We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but more expensive and not quite as good as the Greek Club/White & Blue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Market

Fish Market
Ranked #48 of 1,241 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great, but more expensive and not quite as good as the Greek Club/White & Blue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

delicious, great service
Great, but more expensive and not quite as good as the Greek Club/White & Blue (right next to Fort Qiat Bay, no signs in English so a little tricky to find...make sure you go UPSTAIRS, not the downstairs part because it is completely different)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CodyDoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
“rich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

wide variety,perfect quality ,good test, fresh and sometimes alive fish, sea-view location, quit ,wide place nice atmosphere, very expensive :) polite staff.

Helpful?
Thank bahaadeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful View with Delicate Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having been in Cairo for about a week on holiday, we were looking to get some sea food. With Alexandria only a 2 hour drive we decided to make the trip. Driving along the harbor/bay we noticed a familiar name, The Fish Market. We have many here in the states, but I do not know if they are the same “chain.” We walked in, a little under dressed. Many of the men were there having a late business lunch.

There was no menu. The only option was to pick your fish or shellfish, displayed beautifully with the price per pound labeled. It was like you were at an upscale supermarket in the Pacific Northwest. They asked you how you wanted it cooked and you returned to your table. While picking out our fish they dropped of 8 different types of humus with fresh Egyptian bread. Well, it was more of a pita/flat bread mixture. I am not a fan of humus, the texture gets to me. I did, however, try them all. I am glad I did. One tasted like feet, and one was a gross dairy based humus; all the others were delicious. They tasted fresh and all natural. They also brought a great Mediterranean salad. Even though it was winter, Egypt was kind of warm, so it was nice to have a refreshing salad. The fish was served with saffron rice. My wife and I were very pleased with our meal. We paid for us, our tour guide and had a few beers with tip the price as less than 41USD. For a great view and a very good meal, we were delighted with our choice.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cgarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We expected more after reading the reviews on TA. Our party had five different fish/seafood entrees -- all were prepared with a seasoning that overwhelmed the flavor of the fish and made the whole meal very average. All the entrees were fairly dry and tasted pretty much the same. The fish was certainly fresh, and they had a wonderful array to choose from. Our Egyptian friend ordered Nile fish, the rest of us had fish, sqid and shrimp from the sea. Unfortunately, the way the fish was cooked turned this meal into an uninspiring experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lauriecoconutgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Restaurant for Elite society”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Fish market is a very good place to enjoy, I go there occasionally, I enjoy the view there very much specially the sunset, although it is called fish market but you can enjoy many other meals, the parking is not a problem at all though you are in the middle of the old city part in Alexandria, of course they have extensive fish meals menu.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samerelsayary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Market also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing