We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Good Hands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“In Good Hands”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This is not the first time for my visit, but due to the fact that I have stayed there more than 50 times during the past 6 years, so I am unable to count the exact number of my stays.

I will start my review with the 1st and most important factor for my several stays:

The Personel:

During 6 years of going there around 6-8 times a year, none of the Personel working there has changed, same faces, same persons in all departments, maybe some of them have been promoted, but all of them remain in the same hotel, for me, as a continuous guest means: Perfect Management, great staff willing to go beyond your expectations, people looking for stability at their work place.

Anyone working there is willing to help you and serve you all the way and capable of providing all sort of comfort to make you enjoy your stay.

The Rooms and View:

One point to take into consideration while booking in this hotel: it is a very busy hotel the whole year, in summer due to the tourism season from all over Egypt in addition to the different conferences and workshops and seminars held at this hotel, if you plan to book there, book early as much as possible to guarantee a very good room with sea view or Montaza Palace view, even if you have to pay more, but the view worth the extra money you will pay.
If you are alone and not with family or children, you can choose normal size rooms, but if you have children staying in the same room, you MUST have as much as possible the bigger size rooms even if you have to book one of the different types of Suites they have.
If you can't afford the price of Suites, book 2 connected rooms for you and the children. But in all cases, the best rooms is the ones with the views as mentioned earlier.

The Location:

It is around 25 minutes from Al Nozha Airport, and 30-45 minutes from down town, but you will enjoy the " Promenade" by taxi or car or bus on the " Corniche" or even a short walk on foot. And around 20 minutes to Four Seasons San Stefano Hotel and Shopping Mall.

The hotel can arrange all kind of trips, there is a small but very nice beach in addition to a Swimming pool and kids pool.

There is plenty of super markets and restaurants around and next to the hotel, where you can buy mineral waters or juices and Pepsi, chocolates, ice creams and cookies.

The Food:

Very wide selection of buffet breakfast, beach and pool menus are of great choices and variety, kids special menu is one of the best kids menu in an hotel.

The Italian restaurant is more than good and you must try it many times.

Room Services is wonderful with delicious Egyptian, International dishes.
Prices of food and beverages are very reasonable in all the restaurants of the hotel when compared to other hotels in the city, as well as alcholic beverages.

If you like coffee, you have to try the turkish one, at the Trotoir Cafe at the Entrance door, very nice relaxing cozy place, where you will enjoy the sea breeze.

To summarize:
This hotel is highly recommended whether for business or leisure, solo or with family.
In this hotel you and your family are: In Good Hands.

Thanks to evreyone working in this lovely place and wish always all the best wishes for continuous success.
Special thanks to Mr. Atef Wilson the GM of this successful Property who is devoting his time and effort for many years to keep the high standard and the good image of Starwood brand.
The Concierge, the Reception, Housekeeping, Room Service, Sales, the Front Office, .... all of them deserve appreciation.

Viviane Safwat
A continuous guest at this hotel

.

Room Tip: Pay more to get a good size room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivianeSafwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear Ms. Safwat,
It has certainly been a pleasure hosting you at the Sheraton Montazah Hotel, and will always be.

Ms. Safwat, please rest assured we are committed to offer the highest service possible and continue striving to exceed guests’ expectations. On the other hand, I am really glad that your recent stay with us was up to your satisfaction, our hotel service and facility were up to your expectations, and our staff cordial and willing. At the same time I deeply and sincerely appreciate your wonderful comments and courtesy words you have expressed with regards to the hotel's view, the room, food, staff... etc, assuring you that every single comments noted has been conveyed to our Management team as well. Once again thank you for posting your wonderful comments and feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you always at Your Sheraton Montazah Hotel.
Best Regards,
Atef Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    176
    125
    68
    50
See reviews for
153
126
48
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This a pleasant and clean hotel with plenty of facilities. Good ponts are cleanliness, polite staff, nice bar and sea view if you are lucky. Negative points are - slow check-in (this has been the case as long as I have stayed here), rooms slightly on the small side accompanied by small bathrooms. on this trip there was no hot water in the mornings.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
I would like to express my sincere appreciation for posting your nice comments with regards to your recent stay with us. I do assure you that all comments noted have been conveyed to our Management team. In addition, the two comments concerning the slow check-in and hot water incidents have been checked on the spot in order to ensure efficiency and comfort to our guests. Once again thank you for your time for posing your comments. Looking forward to welcoming you always at the Sheraton Montazah Hotel.
Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I want to echo others’ comments that the hotel is pretty far away from downtown, and getting there from the main road from Cairo can seem to take forever. If you are a traveler like us though, by the time you spend all day “playing tourist” you just want to rest and not go out again, so the distance was not a problem for us, rather, it was nice knowing we were in a residential neighborhood. The beach across the street offers a nice walk, and it was great to hang out on our balcony and watch the activity around us.

The hotel itself was nicely appointed, and we were warmly welcomed. The room was well laid out, clean, and our view of the water was wonderful. The AC was fine but not as strong as I’d have preferred for comfortable sleeping. Breakfast was good, though not outstanding (the scrambled eggs were so underdone as to be nauseating to look at, we skipped them altogether!)

I remember thinking though that underneath the veneer of quality was some obvious cost-cutting – for example, our room had only one washcloth. Not to seem a princess, but after wandering around in the heat all day I was disinclined to use the same cloth on my face that I’d showered with, and especially after my husband had used the same! Doubtless we could have asked for another from the front desk, but frankly I just didn’t want to deal with the hassle (hand towel FTW.)

In sum, the hotel is more than adequate for a place to stay, but falls short of a calm, comfortable “oasis” that one might long for after a day (and days) of teeming crowds of the city and tourist spots.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyoftheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
First of all thank you for choosing the Sheraton Montazah Hotel for your esteemed stay in Alexandria, it was a pleasure hositng you. Secondly I would seize the opportunity to express my deepest thanks for your very constructive comments and feedback noted during your stay with us, assuring you that every single comment has been taken care of, as only through our valuable guests' feedback we would be able to improve our services. Once again thank you for your time and for your understanding. Looking forward to welcoming you again where no effort shall be spared in order to make your next stay with us more comfortable.
Once again thank you and best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed at Sheraton Montazah for one week and it was a unique experience. Th hotel has a wonderfull location overlooking the mediteranian , it was the most cozy and homy hotel we have ever stayed at.
It was an amaising experience from the check in to the check out: Staff very helpfull , food sublime, pool facilities perfect, rooms are too small but very clean and well maintained
Really sheraton montazah is offering an exceptionel service

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pleasant2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
It was really our pleasure hosting you too at the Sheraton Montazah Hotel. Thank you very much for the nice comments noted with regards to your stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sheraton Montazah Hotel.
Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed at the montazah sheraton for three nights in May, it couldnt have been a better experience.Staff were of immense help to us, i was like having a family members around.
The hotel has an amaising location , overlooking the sea and king farouk palace. Room was small but beatifully decorated, clean and confortable, bed was very confortable.
At the Montazah Sheraton YOU ARE HOME AWAY FROM HOME.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysecondhome294201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank You very much for your nice comments and wonderful feedback noted with regards to your recent stay with us, it was really our pleasure hosting you at the Sheraton Montazah Hotel. Hope to see you again soon.
Once again "Thank You" and Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The worst hotel I`ve been in Egypt. It is not what they tell. We`ve reserved a club room, with late check out and internet free. The use of the internet in the room is paid, you can use it only in the club room bussiness center for 2 hours.
The reservation said we`ll have a welcome drink, it was a terrible tea, served in an ugly glass. We have to aks for the late checkout, the staff didn`t know it is included in the club room.
There was a letter in the room asking to not open the window, because there were a lot of mosquitos.
The hotel is old, the rooms are ugly and the bathroom is depressing. The only thing good is the breakfast.
It`s like a terrible touristic hotel sold as a 5 star hotel. It colud never be considered a 5 star hotel.
It is far from everything, all the great touristic atractions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bventuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
First of all I do thank you for your very constructive comments and feedback noted. Please accept our sincere apologies that our hotel was not up to your expectations, assuring you that your all comments have been taken seriously into consideration. Once again I do regret that your stay with us was not up to your satisfaction. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon where no effort shall be spared in order to make your stay with us comfortable and enjoyable.
Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Good hospitality. very friendly staff,you really feel at home , breakfast buffet fantastic. weather of alexandrai is great. we will always remember this vacation

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emad058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montazah00438, General Manager at Sheraton Montazah Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
I would like to express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your nice comments noted. It was really our pleasure hosting you and will always be. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sheraton Montazah Hotel. Once again thank you and best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#3 of 38 in Alexandria
1,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
Helnan Palestine Hotel
Helnan Palestine Hotel
#8 of 38 in Alexandria
378 reviews
3.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche Hotel
5.2 mi away
Tolip
Tolip
#10 of 38 in Alexandria
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandria Mediterranean Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Montazah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Montazah Hotel

Property: Sheraton Montazah Hotel
Address: El Corniche Road, Alexandria 21599, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Montazah Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Montazah,overlooking King's Farouk Palace and gardens on one side and the bright blue waters of the Mediterranean Sea on the other.From the moment you arrive, you will receive the warmest welcome from attentive and responsive staff whose mission is to make your stay a relaxing and unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Montazah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Alexandria
Sheraton Alexandria
Alexandria Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing