We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Stars at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 Stars at best”
Reviewed December 12, 2008

We arrived at the hotel at 2:00 AM every thing seamed OK at the lobby, problem was in the room we had it was very small, bed so hard and the bathroom needed to be cleaned better.
In the morning we went for breakfast, no napkins on the tables limited selection of food and what ever was available didn’t look appetizing.
Needless to say we went to check out right after breakfast,same day but 11:00 AM .

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shrshrnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    201
    66
    47
    44
See reviews for
437
145
69
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Ridge, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2008

The Renaissance Alexandria was a lovely haven for me on my six-day stay in Alexandria.

I was visiting the city doing research, and the hotel was in a perfect location for me. I did discover early on, that I was there during the busiest time of year for Alexandrians, since many people in Cairo take holidays during July and head to the coast.

Another reviewer indicated that the beach-shuttle took ten minutes. Though the van is small compared to American made vans, I can assure anyone that the time spent getting to the beach took mere minutes. And this was in the busy-season.

If there was a disappointment, it was in the high-charges for internet, although that seemed typical all over Egypt. My suggestion for travelers is to visit the Alex. Library. Once inside, internet is free for all. Just check in at a desk to inquire.

The food was fine and the service at the hotel extremely friendly. There were a couple times when I asked for an extra wash-rag. The service was friendly and prompt, with little waiting.

I was traveling alone, so didn't need a king-size bed. However, I was suppesed to have one. Yet, when I saw the sublime view of tthe Med. from my room and my private balcony, the king-size bed no longer mattered. As a woman traveling alone, I felt safe and well-cared for.

I personally highly recommend the Renaissance Alexandria. :)

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank hyker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

I just came back from the Renaissance Alexandria, as the organizer of a trip grouping 55 persons. I will just write about my (myself and my wife) personal experience, as others (even in our group) may have had a better one especially if ending with a room with sea-view. Arriving at the Hotel I was surprised to know that the reservation "manifesto" did not specify the distribution of 2 doubles/king size beds. While understandably hotels cannot guarantee a king size bed to all, it is essential, and easier, that they try to accommodate people who are non-couples (father-son, 2 friends, etc.) who need 2 double beds. The excuse of the Front Desk Manager was that our Tour Operator had not specified it. My retort was: why didn't you ask for it? He had no answer. In other words, no effort was made for a smooth distribution of rooms for such a large group. My brother and niece found themselves in a King size room, while my wife and I had twins!! So, I immediately called back the front desk, identified myself 3 times as the Group Leader and requested to speak to the person who was still assigning the rooms, as I had a solution at least for 2 rooms: exchange rooms. The front desk absolutely refused to connect me to him and I had to run down 6 floors (elevators are under repair and go one way: in other words all the way up, in order to come down, and vice versa!). I indicated my displeasure and mentioned that this was a very disorganized way to assign rooms. Finally, I got my brothers' room (pictures enclosed), which has a wonderful view on a decrepit building.

Later, I was called by the Front Desk Manager, who offered me coffee, was extremely nice and promised me a suite. He showed me the manifesto from the Travel Agent, which had no type of bed assignment, I repeated my argument that that was no excuse: he should have enquired himself. I then showed him a very detailed bed distribution that I had sent to the hotel at the email address they advertise: he simply told me that this address was wrong! He, however, also wanted me to apologize to the persons at the front desk for calling them disorganized. I certainly forfeited his offer and later spoke with the General Manager, who was also as nice and accommodating but who informed me that the Front desk personnel were threatening to sue me for my comments! Wow......

I spent 3 days in that decrepit room, while others were enjoying great views. I am joining pictures so that people can judge if that is really even a 4-star hotel.

Finally, great breakfast buffet. Extremely poor dinner buffet.

Do yourself a favor: there are many better hotels in Alexandria, do not take a chance.

  • Liked — The lobby, the breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — The location, the elevators, small room size, the front desk, the manager
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelGalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

We took the train from Cairo to Alexandria eraly moring and got to the hotel around 10am. We had to wait for our room for about 2 hours, but we knew we would have to wait beacause we got in early. They gave us a room with an amazing beach and sea view . The room was nice, but not as clean as you would expect from a 5 star hotel adn specially a Renaissance. The sheets did not feel clean and in fact we found a little sand and hair on on the sheets, we asked for them to be changed but found out they only changed the top sheet. We then had a second sheet change and everything was better.

The hotel has a shuttle to the beach, but it is a small van that hold about 4 guests at a time and takes about 10 minutes to get to be beach, which is less than 50 meters away, because of the heavy traffic around the hotel. We did cross the street one day, but it is very dangerous.

The hotel has very nice restaurants with fantastic service, the cafe, the italian restaurant and the corniche are all excellent choices while in Alex. We did find a grocery store (Metro) about 3 blocks down of the hotel were we stocked up on water and fruit.

The pool is nice, but small and you have to get there aerly to save a pool chair, altough we had lunch there and the service was slow........ very slow, but the waiters were very nice.

Front desk is very helpful as well as the bell staff who got our train tickets for us from Alexandria to Cairo.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rafael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

I arrived at 3.00am and first thing they wanted me to do was go through a metal detector and scan my bags in one of those machines like they have in the airport. The two guys put my bags in the scanner but it didn’t seem to be working – after about 5 minutes I asked them to just open the bags and have a look however they had no intention of doing this – after about another 5 minutes of goofing around they told me to go to check in and they would deliver my bags later and I wasn’t having any of this so I waited in total about 15 minutes at 3.00am in the morning just to get in the hotel. Checkin was quick and no problems except they were unable to change euros to local currency for me so I could pay my taxi so in the end the hotel paid the taxi and put it on my bill. My room was a suite facing the city – it was refrigerator cold. The corridors were warm, probably about 30degrees Celsius but my room was about 10 degrees. Alexandria is noisy, with the constant horn blowing annoying and then add to that the call to prayers and other various loudspeakers scattered around the place. My room had thick double glazed windows but it is still noisy – I think the other side of the hotel facing the ocean and eight lane highway is even noisier. I was able to put my laundry in at 1.00pm Saturday and get it back at 5.00pm but my suit was going to take 24 hours. I went to the pool on a Saturday afternoon and they had large loudspeakers, you know those cheap speakers about 3 feet tall, around the pool playing loud Arabic music which was a little annoying. Also, they had about 3 staff hanging around the pool who kept on bugging me asking if needed anything – I kept my cool but was thinking I needed to be left alone. Similarly in the Club Room there were 4 guys who just seemed to be hanging around doing nothing. The same in the foyer with staff and security who seem to follow me around. I appeared to be the only westerner whilst I was there as I didn’t see many other foreigners. Getting the internet to work(I kept on getting a message “room xxx has not been checked in”) was tough going and required three calls to the front desk and then two to the service provider but in the end I got it to work. The internet was slow, about 256k download and 128 upload. The room next door to me seems to have a large family with kids staying the weekend. At 4.00pm on the first day I was there they rang and wanted to know why I hadn’t checked out and I had to advise I was booked for a week and had to show them my internet reservation to satisfy them otherwise they seems to want me to leave - the woman was quite certain I was only booked for one day – no one apologised for the misunderstanding.

The beach is over the road but I would not cross the eight lane highway but I understand the hotel has a shuttle van to take guest to the beach – how you get back I don’t know but I would not cross the highway unless you are feeling suicidal.

Room service was quick and the food pretty good.

I was a bit annoyed with the Piraeus bank downstairs which converts US$ or Euros to Egyptian pounds but when I went to leave I asked it they would convert the egyptian pounds back to US$ or euros and they said they don’t.

I would be wary of the hotel taxis – I ordered one to take me to the airport and he charged the hote rate EGP 220 which was ok but he stopped for gas, then picked his friend up who worked at customs at the airport – I told the taxi driver it wasn’t correct to pick up other passengers if I was paying and my bearded taxi driver took offence to this and started arguing with me a little too agressively for my liking.

All in all it is not a bad hote and they are trying hard. It seems to have some minuses which come with the country, that is lots staff hanging around looking for something to do, giants speakers around the pool, etc. The only other option I considered was the Four Seasons but it was $600 a night as opposed to this hotel at $220 per night.

  • Liked — cheaper than the competition
  • Disliked — noisy, loudspekers around the pool, staff hanging around without purpose
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank munizaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

The hotel is in spick and span condition. The view is breath taking… Miles and miles of sea and if you get the corner room and on the top floor then you sure, will feel cloud nine on 7th Heaven! (It is very windy as you go higher). Not too far is the shopping centers and they are open till 2AM in the morning! Food was great. Take a morning walk on the seashore road-You will enjoy. Over all a pretty picture on service and infrastructure.

Tip: The taxi will charge you a bomb since they know you are a tourist. Suggest chech with the hotel the approx cost before you hire one.

Explore, Experience, Enjoy
Suravanditha Praveen Kumar

  • Liked — The view and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PraveenSuravanditha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2008

I have experienced a truly nice week-end with my family, the first impression about the hotel and its sense of arrival, is not the best one, while by entering to the lobby you will enjoy all deluxe 5* facilities

Front office staff is really professional, as well F&B and housekeeping
Buffet restaurant is a nice mix between the local and the international cuisines in addition to its wide verity included at the afternoon menu
Italian restaurant is a real experience, one of the most attentive and detailed staff I have ever seen and the food is really outstanding
My room was having a partial sea view, while the hotel beach is really nice, clean and well maintained

Nice hotel with excellent services

  • Liked — People
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DodoCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria
2.7 mi away
Helnan Palestine Hotel
Helnan Palestine Hotel
#8 of 39 in Alexandria
393 reviews
2.6 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza
6.3 mi away
Philip House Hotel
Philip House Hotel
#38 of 39 in Alexandria
19 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
#12 of 39 in Alexandria
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Corniche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Corniche

Property: Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Address: 544 El Geish Avenue, Sidi Bishr, Alexandria 21611, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Spa Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Alexandria Corniche 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Corniche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Alexandria
Alexandria Renaissance
Maritim Jolie Ville Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing