast terrace was absolutely amazing. The free wifi in the rooms was too weak to work so I had to go to the lobby to get a good signal. The staff were polite. The room was clean I haven't stayed in other hotels in Alexandria to compare so I don't know if this is what one should expect or not.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank_fodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 236 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2010

Probably used to be a very nice hotel and is still worth it if you can get a really good rate - otherwise skip it. Staff is very friendly and likable but totally bumbling and incompetent - nowhere near as bad as their colleagues at the "Paradise Inn Beach Resort" which is apparently the same owners/management. I had to give this place a thumbs down in the end just because Paradise Inn Beach Resort is so bad and I know it's the same owners. This location is also very loud and noisy (not the hotel's fault but still a fact). Restaurant on the roof is ok for dinner but no good for breakfast or lunch and a bit pricey for the market.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

My wife and I were attending a conference in Alexandria at the famed Bibliotheca Alexandria, and picked the Windsor Palace from the list of choices offered by the conference organizers. By the end of the conference it was the clear consensus of the conferees as the best of the 10 hotels offered to attendees.
The rooftop terrace was awesome - it became the de-facto gathering place after our meetings, and we ended up eating every night there, often joined by those staying at the other hotels. The service was slow, perhaps a cultural thing, but the view and ambiance more than made up for that as we really wanted to linger every night. The included breakfast buffet was also tremendous.
We suggested that the slogan for the hotel should be "faded elegance". The rooms were spotless, albeit faded, and the daily cleaning very thorough. We even caught the staff while cleaning, and saw them in progress, including ironing the sheets in place on the beds.
The front desk personnel were most helpful, including arranging a personal city tour at a very reasonable rate. The wireless internet to the rooms was sporadic, and there was one terminal in the lobby - adequate for our purposes but pretty slow. However, considering where we were, it was fine.
If we ever return to Alexandria, this will definitely be were we will stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sschafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

A previous guest entitled their review 'faded elegance' and I think that's spot on. In years past this would have been a grand hotel with large airy reception rooms and spacious bedrooms. Sadly, the hotel is in need of some sprucing up, but this is not to take away from it's overall charm.

Reception is grand and checking in was quick and easy. The old fashioned lift that dominates the reception area is a real feature, even if it is difficult to manoeuvre large suitcases in and out. We had a large room with a balcony on the fourth floor with a great view directly overlooking the sea.

Unfortunately the hotel is situated on the Corniche, a very busy dual carriageway that runs along the seafront. Anyone who has visited either Cairo or Alexandria will know that it standard practise for drivers to sound their horn to warn other drivers of their presence and so we were treated to a cacophany of car horns blaring throughout the day and night. Strangely, this did not disturb our sleep too greatly, and after we had managed to securly close the large bedroom windows most of the noise was blocked out. Unfortunately, we weren't able to keep the mosquitos out and both my wife and I got badly bitten.

The Windsor Palace is very conveniently located close to a busy shopping area where there are numerous eating places of varying quality. We only had breakfast at the hotel on the 6th floor terrace. Breakfast is fairly ordinary with a basic hot buffet supplemented by cold meats, cheeses, cakes, pastries and warm yoghurts! However, the quality of the food is more than made up for by the panoramic view from the terrace, taking in a large stretch of the Corniche round to the harbour and the Castle. This must be the best view in Alexandria!

Overall, the hotel staff were very helpful and attentive, but if you order a drink from the bar it takes ages to arrive, mainly because they insist on serving every drink with little bowls of nibbles. The most annoying thing was the Duty Manager who kept asking for a tip, even though we had already tipped the waiter!

Despite it's shortcomings the Windsor Palace does have charm and I would recommend it for anyone on a budget and with a short stop-over.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddieSinatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

A good hotel in the centre of town with eay access to all the really good seafood restaurant. Many taxis but not many of the taxi drivers speak english so you need to have your destination written by reception in Arabic.
Service very good.
Food all right but nothing special.
The roof terrace makes this hotel exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthamptonJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

My adult daughter and I spent 2 nights here last month after travelling from Australia to Cairo and by train to Alexandria. We were pleasantly surprised by the ground floor decor and the size of our room - very large with a side balcony view of the sea.

The breakfast in the top floor restaurant was ok by western standards, but avoid the club sandwich in the coffee shop - the worst I have come across, thought it came from the restaurant kitchen.

This hotel is in a good position for walking to all the sites of Alexandria, especially the library and anything on the corniche.

They provide a computer with free internet in a corner of a function room but it was very slow.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneApril2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

excellent hospitality and ambiance.

The location and classic architect were wonderful .

There was a terrible smell in the room, troubles with the AC.
apart from the wonderful breakfast ; cuisine was very poor of no standard nor vegetarian alternatives.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comic_artist_n_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
6.7 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#5 of 39 in Alexandria
1,152 reviews
4.1 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche Hotel
0.2 mi away
Paradise Inn Le Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Philip House Hotel
Philip House Hotel
#39 of 39 in Alexandria
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel
#7 of 39 in Alexandria
497 reviews
3.6 mi away
TOLIP Hotel Alexandria
TOLIP Hotel Alexandria
#9 of 39 in Alexandria
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel

Address: 17 El Shohada Street | from El Gish St, El Mansheya, Alexandria, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $64 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the early 20th century, this historic 4-star hotel is situated directly on Alexandria’s waterfront. Breakfast can be enjoyed on the rooftop terrace with panoramic Corniche views.The elegant rooms of Windsor Palace Hotel offer hand-decorated high ceilings. Each has a balcony, satellite TV and free Wi-Fi. Individually controlled air conditioning is standard in all rooms.Light snacks and refreshments can be enjoyed in the open-air Prince Charles Café with sea views. Decorated with antiques and frescos, the Queen Elizabeth Hall offers fine dining and wine.Guests will be ideally situated in the social and cultural hub of the city. There are several street cafés, shopping boutiques, and seaside promenades nearby. Alexandria Library is 1.5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Palace Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing