We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Helnan Palestine Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alexandria Mediterranean Suites(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$194
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Radisson Blu Hotel, Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Giovanni Hotel(Alexandria)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$88
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$115
$71
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Romance Alexandria Corniche Hotel(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$47
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$200
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
$71
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveler rating
180
147
62
21
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
147
62
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal palaceopen seaprivate beachmontazah gardensold palacepalace viewhotel is locatednice viewmediterranean seasea viewswimming poolopen buffetroom viewfood qualityspent nightsvisit alexandriaroom service
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 428 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The room was nicely appointed, but had no milk or spoons for the tea/coffee and a welcome fruit platter with green inedible fruit. Overall our stay was disappointing due to the terrible service in the restaurant. Our group paid extra for a "special meal" for the evening and it was meant to be a buffet (OK so buffets may not be special in general but we had endured several days of very mediocre food at other places). There was no buffet, it was a set menu and some of the food was simply inedible (I've had tinned chicken soup that tasted better). At the table there were...no soup spoons (until we asked), no water glasses, no salt or pepper, no serviettes, no butter, no side plates, and the power went of three times during the meal. The drinks waiter was nothing short of rude.. before the meal we waited 15 minutes and eventually found someone to take our order, eventually one of the four drinks came (gin and tonic with no ice, no straw, no mixing spoon), after waiting another 10 minutes we enquired about the other three drinks for the table and were treated as though we were being unreasonbly impatient (there were less than 10 people in the entire restaurant!). this waiters attitude was quite insolent as though he resented tourists/foreigners. I would definitely not stay at this hotel again because it was such an unpleasant experience. Sleep quality was also poor due to an unusually loud call to prayer speaker near our room waking us before daylight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YassmineRefaat, Online Revenue Supervisor at Helnan Palestine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Have a nice day from Helnan Palestine Hotel,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with Helnan Palstine Hotel ,Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your comments have been reviewed by the hotel’s management and appropriate action has been taken to ensure a situation of this nature will not be repeated in the future.

Again, please accept our sincere apologies. We hope you will continue to use Helnan Palestine hotel as your lodging of choice.

Look forward to welcoming you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from Helnan Palestine Hotel.

For any inquiries please don’t hesitate to contact us .

Best Regards ,
Yassmine Refaat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have booked this hotel at a good price.....given the season and location otherwise it would have been really overrated

1.Breakfast was average.....baked items was not fresh....the egg station is not as good as other 5 star hotels
2. The entrance to the hotel requires entrance to Montazah Park with a specific card which the reception failed to give us on check-in. we had to pay on our way back first night.....it put a damper on our perfectly good day since we had to go to the reception to claim our entrance fee....we were received by two people who had no idea about hospitality and actually one of them suggested that we ladies should have just run with our car past the gate to avoid the ticket desperado style.....finally the on call manager resolved it for us .........

3.The swimming pool size is a joke for the size and location of the hotel.....the cabins on the pool are oddly located
4.The room service was good ,timely , but expensive as expected
5.The hotel does not have a beach in the normal sense.....its rather a first line view of the sea and the area where you get to access the sea is really dirty and un-inviting

The Montazah Palace is eye candy architecture

The working crew have this odd habit of screening the balconies as early as 6 am which is rather uncomfortable if you plan on using your balcony

Would recommend this place only if its at a discount price as its location in Alexandria is optimum given heavy traffic

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellermimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YassmineRefaat, Online Revenue Supervisor at Helnan Palestine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Have a nice day from Helnan Palestine Hotel,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with Helnan Palstine Hotel ,Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your comments have been reviewed by the hotel’s management and appropriate action has been taken to ensure a situation of this nature will not be repeated in the future.

Again, please accept our sincere apologies. We hope you will continue to use Helnan Palestine hotel as your lodging of choice.

Look forward to welcoming you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from Helnan Palestine Hotel.

For any inquiries please don’t hesitate to contact us .

Best Regards ,
Yassmine Refaat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

One of the best hotels in Alexandria and surely the best location as well, it is located in Montazah area - the most beautiful place in Alexandria in my opinion - which consists mainly of large gardens (the former royal gardens of King Faruk, the last king of Egypt) away from the traffic and tense of the city, and at the same time not far away from it.
It is surrounded by wonderful palaces & gardens which make a spectacular view in front of the Mediterranean. The food is extremely delicious and it is open buffet.
Montazah area also has many beautiful restaurants and cafes, but the most important one is Zanilis Restaurant & Cafe beside Helnan Palestine Hotel, just walk for 100 metres from the hotel until the wooden bridge, then cross it to the other side and turn right, then VOILA.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amreltouny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YassmineRefaat, Online Revenue Supervisor at Helnan Palestine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Have a nice day From Helnan Palestine Hotel

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Helnan Palestine Hotel and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is always good to receive your feedback. Thanks a million for taking the time to advise us. We place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Helnan.

I look forward to hosting you once more at Helnan Palestine Hotel in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards,
Yassmine Refaat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The location is good. Took a walk in the garden. Good service . The beach is very small. There are no rooms for triple as stated on the website. Good place for a weekend rest. Traffic in Alexandria can be a bit hectic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YassmineRefaat, Online Revenue Supervisor at Helnan Palestine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Have a nice day From Helnan Palestine Hotel

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Helnan Palestine Hotel and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is always good to receive your feedback. Thanks a million for taking the time to advise us. We place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Helnan.

I look forward to hosting you once more at Helnan Palestine Hotel in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards,
Yassmine Refaat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night. Our room was spacious and had a nice bath. Our small balcony overlooked lovely garden area in the front of the hotel. Rather than venturing out that night we chose to stay in and eat at their outdoor restaurant (pizza) while enjoying the magnificent view of the Mediterranean. Quite a memorable experience for us. Would recommend this hotel if you ever visit this very historical city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kauaigirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YassmineRefaat, Online Revenue s at Helnan Palestine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Have a nice day From Helnan Palestine Hotel

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Helnan Palestine Hotel and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is always good to receive your feedback. Thanks a million for taking the time to advise us. We place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Helnan.

I look forward to hosting you once more at Helnan Palestine Hotel in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards,
Yassmine Refaat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews