We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mediterranean Azur Hotel
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Alba, Masr
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location but...”
Reviewed September 23, 2009

This is in a very good location - and it's being built up and developed more and more. I stayed there in April but since then everytime I go past it, it seems to have grown!
The rooms are quite nice - I like that they have a balcony overlooking the beach!
The bad thing about this hotel is the service - I'm not talking about the porters or anything but the staff in the restaurant - they take your breakfast plate from under you while you're eating and not finished!
All in all, it's a great location - close to many good restaurants and highlights of Alex and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alba-Masr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    86
    62
    46
    43
See reviews for
96
48
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

This is a typical western-style resort -- away from the local people and shops. It does have a very nice, private beach and two pools. There are several restaurants across from the hotel, but you'll have to find the entrance to the underpass to get across the insanely busy street. There is a nice mall, about 2 km away. The walk along the cornice is quite nice in the evenings. Otherwise, you feel very remote from Alexandria in this hotel. It is too far from the downtown area, so it's not walkable.
Despite looking fairly new, it's a little rundown inside. There were parts of molding coming off, the floors were dusty, and walls were dirty. Like most western-style resorts, the food was extremely expensive, and they prohibit bringing in outside food. Extra charges for internet with poor signal strength. There was also loud music on both nights here, one from a wedding, and the other from the nightclub.
Even though it's advertised as a "western-style" hotel with its own private beach, while we were there, we didn't feel comfortable wearing our bathing suits or bikinis. During this season (summer), there aren't many westerners here. Most of the other tourists were Middle-Eastern, and the women were in full dress while swimming. Some men were gawking (and taking photos) at the few western women who chose to wear their normal swimsuits. But this is better than a public beach.
The breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We stayed at this hotel as a part of a tour. We were very impressed by the hotel itself, and by the size of our room. We had a little balcony which looked out onto a private 'beach', and a variety of shops and take-away places across the road.

The hotel had access to wifi near the lobby area, and also had an ATM and a currency exchange office as well. Very handy for getting smaller LE notes too!

We were situated near the function room (and weddings in Egypt seem to continue until 5am!), and I rang the front desk at midnight to ask to be moved since I had been unwell. I was politely told that the noise would stop in 10 minutes or so, and if it didn't they would move us. The loud music did move back into the function room as he had said, so we stayed where we were.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kholakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Horrible!!!!!!!

I wont EVER EVER recommend this hotel to anyone I know!!!! service is very bad! Stuff is totally careless to most of guests requests, a LOT of spelling mistakes! Wrong Moscow timing, doors and windows are closing only if you SHUT them as hard as possible. All of it gives an impression that managers don't care about their guests!!!!Only good point is VIEW.

HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!((((((

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katyusha_arafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Staff are not friendly, the manager of the restaurant told my friends what are they doing there with no smile bad mannerism very stout and will never recommend this hotel to anybody. Overall this hotel had a bad management. I feel that the employees should be a little more friendlier and the management need to loosen up if they want their clients to come back. Needed more training to all their employees starting from their manager to the lowly workers.

The view is awesome but the service is very poor.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leyte6519A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2009

The Four Seasons was full, so I ended up in the Mediterannean Azur. In short, I'll never go back.
The service was basically indifferent, and the rooms looked pretty much like any other hotel in the world. It's clear that this hotel caters to package tourists or business conferences, and probably isn't looking for repeat business.
The room did have a lovely view of the sea, but there's a giant crane directly in the middle of the false "bay" that the hotel has created. Presumably it will go away at some point....but when?
My biggest complaint was with the room. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the mattress sagged so much in the middle that there was a giant human-shaped indentation in the middle. The bathroom was fairly standard, but they provided absolutely NO toiletries. No soap, no shampoo, nothing. Instead, they had hand-soap dispensers on the wall like in a public restroom.

The breakfast was acceptable, with the exception of the coffee which tasted like brown water.
How this place got 5 stars, I'll never know.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtspeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

It's quite sad that for a good central location and what seems to be a recently refurbshed hotel, the level of amaturism and unprofessionalism shown by the staff is unparalleled. It took over 2 hours to check in, despite 4 check in staff working behind the desk. You would think a simple queuing system would speed up the process, but it seems the staff relish multi tasking yet achieving nothing. It was incredible to watch all the staff behind the check in desk avoid eye contact with any paying guests as if to hide their guilt in knowing what a terrible service they were offering.

The hotel room on first inspection seems ok, with flat screen TVs, yet at a closer look, you start noticing the cracks in the walls, shoddy finishing, filthy curtains.

As for the restaurants, it takes an age to get served and all hot drinks turn up cold. And when you ask why things are taking so long, you are greeted with a response that is more akin to them doing you a favour.

Wireless also costs LE 70 for an hour! Nearly £10. Considering it's free in most cafes in Alexandria, you would think they would offer a more competitive rate.

We were there to attend a wedding and stayed for 2 nights. The incing on the cake was the rudeness of the hotel events organizer, who was outride rude to the groom on his wedding day as well as several of the guests.

As for the 5 star rating, I would assume the same fellow must have coloured in 4 himself.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AymanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.1 mi away
Tolip
Tolip
#10 of 38 in Alexandria
306 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#5 of 38 in Alexandria
1,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Helnan Palestine Hotel
Helnan Palestine Hotel
#8 of 38 in Alexandria
386 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria
0.2 mi away
San Giovanni Hotel
San Giovanni Hotel
#20 of 38 in Alexandria
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Azur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Azur Hotel

Property: Mediterranean Azur Hotel
Address: Corneish Road Roshdy, Alexandria 21599, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Azur Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Mediterranean Azur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneann Azur Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing