We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views of the Ocean!”
Review of Union Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Views of the Ocean!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I had a great experience at this place. The rooms have a wonderful view of the coast. The lobby is equipped with big expansive windows and yet another great view of the oceanside. The rooms were a good value. The water heater is not working in the main bathroom, this was a slight annoyance because I wasn't told about this problem, nor was I instructed that the other bathroom indeed had a working water heater.

The staff was very friendly...with the exception of the lady working on the last day of my stay. I told her I would like to change my room, initially she struggled to understand my request. When repeated the request again (politely) she responded by snapping at me! I felt this behavior was uncalled for and rude. There was some confusion about which room I wanted, this was not my fault! Confusingly, there were two sets of numbers on the room--10 and 17!

If I didn't have the experience with the rude woman, I would of given this place 5 out of 5. It's not too much to ask staff members to be courteous when they struggle to understand your English -- and vice versa

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have a fantastic view of the ocean. For the shared rooms, if you want hot water u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
10
23
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Union Hotel is placed right on the promenade of Alexandria, close to all facilities. It is at the 5th and 6th floor of an old building. Like the building, the hotel has seen better times. In the lounge paint is falling from the ceiling, in our room the paint was coming of as well. We had a double room with seaview (EGP 200/€21 incl.breakfast) which was very noisy because of the constantly hooting cars on the street in front. A/C was working (even heating for the winter) and we had hot water. If you take a room, make sure you get fresh towels, the linen is complete and clean, toiletpaper and soap is in the bathroom. Breakfast is nothing great but nourishing, the staff is quite nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_Mulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms are nice,clean reception area and lounge, the staff are very helpful,specially Evon and Magda from the reception desk and very informative,the only thing that would be disappointing here is the shocking over priced room rates even for rooms without shower or A/C

Room Tip: Insist to have a room by over looking the sea not from the side street,they have that,but they try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank berlinhotelcairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This place has a great view and great tea/room service. It's definately a little rough for accommodations, but really it's fine for a night or two when traveling on a budget. I wouldnt want to spend a week here though.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Union hotel is situated on very good location. The single room with side view paid 90 Egyptian pounds was very spacious with.personal huge bathroom. And the common area was quite spacious as well. BUT no special ambiance. cleanness was not enough, the water pressure was too weak so that I had to give up to take a shower. Another biggest problem is NO Wi-Fi in the rooms. Guests should go to the common area where used to be a bit crammed with local males and no enough power outlets to plug in and infested by mosquitoes and a bit noisy. When I called to the hotel to make a reservation, the girl who used to stay in the desk in the morning, was quite blunt,unfriendly. The ceiling of hotel was very low, paint has been flaking off. The staffs are not communicative each other. But this hotel have a good view of sea, the price was very good compared to e Cairo accommodation. But also you can find out many places with better prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ararattraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Well located on the corniche with beautiful views. Staff are friendly and helpful, also a friendly atmosphere with many families as guests. Rooms were clean & basic, slow wifi in the lobby only. All together very pleasant for a simple, budget hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyfellow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbleton, Quebec
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is very well situated on the main waterfront road in Alexandria. The view from our room with a balcony was fantastic! Left or right, we were amazed by the seafront. Our room was confortable, but the floors were not clean at all! Probably this floor has'nt seen soap for a long while... And the shower curtain in the bathroom was mushrooming! The man who served us continental breakfeast never had a smile unless we gave him bakchich! And he managed to forget or the jam or the coffee or the sugar each of our 3 mornings. The tables were not cleaned unless we insisted on him doing it. Wifi was slow but was working. To sum up, a decent hotel for a decent rate but apart from the view nothing to get too excited about!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierreD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.3 mi away
Philip House Hotel
Philip House Hotel
#38 of 38 in Alexandria
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Inn Le Metropole Hotel
0.1 mi away
Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel
#7 of 38 in Alexandria
491 reviews
4.0 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche Hotel
3.8 mi away
San Giovanni Hotel
San Giovanni Hotel
#20 of 38 in Alexandria
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Hotel

Property: Union Hotel
Address: 164 Sharia 26th, Alexandria 21599, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing