We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in all respects” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Union Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value in all respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2009

Entrance is on a side street from the Corniche --- our double bedded room had a balcony over looking the Corniche and the Eastern Harbour, the room was clean and although the Corniche was below, it was quite at night with the balcony doors closed... Great location, and the view from the breakfast area in Reception was a stunning start to our days in Alexandria. The staff were very friendly and when we reported a problem with our shower they ensured it was fixed quickly for us. Great value for the price paid and if back in Alexandria we will definetely stay again. This was a great hotel to start our Egyptian tour in and would recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank livkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
10
23
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

For US$20 a night you're right on the Corniche in Alexandria, Egypt. The rooms were adequate, bathroom a bit smallish, not hospital clean but good enough. Our room had a sliding glass door onto a balcony. The sliding door wouldn't lock, and of course the hotel management was very surprised and would take care of it. But of course nothing happened. But other than that we weren't chewed alive by bed bugs or giant cockroaches, or anything; it was very uneventful. What's great about the Union is the breakfast room with the scenic windows where you have a wide vista of the entire ocean front, or corniche. Breakfast is of the continental type. Yasar's travel hint: eat fish! For a great fish dinner try the Fish Market on the Corniche and or kadoura which on a little street up near the Fort. Take a tram for 50 piasters, get off after it makes a sharp bent to the left. Kadoura is like eating in an old mafia restaurant in Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

We had stayed in Union Hotel in early Feb, 2009. We pre-booked 4 delux rooms on the top floor but was only given 3 rooms when we arrived (and 1 in lower floor), but after negotiating the hotel fulfilled our requirements without too much hassle.

The rooms are clean and the view was great. I would stay there again if I have the chance.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HopeXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

Although I stayed here a while ago I'll still give some feedback. It's right on the water front and I didn't book but just rolled up. Risky but good to do in Egypt as you can negotiate the room and cost. My friend and I bot had the room facing the left of the building and at the front.. awesome. From my balcony i could see the Ocean and hear the sounds of life outside. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good enough to get you rolling, boiled egg, coffee, cheese, toast, jam and a croissant. The view from the front foyer is superb. I will stay here again no problem. Great for travellers and the budget conscious.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottdamion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

We just got back from a one month stay in Egypt. The Cecil Hotel was my hotel of choice in Alexandria, but no more. The Union has it all. We had a huge room with a full bath, great beds and pillows, Huge balcony with a super view of the sea and the corniche. A call gets you tea ,croissant , bread,egg, butter and jams in your room. Truly the best deal in town , a stone thought away from the best shopping and all you nead to have a great time in Alex. We even had a full fridge and air cond. Go all out and take the rooms on the top floors as they are all newly renovated, Once again we loved our stay at the Union.

Samir and Vasiliki from Montreal Canada.

  • Liked — The room the wiew the price
  • Disliked — The street entrance
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BessieCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2008

When I phoned the hotel to book a room they were fully booked, but could offer me a room without a bathroom. When I arrived I was given a large nice room with bathroom and a balcony. The price was only a third of what I paid for a not so nice hotel in Cairo. The room a Union hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. The room did not have air condition, but the temperature in Alexandria in not so hot as other places in Egypt, so the big fan in the room did more than enough to keep the room cool during my stay. There were some construction work in most of the floor where I stayed, but this did not disturb me at all. If all rooms are as nice as the one I had, the hotel can definitely be recommended, especially to younger people who are on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorDivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

The Union is definitely the best value in Alex. The tip I can give is pay the little extra for the deluxe rooms on the top floor. They are still dirt cheap & worth it. Better than more expensive hotels we checked out in Alex. Nice sized balcony overlooking the coastline. You can even buy beer & wine to take to your room - how civilised!! Sure, like so many lower priced hotels in Egypt you have to pass through a fairly unsolubrious entry & up in a lift to get to the hotel, but the room itself was large, clean with good bathroom, balcony, TV, personnelly coded safe & great views. Staff friendly & helpful.Location right on the corniche. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — value/location
  • Disliked — entry
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank darrellhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Inn Le Metropole Hotel
8.4 mi away
Alexandria Mediterranean Suites
0.8 mi away
Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche
Romance Alexandria Corniche
#6 of 38 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.0 mi away
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel
#7 of 38 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Transit Alexandria
Hotel Transit Alexandria
#15 of 53 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Hotel

Property: Union Hotel
Address: 164 Sharia 26th, Alexandria 21599, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing