We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Inn Le Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paradise Inn Le Metropole Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cape May, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had a great time there in April. Great location and outstanding service
The food is excellent and very reasonable. The staff members are extremely helpful. The workshop was so successful as we got all the assistance needed. I highly recommend the hotel, such a classy place

Room Tip: the suites are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omarico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    87
    42
    10
    14
See reviews for
30
69
29
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Le Metropole was a well keep old skool hotel..........................its got some history to it about a hundred years :P The room was tidy and fit in with the theme from our previous hotel. Needs a kettle in the room! Bathroom facility's are up to par with good water pressure. We had the buffet Breeky it was alryt. Staff were nice and like to smile not a bad thing and they were very helpful......... The hotel isn't far from the library and is just off the con-arch with the light house about 10/5 min away and swimming spots towards the library. Theres a market round there too past the high court somewhere. The Balcony is a gem but the curtains were a mission to get past.. Good location-happy we stayed there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Even though the Windsor and Le Metropole are both part of the Paradise Inn chain, the Le Metropole by far, tops the Windsor(check my reviews of the Windsor). As a start the receptionist and all other staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We checked in very quickly and had an employee come up to the room with us and give us information about the room and breakfast times and so on.

We stayed there twice. The first time for three nights in a sea front, double room for 129$ a night and the second time for one night in a double, back room for 119$. The sea front room had a great view but the old fashioned balcony doors were hard to open because of the curtains and they also would blow open frequently because of the wind but the weather was beautiful so we kept the door open almost all the time anyway.

The bathroom had a broken shower head but they fixed it within an hour of me calling them. The room was clean and comfortable. Now this being an old building the room doors were rickety and the windows too but it was nothing that affected our stay.

The only thing that is better at the Windsor than at the Metropole is the view of the restaurant. The Windsor has a terrace that has an absolutely beautiful view of Alexandria's coast whereas the Metropole has an indoor restaurant with almost no view. The breakfast was good and had a lot of variety and the staff there were very polite and helpful.

The hotel is located in the heart of Alex and the noise and traffic are endless. It didn't affect me personally because I would be up early and out almost all day and I would be back late and sleep like a log. The location is perfect because it is close to everything, the citadel, the Alex library, the souk and the tram station starts right next to the hotel. So if you want to go anywhere by taxi or tram, transportation was always available and easy.

Had great stay and will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sendai, Japan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is truly a legend, something from the sweet oldies, but I think that this hotel became like an old lady now, however it's great location, the noise from the street is very high, and the old-style windows are not helping to reduce this noise. The reception and all employees are excellent & very helpful, but I was a little confused when they asked me for marriage certificate while i'm checking-in, come on man + woman + baby, what do you think?! Room was big as expected with it's 4m+ cell, but it misses a lot! like there was no water boiler, no iron, no clock watch, but it was clean enough. The bath room, here comes the tragedy, first cool water didn't came out, and I called the maintenance and they came quickly and fixed the problem in 15mins, then at late night i decided to use the spa bath, there was like huge leakage and it was huge risk of electric shock if I turned the Jacuzzi on, so i just decided to not use it.
Good Points:
Great location - friendly & helpful staff - big rooms - a lot of interesting places around - free parking in the most expensive parking-lot in Alex
Bad Points:
Poor maintenance - price is not very fair for condition of the room & facilities - breakfast was ok but not that special and I personal expected more

Room Tip: Try to test everything in the room once you arrive, and I my room was at the 2nd floor, and the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osama-alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in January. The decor in the hotel takes you back to a time when I would imagine the area outside the hotel may have been as nice as the hotel. My room was extremely nice but the noise from the street outside kept me awake. The bathroom was a bit of a let down compared to the room. The reception area is stunning, so nice and the restaurant is so old and has a great atmosphere, I think the management must have gone out of their way to get waiters that blend in with the decor. If your in Alexandria I would recommend a short stay at this hotel but not too long.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ukjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

the positve things are multiple: location, very nice staff....helpful and respectful; free with good signal internet; breakfast with fresh juices; flexible as they added non-charged bed for our daughter, and nonehteless the old decor and rooms. negative none in my opinion as short stay for buisness

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hssnrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

i was there last December, this exquisite hotel is more like a palace than a regular hotel with a very old (but elegant) elevator. rooms are very simple but very clean average in size, the view from the window is one of the most beautiful scenes u can see in ur life (the Mediterranean). breakfast is superb with everything you need (i loved the fresh juices most), the employees are very welcoming, very helpful and caring. the location is awesome (10 min walk from Alexandria bibliotheque). shops are very near with a good quality of leather, i certainly recommend it for anyone.

Room Tip: choose a room with sea view, a little expensive but deserves
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RababE31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.9 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche
Romance Alexandria Corniche
#6 of 38 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel
#7 of 38 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#3 of 38 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tolip
Tolip
#11 of 38 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cherry Maryski Hotel
Cherry Maryski Hotel
#9 of 38 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Inn Le Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn Le Metropole Hotel

Property: Paradise Inn Le Metropole Hotel
Address: 52 Saad Zaglol Street | Raml Station, Alexandria, Alexandria 21599, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Inn Le Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an 18th century building with classical decorations and stunning views of the Mediterranean, Le Metropole boasts 2 French restaurants and elegantly furnished rooms with a balcony. Le Metropole's rooms are decorated with luxurious fabrics and include free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, satellite TV and daily newspapers. Each room has a modern bathroom. An extensive breakfast buffet is served daily in the breakfast room. For dinner, Les Ambassadeurs Restaurant serves French, seasonal cuisine. The Versailles restaurant also serves French meals, but in a Louis XIV-style setting with daily piano music. The 24-hour front desk at Le Metropole can arrange car rentals, dry cleaning services and recommend attractions and restaurants in the surroundings. Free parking is available. The hotel is situated a 2-minute walk from the El Raml Train Station and the sandy beaches. The library of Alexandria is 1.5 Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Paradise Inn Le Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing