We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best affordable hotel in Alexandria” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander the Great Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Alexander the Great Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Alexandria B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
149 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
“The best affordable hotel in Alexandria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

I must admit that I only bumped into this hotel after a heavy online research for a room on a fully occupied weekend. I usually stay at Mercure or Sofitel but both were totally packed. The area is very impressive. It has a unique Italian/Greek feeling. The hotel is located right next to a Greek church and infront of Saint Catherine School and Church. Very welcoming, humble and decent staff. Very clean room and reasonably priced. I do recommend this hotel especially for those interested in historic areas and culture seekers.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank SamehSabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
26
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

A great small hotel, very cozy with friendly owners and staff. Most importantly fairly clean (perfectly clean bathrooms) and seconds away from down town, 10 minutes walk to the sea. I loved it and loved the neighborhood that has a greek feel. It's also minutes away from the Opera and Creativity Center which has a lot of movie shows and cultural events. Breakfast was great with a different menu everyday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahrir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Pros: Very helpful and friendly staff, they made planning our trip easy. This was a breath of fresh air from all the hassle most Egyptians gave us! They also referred us to a great driver that was very prompt and courteous with good English. The room was simple but pleasant and clean. In fact we were upgraded for free. There was a large balcony which overlooks a Greek church next door. Location was quite central, walking distance from both train station and Corniche. Breakfast was good and plentiful. While not 5 star luxury (and they don't claim to be), we thought this was an very good value.... we paid about $17 per person/night.

Cons: Wifi did not reach our room (but worked in the lobby)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inorv9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Perfect staff very friendly and helpful especially at the reception. It was really amazing family gathering. rooms very clean, all rooms have beautiful view . Room service was excellent and efficient.I recommend it for all. Thank to all hotel team & will come back again soon

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidoElsayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

This "Alexotel" [aka Alexander the Great Hotel] is conveniently located 6 minutes by taxi near the train station, 6 minutes walking to the old Alexandria shopping district, and a short 15 minute walk to the Cecil Hotel, where Laurence Durell and Winston Churchill bedded down when in Alexandria. It is also a ten minute walk to the seaside highway in the center of town. When i was seeking the location of the hotel, they had not installed their sign over the door dangling from the 2nd floor yet, and i was fumbling around the street blindly at night in the rain, trying to locate the hotel [which is on the 2nd floor of a business/apartment block building. Now they have a lit sign and a hanging painted sign!] Cab drivers never heard of the name of the street it is on. Nobody tipped me off as i was trying to find this tucked away hotel, so i am pleased to help you now. As a side note, you can go almost anywhere in Alexandria by taxi for 10 Egyptian pounds or less, even if they try to ask a foreigner for 15 or 20 E. L., you can just sit in the back, give them the 10er at the end of your ride, and hop out at your destination without a fight or without police intervention. Alexandria is way way way more relaxed than Cairo. It is mellow and quite european. I think only twice did somebody pester me for small change in Alexandria. In Cairo, or Luxor, 25 times an hour. So, if you arrive in Alexandria by train or bus, just tell the taxi driver to take you to Mansella Saint Catherine. This means Catholic Cathedral of Alexandria, from the old Italian days of Alexandria. Most all taxi drivers know of this church. Directly across from it is the Greek Orthodox enormous Orthodox church of Alexandria. It has a high white concrete wall and the sky blue and white flag of Greece flapping in the wind, with Greek letters written on its entranceway [cab drivers are not as familiar with this church as the Mansella St. Catherine].

I was in Alexandria in late January, in winter, while most worldwide tourists were avoiding Egypt because of its revolution exactly one year ago. So there were not so many tourists in town. For the standard Alexotel price of $40 per room here, plus tax, I was given the deluxe suite called the Cleopatra Suite, just for me, for the same price, since tourism is slow now. I had a large bedroom, and an even larger attached and private living room, and large bath with a view of the Greek Church, like it was my own apartment, with an enticing painting on "my" living room wall, of an indolent and declining on a sofa Cleopatra [who was actually Greek and not Egyptian]. The free breakfast is quite good. The wifi connection however, is not so good. It is up and down and hit or miss. I had a strong wifi signal my first night, and a limited or no connection the entire 2nd day and night. Ayman the owner, an architect, has very detailed and intricate maps for sale of the greater Alexandria area, for only $6. It is such a good map i will frame it on my wall when i get home. For a $2 taxi ride, i went ten minutes away from the Alexander the Great Hotel, to the highly recommended [By Vicky the manager] Greek Union Club restaurant near the Pharos Light House on the waterfront. It was very elegant inside and with a fabulous view of the harbor at night. The fish and shrimps and crabs were fresh and on ice and i picked the ones that later were fire broiled and then popped into my predatory alligator like mouth. The Egyptian wine was excellent too, white wine as good as a german wine, and very reasonably priced. The hot puffed pita bread basket was a real treat too. Of course, Vicky the Greek manager of Alexotel recommended this restaurant to me. Ayman a day later recommended a worker's fish restaurant to me that has been in Alexandria almost 75 years, the Kadoura restaurant, on the coastal road about a ten minute walk from Cecil's Hotel. The blackened fish was very tasty, and half the price of the Greek Union 5-star restaurant.

For an English speaking driver and guide, either Vicky or Ayman can arrange for an honest and reputable and fair price person for you. Vicky the manager grew up for 16 years in Australia, so her english is quite good, and Ayman the owner has many Greek expat friends living in Alexandria.

So, in a nutshell, for about $45/day, for its location and helpful staff, and flexibility with customers needs, i highly recommend it. It is very familiar at Alexander the Great Hotel, and somewhat intimate, so I doubt party animals in their twenties would want to stay here, but newlyweds might enjoy the Cleopatra Suite. You MUST take a long look at both churches within minutes of the Alexotel lobby, the Mansella St. Catherine Italian Catholic cathedral, and the Greek Orthodox Main Church. And less than a ten minute walk nearby is the old shopping district of Alexandria, with some great deals on cotton and wool Egyptian made clothes, and Egyptian leather goods, many of high quality and about a tenth the price you would pay in Berlin.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bryan-quiller-hire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
291.9 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche
Romance Alexandria Corniche
#6 of 38 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
287.7 mi away
Alexandria Mediterranean Suites
295.4 mi away
Philip House Hotel
Philip House Hotel
#36 of 38 in Alexandria
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
292.3 mi away
Tolip
Tolip
#10 of 38 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
287.4 mi away
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
#12 of 38 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
289.4 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#4 of 38 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander the Great Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander the Great Hotel

Property: Alexander the Great Hotel
Address: 5 Oskofia St. | Manshia, Alexandria, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander the Great Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria city center, Alexander The Great Hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with balconies and free Wi-Fi. The hotel overlooks the Episcopal Church and features a 24-hour front desk and a tour desk service.Just a 15-minute drive away from the Library of Alexandria, this hotel has spacious rooms with a satellite TV and a telephone. Each room has a minibar and a private bathroom with a shower.Guests can start their day with a breakfast buffet in the dining area or in the privacy of their room. The hotel’s à la carte restaurant serves local dishes, while you will also find a variety of restaurant in the surrounding area.Alexander The Great Hotel is 5 minutes away from the waterfront promenade corniche in Alexandria, and free private parking is available on site.Alexandria International Airport is 5 km away, and a car rental service is also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexander the Great Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing