We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Room but a lot of noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Room but a lot of noise”
Reviewed August 30, 2007

The hotel was really nice with big rooms but unfortunately this one was located in a shopping Mall. In fact there is really a lot of noise until 1 in the morning but after one week you will be used to.
The shopping center is not a bad one and you can enjoy shopping there. The restaurant is not very good and extremely expensive. We went on for a buffet but only once, because first of all even if the buffet was big it took us a lot of time to find something which looked good (was not necessarily) and of course because of the price.

  • Liked — The room was very big with a nice bathroom
  • Disliked — noise, far from the city center
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gutech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevinehaggar, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writting a review on trip advisor.

Regards
Nevine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    303
    85
    44
    20
See reviews for
257
87
69
586
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2007

The hotel is located inside a mall highly frequented by the locals. We stayed in this hotel and used it as a base to discover the north coast because we couldn't find any recommended and known hotel in that region. Anyway the check-in was cold, not even a welcome word and took forever. Once we walked inside the wing where our room located, there was a strong smell and even stronger inside the room, that was the carpet; I think it was never washed. The room was big with nice furniture. The bathroom was clean with showers in one end and bathtub in the other end. But the main issue was the A/C, it was too loud and we couldn't turn it off because it was too hot. The room service was mediocre and I had to call twice to get a baby cot for my son.
Breakfast buffet was ok with no many choices and of course a lot of bread as usual in the egyptian hotels. Overall it was ok eventhough it didn't respect the Hilton tradition that we used to.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevinehaggar, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writting a review on trip advisor.

Regards
Nevine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 22, 2006

I try to avoid the Hilton chain, because whilst the quality varies from mediocre to excellent the prices are generally at the top end of the range. This one is expensive and mediocre. It cost the same as the Four Seasons in Cairo, which is superb.

The hotel is low rise, on the second floor of a giant mall, with shops and cafes on the lower floors and a multiplex cinema adjacent. The mall is very popular in the summer with the Alexandria smart set, and the rooms can thus be very noisy until late at night.

The clientele was mainly Egyptian holiday makers, with a smattering of expatriates. The latter are mainly on crew change from offshore, technicians, or visitors to the local oil and gas facilities. The TV reflects this - arabic and Italian, I guess for the folks from Agip.

The rooms are a generous size and mine was recently refurbished and very pleasant, although the bathroom was tired and had mould. The aircon is very noisy, which helps drown out some of the noise from outside. I suspect the quality of the rooms varies - at check in the (very pleasant) clerk offered me 'a room now or a nice room in half an hour'. I waited.

The restaurant is nothing special - try the Chinese or the 'Cordon Rouge' on the upper floor of the mall near the multiplex. Breakfast is unappealing and the service is surly.

Laundry is excellent and dirt cheap.

Colleagues tell me the only real alternative for westerners to the Hilton in Alexandria is the Palestine, which is quiet but at the wrong end of town for the oil and gas facilities. I'll try it next time!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevinehaggar, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writting a review on trip advisor.

Regards
Nevine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2006

I stayed in the hotel for 3 weeks on business in January! Hotel is okay but far from 5 star! Lobby etc looks nice but rooms aren't the cleanest! The biggest thing to watch out for is the noise! There are around 15 rooms in the hotel located directly above a bar/disco which blares music from7pm until 4am at least 4 days a week! It is so bad there is no way on earth you can sleep until the music stops!

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reidy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevinehaggar, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writting a review on trip advisor.

Regards
Nevine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2006

Located amongst a series of shops in a pretty decent Mall. My room overlooked the Mall and the noise from people chatting in the cafe below during the evening, esecially after 11pm and beyond was really disturbing. The hotel is on a single level running above the shopping area so certain rooms are really close to noisy places.

I asked for and got a room change the next night.

Overall, not a bad hotel but no free bottled water was supplied in the room - unlike any hotel in such locations that I have been in. Free bottled water was only avilable for Hilton Honors members!

My first room was pretty dirty with crumbs and stains on the carpets and hairs in the bathroom. It was only when I transferred to the much cleaner second room that it was evident that dirt was not the normal standard there.

I suspect someone had not been taking their work seriously.

Overall, of a standard I have come to expect from Hilton Hotels - low!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannymcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevinehaggar, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writting a review on trip advisor.

Regards
Nevine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2004

I just returned from a weekend at the Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza, and to be honest, it was better than I heard! I drove to the hotel from Cairo, and for a visitor, the hotel seemed to be in a tough location! The hotel is located in the Green Plaza complex, with 360 shops, cinemas, restaurants, and the like. As for the actual hotel, it lives up to its five-star standards. The lobby is welcoming and comfortably-furnished, and the staff are warm and very attentive; they're after guest satifaction! Our rooms were ramarkably spacious at over 40 square meters... The views are over the mall plaza, so they are nothing to write home about, but otherwise, the room was very clean, the windows were large (allowing natural light), and the bathroom (complete with bathtub and separate shower) even came with two windows! There was plenty of workspace, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The food (breakfast at the main restaurant and dinner from room service) was delicious, and the facilities are good. Overall, a great, comfortable hotel that meets travellers' expectations.

Helpful?
17 Thank Khaled B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevinehaggar, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writting a review on trip advisor.

Regards
Nevine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
4.0 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#3 of 38 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
2.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria
17.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche Hotel
2.1 mi away
Tolip
Tolip
#10 of 38 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
6.5 mi away
Helnan Palestine Hotel
Helnan Palestine Hotel
#8 of 38 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza

Property: Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza
Address: 14th of May Bridge Road | Smouha, Alexandria 21599, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shop until you drop at the Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza hotel in the Green Plaza Mall, with 370 shops, a cinema and a Fun Castle. Do business in the largest conference room in Alexandria or the Executive Lounge, just 10 minutes from the airport. Relax later in the pool, or sample the 6 bars and restaurants Property Highlights- Executive Floor and Lounge - Largest ballroom in the city - Outdoor swimming pool with cabanas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza Hotel Alexandria
Hilton International Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing