We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joe McGregor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romance Alexandria Corniche

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Romance Alexandria Corniche
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Joe McGregor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

The service I experienced was pleasant and well mannered.
The room I felt was very cramped.
The location was good for me however I did not use any of the amenities
The best point was the location
There is no atmosphere in the hotel and everything is so matter of fact.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    134
    57
    28
    24
See reviews for
141
78
62
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Nice location in the center of the city,Nice view, Also i like the breakfast there alot

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamedghanima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I spent one night at this nice hotel, in my reservation i asked for an early check in and a late check out, they gave us the room at nearly 11:00 am although the official check in time is 2:00 pm. They were very smooth and straight forward. Our room was at the 10th floor, a beautiful view of cornice and blue Mediterranean, The room is not huge but friendly, relaxing and cozy, the color scheme is between white and blue which introduces a very strong Mediterranean identity. The room has a satellite TV with a bit limited channels but i didn't care.
The bathroom is small but was clean and cool style.
The afternoon of the first day we had a water cutoff but the hotel provided free mineral water bottles.
The next day we had breakfast which was included in our rate, it was more than fare and what i expected, bakeries, cheese display, live omelet station with a friendly chef, juices (not good) sausage, foul corner (traditional Egyptian food) . . . etc. Different varieties and good quality.
At check out, there was no availability for late check out and the hotel really seemed crowded that day. But overall it was a nice stay and when I visit Alex again I will certainly go back.

Room Tip: Direct sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmos83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

though the occupancy rate in this hotel is considerablly high due to its location and the shortage of good 4 stars hotels in general in the city of alexandria ... the hotel is understuffed ... the breakfast buffet is poor and the general cleanessness in the hotel is not good.
on the brighter side the hotel staff is helpfull and it has a good nightclub ... the location of the hotel is amazing in the heart of alexandria with amazing seaview rooms ... though they are a bit small.

Room Tip: choose from the top three floors starting from the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed-allam79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is located in the middle of alexandria (considering the coastal area only). Yo can cross the road to be on the lovely beach of Alexandria.
The hotel is a very nice and clean one, but they lack activities and extra services.

Pros: Good hotel with a nice view and a good location
Cons: No activities available

Room Service: Daily, Free of charge (4/5)
Reception: Cooperative and nice (3/5)
Food: Very good breakfast (4/5)
Location: On the shore, in the middle of the coastal line of Alexandria
Room (4/5)
- Size: Medium
- Cleanness: Clean and tidy
- AC:Good
- Bed: Comfortable and nice
- Tea Kit: Available (Kettle wasn’t clean)
- Safe: Available
- TV: Flat Screen
- TV Channels: Good diversification (English and Arabic)
- Iron: Not available
- Mini Bar: Not available
- Fridge: Available
- Free: A small bottle of Water

Services (3/5)
- Internet: Free WIFI in lobby, Chargable in room
- Gym: Not available
- Swimming Pool: Not available
- Spa: Not available

Bathroom (3/5)
- Shower: Big shower but no bath
- Hair dryer: Good small one
- Sanitization: Yes
- Towels: Good towels
- Water: Hot all the time with low flow
- Shampoo: Available without conditioner
- Other: Body lotion (upon request)

Price: 150 USD/night for a double room (BB for 2)

Room Tip: High level rooms give you a greater view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaderH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
438 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

My colleague and I checked in around 9 PM for a conference the next day at another hotel. We were both hungry after a day in the office in Cairo and a train trip to Alexandria (another horror story......) so we went to our respective rooms and ordered dinner. The French fries were al dente, no soup spoon for my soup, no condiments offered and the beer was brought without a bottle opener. The next morning at breakfast my colleague related the same tale about the bottle opener.

At breakfast, I was immediately approached by staff asking for my room number. No problem - standard protocol. Immediately thereafter, I was presented with a bill for breakfast before I even had an opportunity to grab a plate and help myself from the buffet. I told him to get lost. Eventually, he cleared my plate, which would have been the appropriate time to present the bill. And then he disappeared.

When I first arrived, I did not have change for the taxi driver so I went up to the front desk and was rudely informed they did not have cash. Apparently he didn't understand that I was a registered guest but common sense should have prevailed. The hotel is right on the corniche and one doesn't stop in front of the hotel to do anything else but enter the hotel. And it was obvious that my luggage was being taken out of the taxi trunk. After I protested, he pulled out the appropriate change. Where did that come from? I thought he didn't have change!

Our online reservation included bed and breakfast yet we had to argue this on checkout.

Upside is that since my last stay here in late 1999 (I swore I wouldn't go back but hotels were full due to conferences) the hotel has remodeled. My last stay was reminiscent of a dated French boudoir, but filthy and ragtag. Definitely an improvement. Although the bathroom and wardrobes (closets) are designed for munchkins, the room was well decorated, bright and comfortable.

Staff definitely needs training in customer service and a dose of common sense would help. I blame these shortfalls on management.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Impossible to sllep for the noise , isnt the first timein this hotel and I decide to not have breakfast and dinner as the previus not good experience in the restaurant where the only duty of the waiters is to ask "YOUR ROOM NUMBER " after that they disappear , even if you are the only guest you should wait long time for the food . Room are clean but not find the water , refrigerator is empty . laundry service isn t really good , In my previus journey I sent my T shert with some spots and caming back with teh same spots , generally need to improve the service .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.5 mi away
Tolip
Tolip
#10 of 38 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#4 of 38 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
#12 of 38 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cherry Maryski Hotel
Cherry Maryski Hotel
#9 of 38 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
5.3 mi away
Helnan Palestine Hotel
Helnan Palestine Hotel
#8 of 38 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romance Alexandria Corniche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romance Alexandria Corniche

Property: Romance Alexandria Corniche
Address: 303 Tareek El Gueish Saba Pasha, Alexandria 31211, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Romance Alexandria Corniche 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is located in the elegant Saba Pasha district, between the Montaza Palace and the centre of the city, 7 kilometres from Nozha Airport. Romance Alexandria Corniche offers 45 suites and 36 rooms all with panoramic sea views, of which mosthave been recently renovated. The hotel features gourmet restaurants, a coffee shop, a bar and a nightclub in addition to a fully renovated multifunction ballroom and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Romance Alexandria Corniche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Romance Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Accor Romance Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing