We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Disappointing Hotel Ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed March 25, 2010

My points for the very low rating:

1) Indifferent management -- When we checked in, I noticed the guy at the counter was taking too much time for I don't know what. Considering that we were rushing to catch a couple of sights open as we were there only for an overnight stay (with early flight the next day), this was a great concern for me so I politely requested if he could rush a bit our check-in and explained the situation. After looking at me while I was talking, NO REACTION and he proceeded just the same. I repeated and instead of responding to my request, he responded saying that he will charge us a higher rate, which brings me to my 2nd point.

2) Hidden Charges -- The guy at the concierge informed us that he will have to charge us an additional fee as 2 persons are checking in. What th...?!! Now, I don't really mind if this is the policy but I just hate, really hate when they only tell you at the last minute, when you're already there as if they are doing it on purpose, hiding these additional fees. And adding insult to injury, he was insisting on this while not even addressing my initial concern of rushing the check-in process.

3) Very, very poor quality of bathroom -- photos say more than enough. Very, very disappointed about this considering they ought to be protecting the Hilton brand.

4) Even locals don't know the direction to this hotel -- our driver was a local, he didn't know the place, asked a couple of locals as well who pointed us to different directions, which also cost us to lose some time for the sights. so don't expect locals to know this hotel even if it's a Hilton. Also, considering that the location is within the city, it says how much 'hidden' it is. Like the other reviews say, it is in a very weird location: need to drive in a path that leads to a mall. Somewhere there is the Hilton.

Now, the worst thing is that there isn't really a better alternative with comparable rates that is within the same vicinity. There is the Blu Radisson but it's located out of nowhere (we passed by it on the way to the airport) with construction going on in the nearby vicinity and pretty much nothing to do. At least with the Hilton, there is a mall literally within the same area/compound that is open until 1am.

My last words of advice: unless you can lower your expectations to the grave, better save up for the Four Seasons Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevinehaggar, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writting a review on trip advisor.

Regards
Nevine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,191 - 1,197 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2010

Nice, inexpensive by Hilton standards, but weirdly situated in a shopping mall with long labyrinth-like corridors. We got upgraded and the room was great, as were the staff even at 4:30 in the morning when we needed a ride to the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingAuntieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevinehaggar, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writting a review on trip advisor.

Regards
Nevine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

The Service received from the Staff was good, the room was OK (somewhat noisy from outside sounds) but the location and some elements of the hotels are the poorest I have ever seen in a Hilton hotel.

The gym is an absolute joke. There are 2 gyms, one for men and one for women. From my female colleague I understood the female gym is in equal bad condition as the mens gym. There was one TV, with no sound and all buttons were broken. Could only switch it on or off. The view from the gym was a construction site on the hotel grounds which was out of order for a long period of time. The pool looked OK, but because of the view I wouldnt spend any time there.

The Breakfast offering was limited in choice but OK in quality and in line with Hilton standards.

The reception, doorman and cleaning staff were all very friendly and helpful.

I booked a car at the hotel, seemed a 3rd party operator, who tried to rip me off. First by overcharging 40 pounds (the hidden price list) and then nog giving the correct change.

Im never going to stay at this hotel anymore.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vastgotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevinehaggar, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writting a review on trip advisor.

Regards
Nevine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

My colleague and I spent one week at this Hotel.

My room was fine but his was shabby. Check in was very slow and took forever. My room looked down onto a shopping mall; his looked down onto building site. Both rooms were subject to external noise into the small hours.

Breakfast was the worst I have ever experienced in a hotel of this class. The buffet food was cold as were the plates. You were not supposed to serve yourself coffee and the staff seemed disinclined to serve you either. We could not face dining in this restaurant in the evening, so we used the pool restaurant called Splash. This was well staffed and the food was good.

On check out it was impossible to get my credit card to work for some time, just what you need when trying to get to the airport.

I am afraid Hilton like Holiday Inn is a hotel group on the way down

We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevinehaggar, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writting a review on trip advisor.

Regards
Nevine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Before reserving , i had the image of the nice view of the Hilton Pyramids..and the moment i entered through the green plaza area, i was stunned ! I cannot understand the idea of having a renowned hotel in this area and no efforts are obviously done to emphasize its presence , or even its entrance, but again, i imagine it might be far off fetched for the area . I kept thinking if the hotel was built first and then the mall and area around it, or vice-versa..like "who's the bad guy here "?
Basically, if you're on a business trip , then you might want to settle for it . However, for the same price , you can be at an another hotel , with straight sea view and beautiful Alexandria corniche . So price wise, it's surely overrated.
My room view was unexpectedly shocking : i was facing ruins of some sort , over a nasty looking shopping mall. i am very surprised Hilton management cannot do something about that.
To go to a ballroom event, one has to walk down the street , in the heat, through the overcrowded place and if you have a car, you'd have to unpark it to park it again , i think it's silly and unfriendly .
Neverthless, rooms are spacious, clean , food is ok , staff is very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amiramour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevinehaggar, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writting a review on trip advisor.

Regards
Nevine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

This is an Egyptian Hilton which, typically of all Egyptian 3 or 4 star hotels has a lovely and friendly helpful staff but who lack in efficiency.

The location is in a busy shopping Mall which is great if you want to do a bit of shopping but terrible if you happen to have a room that faces onto the Mall - the noise is terrible. Also, don't come here for a holiday - the facilities are not great and its obvious that its more of a businessmans hotel. Having said that, the business centre doesn't work - if you want to send a fax, for example, you have to go to a booth beside reception and have it sent by the hotel operator. If you want money changed - they can't do it at reception and the automatic note changer in the lobby, to which you are directed, does not work either !

IT and intenet access is OK in the rooms but go for the hard wired option !

The rooms are typically clean and tidy Hilton - the usual amenities but with a few flaws - no ashtrays in the smoking rooms, tea and coffee provided but no cups to drink them out of - that sort of minor little thing which were not corrected even when complained about.

Food is pretty poor but thats not unusual in Egypt where you "pays your money" if you want an hotel where the food is good.

In summary - friendly and Egyptian - don't expect world class Hilton standards though.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Johnindee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevinehaggar, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writting a review on trip advisor.

Regards
Nevine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

I booked this as it was a five star Hilton, absolutely no way does it meet either criteria, the whole experience was poor, the rooms were tatty although clean but this is no five star hotel and the only way you knew it was a Hilton was the few bits of stationery with the logo. I am a tolerant traveller and not prone to complain but in this instance I wish to advise other travellers not to be duped as I was.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oceanvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevinehaggar, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writting a review on trip advisor.

Regards
Nevine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
4 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#4 of 38 in Alexandria
1,229 reviews
2.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria
22.3 mi away
Hilton Alexandria King's Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
#12 of 38 in Alexandria
608 reviews
2.1 mi away
TOLIP Hotel Alexandria
TOLIP Hotel Alexandria
#10 of 38 in Alexandria
419 reviews
17.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza

Address: 14th of May Bridge Road | Smouha, Alexandria 21599, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Spa Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $153 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Egypt’s second largest city, Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza offers contemporary accommodation and a wealth of business and leisure amenities. Dine in one of the six restaurants & bars, relax by the outdoor & indoor pool or make the most of our superb conference facilities, including the city’s largest ballroom and meeting space. Located inside one of Egypt’s largest shopping malls in Smouha business district, the hotel makes the ideal base for visiting nearby attractions, such as Qaitbay Fort and Bibliotheca Alexandrina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza Hotel Alexandria
Hilton International Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing