We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“"The best"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish Market

Fish Market
Ranked #2 of 1,250 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Soups, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"The best"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

It's the best when it comes to fish... The atmosphere is great , the food is great... The service is good. ..It's awesome. ...
When it comes to fish... I recommend fish market...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ash-Fimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    75
    24
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Go for the fish, stay for the dips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went for the good word about the seafood. But it surpassed on a number of fronts: lovely location, beautiful restaurant and friendly, efficient staff. But after being served a half-dozen of perhaps the most delicious array of dips and salad, I could happily have eaten just those all day. The fish was good, too: well prepared and plentiful, and excellent value Wished we could have had time to come back again. Next trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
438 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“LOVE this restaurant...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was first exposed to the Fish Market in Alexandria 14 years ago. Since then, I have dined at two of them in Cairo -- less regularly after they stopped serving alcohol -- but I still prefer the one in Alexandria. By far.

Service is fast. Fish is fresh. The set up is excellent, consisting of a selection of about ten different salads or appetizers. The freshly baked bread to use for dipping the hummus, baba ghanoush, tahini, garlic dip, etc. is heavenly. And for the first time I was served a green paste that tasted like bean. It was delicious!

The only downside is that the Fish Market stopped serving alcohol after the Revolution, so you can't enjoy a cold beer on a hot day.

I took a consultant to lunch here and she was impressed - wanted to go back before her assignment was over. I hope she will.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great view, good fish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Worth dining here for the view of Alexandria bay alone. A very elegant second-floor dining room, with good table settings and efficient service. The food was patchy: the fish soup was a bit gelatinous for my liking, and the hummus and other dips had been plated up some time before we ate them (slightly hard and oxydised surfaces on some dishes). But the main fish dishes were excellent: char-grilled langoustines had good flavour and the grilled flat fish (grouper or similar?) was well-cooked and tasted excellent.

This is a sister restaurant of Fish market in Cairo and ot the two this had a nicer view but seaker on the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ldhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Turkish lunch on the Water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

As part of our day in Alexandria, we enjoyed the traditional lunch at this top notch retaurant. We began by being served fresh out of the oven pita bread with over 6 side dishes of dip. Just wonderful in taste and quality. We then were served fresh fish with side dishes while enjoying the view of the Alexandria coast. This was a treat and the service was just super. I highly reccomend this restaurant and am glad Ramses chose this spot for our midday meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Market also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing