We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander the Great Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Alexandria B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“very friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

i stayed 2 nights in a double room (single use) in march 2014 and then came back for 1 more night a week later. the room was spacious and decorated in harmonious colors with a female touch. i had a large comfortabel bed with clean blankets and bedsheets. it had a balcony from which i saw the greek church. the ac could be used for heating. wifi is well working in the lobby and the room. the staff was very friendly and generouse with me. complimentary breakfast was served in a small breakfast room after 8.30 am. the hotel is located a 10 minute walk away from the corniche. when you arrive by taxi the building doesnt look like the picture of the white building shown on booking.com. the entrance is not clearly marked for the hotel (or maybe in arabic only). take the entrance with the sign of “solex“ and go to the first floor where the reception is located and friendly staff is waiting for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    36
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
26
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Our room104 overlooked the Greek Church compound and had a romantic feel and crisp cotton sheets on a the bed. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Staff were very polite and helpful, even printing outmy boarding passes. A short walk to the city centre and corniche . Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willprielipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Staff is friendly, location is good, rooms are clean, comfortable and spacey. What more to wish?
Yeah, and the price is moderate.
I stayed there only for one night, but this is my choice when I'm next time in Alexandria.
I just hope it won't be long.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Aleksey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

You do not expect to find a good cheap clean hotel in Egypt but this sure is worth a visit. Clean twin room with ensuite. Great food brought in by helpful staff, Well worth a visit, Good base to see Alexandria, great city of history. Locals are very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitchian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great stay. We stayed there for a few nights while in Alexandria and then after going to Cairo for a few days we stayed there the night before we flew out. Although I had booked the wrong night, the man behind the desk kindly offered us a larger, more expensive room for the same rate. Very understanding and accommodating. Nice, clean hotel with good breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Approaching this hotel through the front door it looks like your entering a recent bomb site. It's grotty and there's rubbish strewn everywhere, however once you are inside it does improve remarkably. It's also known locally as the Alexotel, if you need help from a taxi driver.
It's not fantastic but during our stay here it was comfortable and reasonably clean. If your looking for a budget option type of hotel this is ok. We stayed in the room next to reception, it was fine but maybe you could request a room further away if you are sensitive to noise.
Egypt is a powder keg at present so I would suggest checking out travel warnings. During my time there I did not see many Caucasian tourists in Egypt and this was just before the recent troubles started.

Room Tip: The room next to reception could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziggy154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in a suite of 2 rooms for one night, the location is very nice, the hotel is similar to apartments as if we are staying at a house. It is not by the sea but it is a great one if you want to stay inside the city.

There is a free Wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank aliahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
4.4 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche
Romance Alexandria Corniche
#6 of 38 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
8.7 mi away
Alexandria Mediterranean Suites
0.6 mi away
Philip House Hotel
Philip House Hotel
#36 of 38 in Alexandria
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
TOLIP Hotel Alexandria
TOLIP Hotel Alexandria
#10 of 38 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherry Maryski Hotel
Cherry Maryski Hotel
#9 of 38 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
#12 of 38 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander the Great Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander the Great Hotel

Property: Alexander the Great Hotel
Address: 5 Oskofia St. | Manshia, Alexandria, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander the Great Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria city center, Alexander The Great Hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with balconies and free Wi-Fi. The hotel overlooks the Episcopal Church and features a 24-hour front desk and a tour desk service.Just a 15-minute drive away from the Library of Alexandria, this hotel has spacious rooms with a satellite TV and a telephone. Each room has a minibar and a private bathroom with a shower.Guests can start their day with a breakfast buffet in the dining area or in the privacy of their room. The hotel’s à la carte restaurant serves local dishes, while you will also find a variety of restaurant in the surrounding area.Alexander The Great Hotel is 5 minutes away from the waterfront promenade corniche in Alexandria, and free private parking is available on site.Alexandria International Airport is 5 km away, and a car rental service is also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexander the Great Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing