We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel in nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
USA and South Africa
Level Contributor
171 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in nice location”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

A very nice hotel on a busy road overlooking the sea and palace park. What a relief (after Cairo and Port Said) to be in what seems like a nicer city, and a wonderfully clean hotel! US standards are in evidence here, with comfortable beds, clean floors and bathrooms (first time in a week in Eygpt!), TV with several channels in various languages (although CNN was frozen, and never worked during our 3-night stay – terrible satellite connection problems, it appeared), a nice small gym on the basement level (2 treadmills, an elliptical machine, a stair stepper, 2 bikes, free weights), an outdoor pool, and other amenities. Although the rooms (on the 6th floor, anyway) seem very modern and renovated, there are strangely some things (e.g. the toilets, shower fixtures and metal shelf) that look quite old and shabby. The road (as others have mentioned) is indeed loud, and even up on the 6th floor, the traffic noise (and constant horn honking) are noticeable. As others mentioned, the rooms are quite small, and would be tight for 2 people. The rooms have balconies, with some stunning views of the sea and park. The bathroom is tiny but well appointed and works for one person. I found the room well set up, and very functional and comfortable, with a nice desk space for working (but you can't back up your chair very far without hitting the bed). The 5th and 6th floors are labeled as “preferred” rooms (and colleagues who moved from 6th to 7th floor due to a smell in their first room confirmed that the services/extras are better on the 6th (bathroom amenities, etc). It would seem better to put “preferred” rooms on higher floors (further away from traffic noise), but it is not clear what is on the higher floors (these rooms may not be renovated). The staff at the hotel are also very friendly and customer service-oriented (definitely not always the case, in Egypt), which was great. The one suggestion I would have for Sheraton is that they look into better sound-proofing for the rooms – both from the street traffic, and from the rooms overhead and next door (you can hear your neighbors when they come in, when they move their desk chair overhead, etc). I also found the levels of smoke in the lobby area a bit hard to take at times. But I did not have smoke in my room, thank goodness. As others have mentioned, the traffic is a nightmare, and it does take time (and nerves of steel) to get into the downtown area. All in all, this is a very nice hotel, and I would gladly stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for room on 6th floor ("preferred" floor), facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
First of all I would like to extend my personal thanks and appreciation for choosing the Sheraton Montazah Hotel for your esteemed stay in Alexandria, it was really our pleasure too.
In the meantime I do very much appreciate your nice comments noted with regards to your stay and for the very wonderful description concerning our hotel, facilities, view, etc... assuring you that every single comment has been taken into consideration. Once again my deepest thanks and appreciation for your time to post your comments. Looking forward to welcoming you always at Your Sheraton Montazah Hotel.
Best Regards,
Atef Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    174
    122
    66
    50
See reviews for
152
125
45
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Furniture is v old need to be refurbished
very friendly staff all over the hotel
Nice swimming pool
Overall the hotel lack of space
nice restaurant

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank You very much for posting your nice comments regarding your stay with us. It was really our pleasure hosting you and will always be. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sheraton Montazah Hotel.
Best Regards,
Atef Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I am aware that a lot of people smoke in Egypt, so it must be hard to keep non-smoking rooms smoke-free. But, being a "5-star" property, they should come out with some way to fix it (a fine of some sort as many other places in the world). Also they should prohibit smoking shisha in the rooms!

Besides the smoking issue, the food we had at this hotel was the worst I had at any hotel. It was awful, we returned some dishes because they were impossible to eat. I was expecting to be offered something else, but they just took the plates away and charged us for them anyway. We also tried some cappuccinos and pastries at their cafe. Again, it was a big mistake.

Pro: clean beach, a lot of weddings happening at this place, so we got to hear nice music and local people celebrating.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomada40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like thank you for posting your very constructive comments on trip advisor and for bringing these issues to our attention, as only through our guests feedback we would be able to trace areas of defects and set a plan for solution.
On the other hand, we do regret that your stay with us was not up to your satisfaction and did not meet your expectations.
Please allow me to clarify that, we do have a certain process checking regularly all the non-smoking rooms in order to ensure that all rooms are up to standard and 100% smoke free.
As for the shisha, kindly note that it is totally prohibited, in addition, all concerned staff and Duty Managers are fully aware of what they should do in case they receive any report of guest smoking shisha in the room.
Concerning your comment on the food quality and pastries served, please note that we have investigated the matter thoroughly, unfortunately we could not trace any complaint in that concern. Accordingly I would very much appreciate advising me back your phone number or your e- mail address via my email, (atef.wilson@sheraton.com), or call me at (+203-5480550), in order to communicate directly and get more details in order to make the necessary action required. Again, thank you very much for your time to write your valuable feedback and the constructive comments thus enabling us to proceed further knowing the positive & negative points. Hoping that this incident would never affect your view to Sheraton Montazah Hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon on your next visit to Alexandria.
Thank You and Best Regards,
Atef Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I began my two week visit to Egypt in Alexandria, staying at this hotel. I arrived at 3 AM direct from Cairo airport. Staff got me settled quickly. Room lights were on which was nice as by that point I was a bit fuzzy after flying in from Texas.

As others have said, the rooms are small--but not really that small when compared to European standards. And they do have a "worn" look about them--as does the entire hotel. It really does need a freshing up, but everything was clean. I'll say "amen" to comments about size of bathrooms, bed quality, etc. My lodging plan did not include breakfast but two out of three days I ate in the dining room. One can order off a menu or partake in a very nice buffet. The service was excellent.

The bar is large, and, of course, smoking is permitted which, for those who don't smoke is a bit of a downer. However, there were so few people in the bar I could find a comfortable, relatively smoke-free place to enjoy my cocktails... One evening I ate in the restaurant and found the food to be good.

The location is good because it is across from the sea and a very nice park for walking. The downside of the location is that it is several miles from city center where all the tourist sites are and one can spend a great deal of time in traffic (over an hour on one occasion) getting to/from downtown and the hotel. And traveling by car in Egyptian cities is a hair-raising adventure to say the least!

All in all, it was a pleasant stay with good service at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to lessen traffic noise. And, overlooking the sea is always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livin_in_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the Sheraton Montazah Management and entire staff I seize this opportunity to “Thank You” for choosing our hotel for your esteemed stay in Alexandria.
On the other hand, I do thank you for your awesome comments and wonderful feedback posted with regards to our hotel cleanliness, food and service which definitely will be conveyed to our Management team. Once again thank you. It was really our pleasure hosting you and will always be. Looking forward to welcoming you again and always at the Sheraton Montazah Hotel. Best Regards,
Atef Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed at this Alexandria hotel for a week during the month of Ramadan and love it.Views from the room were realy nice. The furniture is a bid old and outdated.Bathroom was very small but clean. Had a few problems with the safe and they had to change it twice. Beds were nice and firm. People at the front desk and Starwood desk were not up to what you expect fro a 5 star hotel in terms of customer service friendliness and professionalism. Used the cafe outside the hotel main door and it was good. Restaurant was serving buffet at night till about 3 AM for those who are fasting. Variety of food was ok but I have seen better from other Sheraton hotel. Hotel had a private beach which was nice to have but the sea was not very clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicktoTangier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Guest,
I would like to express my sincere thanks and appreciation for choosing the Sheraton Montazah Hotel for your esteemed stay in Alexandria. Please rest assured that we are committed to offer the highest service possible and continue striving to exceed our guests’ expectations. At the same time I do very much appreciate posting your nice comments and your experience concerning your recent stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you always at the Sheraton Montazah Hotel.
Best Regards,
Atef Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

High class compared to Egypt's standards with great options available. With good and clean rooms rooms, good service, and a free access to a clean beach and good outdoors swimming pool.
There is even a guy whose job is to help you cross the street to reach the seaside and enjoy the beach.

Pros: Good Location, Access to beach and swimming pool, great service, high class rooms
Cons: N/A

Room Service: Daily, Free of charge (4/5)
Reception: Cooperative and nice (4/5)
Food: Very good breakfast (4/5)
Location: At the entrance of Montazah, with a wonderful view on the beach
Room (4/5)
- Size: Medium
- Cleanness: Clean and tidy
- AC: Good
- Bed: Comfortable and nice (but 2 made 1 kingsize)
- Tea Kit: Available
- Safe: Available
- TV: Flat Screen
- TV Channels: Good diversification (English and Arabic)
- Iron: Not available
- Mini Bar: Not available
- Fridge: Available

Services (3/5)
- Internet: First 45 minutes in Business center for free, rest is chargable
- Gym: Small
- Swimming Pool: Outdoor
- Spa: Available (200 to 400 EGP per hour for a massage or scrub)

Bathroom (3/5)
- Shower: Nice shower and bath
- Hair dryer: Good small one
- Sanitization: Yes
- Towels: Good towels
- Water: Hot all the time with good flow
- Shampoo: Available with conditioner
- Other: Head cap, vanity kit, body lotion

Price: 140 USD/night for a double room (BB for 2)

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator, it gets very noisy Get the good view on the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaderH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments noted with regards to our rooms, service, beach and pool, it was really our pleasure hosting you too and will always be. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at Your Sheraton Montazah Hotel.
Once again thank you and best regards,
Atef Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver bc
Level Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Dont get me wrong the Sheraton is ok.. the hotel is old and hasnt been renovated but it is kept clean. For a Sheraton i was suprised. Rooms are small and old. Pool is nice. Location is good to walk ... beach right accross the street with hotel loungers Breakfast is good with a ok selection. Smoking in the small lobby was unbearable. I would not stay here next time.. and i bring groups to egypt regularly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Guest,
I do very much appreciate your good and constructive comments noted during your recent stay with us, assuring you that every single comment has been taken into consideration. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, where no effort shall be spared in order to make your next stay with us more comfortable.
Once again thank you and best regards,
Atef Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#3 of 38 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
3.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria
0.6 mi away
Helnan Palestine Hotel
Helnan Palestine Hotel
#8 of 38 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche Hotel
5.2 mi away
Tolip
Tolip
#10 of 38 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
8.9 mi away
Cherry Maryski Hotel
Cherry Maryski Hotel
#9 of 38 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Montazah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Montazah Hotel

Property: Sheraton Montazah Hotel
Address: El Corniche Road, Alexandria 21599, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Montazah Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Montazah,overlooking King's Farouk Palace and gardens on one side and the bright blue waters of the Mediterranean Sea on the other.From the moment you arrive, you will receive the warmest welcome from attentive and responsive staff whose mission is to make your stay a relaxing and unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Montazah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing