We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$162
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Alexandria Mediterranean Suites(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$194
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Romance Alexandria Corniche Hotel(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$117
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$199
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexander the Great Hotel(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$46
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$115
$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$63
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $56/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveler rating
191
152
62
21
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
152
62
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal palaceopen seaprivate beachold palacegarden viewhotel is locatedmediterranean seanice viewsea waterswimming poolopen buffetfood qualityfree internetroom servicevisit alexandriarooms are cleanwonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 444 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2009

The hotel is set in the grounds of a palace and the gardens are amazing and worth a walk around.
We had a lovely room overlooking the med and a lagoon with a balcony.Tea and coffee were provided along with two free bottles of water.The bathroom had good towels and toiletries.The room was tastefully decorated and was clean and comfortable.
Dinner was very good and we had a buffet - lots of different meditteranean cuisine all well cooked and the soup was good too. The desserts were very good and were swet and sticky,there were fruit options too.Breakfast was again a buffet with lots of cereals,bread ,fruit,cheeses,cold cuts and yoghurts.
The staff were very friendly and eager to help.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShrewsburyChefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

This hotel is situated in the grounds of King Farouk's old palace in Alexandria and is surrounded by lush gardens. It says its the best hotel in Alex but Im afraid that its not.

First impresions are good - large clean reception area and friendly check in. The room was quite nice, over looking the sea and the palace but too many things in the room, little niggly things, are not right. The shower/bath combination glass was dirty - the loo did not work properly, the tea/coffee maker was on the blink etc etc. The little things that take the edge off a good hotel. Otherwise the room was comfortable.

The big let down is the food/restaurants. It lacks a decent restuarant and the food that is served in the one functioning restaurant they have is not really up to scratch - the breakfast buffet, for example was very poor indeed.

Internet access in the rooms is fine and there is a nice swimming pool.

The locals seem to love it and it is full of Egyptians at night time - I saw very few foreigners and thats either a good thing or a bad thing depending on your point of view.

In summary, its an OK hotel but definitely not 5 star like it says - I would give it 3 and1/2 stars but if you want real quality, there are better hotels in Alex.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnindee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

It's one of the biggest hotels in Alexandria, and is located in a very prime area, close to the beach and the shopping complexes.

The rooms we stayed in were not the expensive ones, and therefore quite dingy, but they were a hop-skip and jump to the pool, which is absolutely marvelous!

The breakfast was good, staff very friendly, so overall, our experience was quite pleasant. I would definitely recommend it for budget travelers as well.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mathanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I stayed at Helnan Palestine as part of the INSIGHT tour program. We are about 30 people, mostly Australian and Canadian. The interior of the hotel and the room were ok, but it’s the rudeness of the staff that I cannot stand it. During our stay there, Internet in the business center was constantly down. On the first day, when I bought Internet card, nobody in the front desk (we bought the card from front desk) told me that Internet was currently down. After dinner that day around 9PM I tried the Internet again but still down, then I head to my room to sleep. Since the next day was our check-out date, I tried again next morning at 6AM before our group check-out of the hotel. Guess what, Internet was still down. Then one of the most embarrassing moments in my life occurred. When I told the staff at the business center that I could not use the Internet, without checking the system, he rudely told me that I need to buy a new card. He said that he saw me the day before in the BC and it seemed that he thought I already used the Internet the day before. I told him nicely that I did not use Internet yesterday or today since the Internet was down and my card still had full value. Without checking that the Internet system was down or not, he called one of the bellboys and told him to ‘guard’ me to front desk to buy Internet card. I was so angry and complained to the front desk staff. The front desk staff told me that Internet was indeed down. When I complained that Internet was also down yesterday, he replied that it was not true as the service was up beginning 11PM (!!?). When I told him that I would like to refund the card since I could not use it, he told me that I need to make a signed statement. When I asked why? He told me since he could not tell for sure whether I lied (??!) or not about the $5 (yes $5) card being used. Restraining myself from a full angry outburst, I told him that he surely can easily check in his system whether the card has been used or not. He replied that he did not know how to do it since he is not an IT guy. Then I wrote a formal letter of complain to Ms. Hanan Wefky, the GM about the situation. Until now, not a single word of apology from her or the hotel eventhough I clearly mentioned my email address in my complain letter. Surprisingly, few days after I gave my complain letter to the front-desk staff, my email started to receive pornographic junk mails constantly every day until now. I really regret staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanna07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

I think that you come here for the views and surroundings -- in the gardens, looking over the water --on a nice day the views are great. A number of locals we met told us that they thought it was the best hotel in Alexandria for views.

It is on the edge of the city --which given Alexandria is very long on the coast can mean that you're quite a way from some of the places, particularly when there is traffic.For us that was outweighed by the views and gardens (particularly as the room was comfortable enough, although I wouldn't put it much higher.) It might depend what you are looking for --particularly if you can pick accomodation up at a reasonable discount to the list price.

Don't expect much in the way of service --much of the staff was friendly but there were a number of men around the concierge desk/entrance that seemed to make a run for it whenever a guest came along! They had no map and eventually gave us a book with events in the city for 2006; tried to talk us into taking some car or other to the city rather than a taxi by tripling the likely price of a taxi (compared to what the same guy had told us the night before that the taxi price would be!); I found when checking my credit card statement that the hotel had put the accomodation charges through twice --I assume by accident.

I sympathise with the reviewers who were trying to get some problems sorted -- I did have the impression that unless you were lucky enough to find the right person, anything like that would be difficult. One night we were there there were one or two large tour groups that went through -- I would be a little worried about trying to get much attention then (or when the place was very busy in summer) if you needed it.

However I don't want to sound negative about it. We enjoyed our time there, with the views, the bar etc staff and no dramas to speak of. If you don't have expectations that are too high, and are reasonably self sufficient, it is probably a good place if the price is right!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vague travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews