We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great food, great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Market

Fish Market
El Gaish Road, Alexandria, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 1,241 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have every type of the freshest seafood. We had grilled seabass and fried calamari. Oriental salad and bread supplied free of charge. All that for $12, and what a view!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnV28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing Sea Bass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I really love the babaganoush and the Tahini appetizers!! Best in all of Egypt and the sea bass melted in my mouth as we overlooked the harbor of the med sea!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynditravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great view, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

the view was great as everyone stated. The food was just average, the best part was the fresh pita they serve with many different kind of dippings. I had the grilled fish, with shrimp and calamari. Maybe it was the fish itself, but the flavor was not that great. Service was sufficient, we had our tour guide, so we did not have to speak to the waiters. I will have to try a few different seafood place to really compare this to, maybe this is what seafood is like here in Egypt? I guess you can't really tell without having tried a few places. We also good the discounted price since we were with a tour company, so our cost maybe less than what you pay ordering from the manual. It was $80 for 3 adults and 2 kids.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tablefor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not the best seafood i believe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The place is well know and luxurious but view and food aren't the best in Alex i am sure :) Or you can say it's just an old name!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mariana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“fresh caught fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Beautiful, panoramic view of the bay. The waiter will direct you to a case with the catch of the day, choose and weigh your fish. I opted for the sole grilled with garlic and herbs. When the dish came I devoured it with the grace of under fed swine-simply put: it was delicious! Salivating now, just remembering my superb meal…yum...salad, yum....fresh baked Egyptian bread, yum...hummus, yum...lemon juice with frsh mint, yummm...Just don’t ask the waiter for separate checks because he will go into a panicked frenzy attempting the math.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dicookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Market also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing