We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical palace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Farouk Palace

King Farouk Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.00*
and up
Private Alexandria Highlights Guided Day Tour
Ranked #11 of 74 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This sprawling property was the summer home of controversial King Farouk who assumed power at the age of 16 in 1936.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Historical palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

This palace is very fantastic one, it is one of the most important attractions in Alexandria, one must visit. this place is historical, has a nice beach, huge gardens,5 stars restaurants, high recommended

Helpful?
Thank osamaelhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    36
    13
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I've seen many wonderful buildings in Alexandria, but this one stands out a mile. The history behind this building is worth a Google search if you have the time. My only wish is that tourists could take a peek inside. I have been told that many years ago it was open to the public. Try and visit when it's sunset.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stevie510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
788 reviews
265 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Admire from a distance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Seems like a love hate relationship. This historical site is probably hated for what it once stood for, but now loved for it's beauty and grandeur. Can't go beyond the gates, but the grounds and the building are magnificient. One of the many interesting features of Alexandria.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank must_travel_soon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Beautiful palace and Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Even we cannot enter the Palace and only can see it from outside but this Palace really beautifull completed with the beautiful lanscape Garden. I was enjoy my self by sitting in the garden overlooking the blue sea. It was wonderfull moment and imagine how was the King before choice is beautiful location.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Masrura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Egyptian Identity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place i adore so much, it is one of the most important attractions in Alexandria, one must visit. this place is historical, elegant, has a nice beach, hurge historical gardens,5 stars restaurants.hotels, so this place got it all
it shows a part of the living history of Egypt.The King Farouk Palace was the summer home for the king; who was looked upon as the most controversial king of Egypt.
The palace is spread over a huge sprawling property located near the sea shore. The architectural design is mesmerizing and very intriguing. It was built by Italian Venice style. If you wanted to stay beside it i recommend Palestine hotel in Muntazah.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank samerelsayary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Farouk Palace also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to King Farouk Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing