We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Smir Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Smir Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Tetouan
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times over the years when in the area. It’s not an hotel I would seek out, but if you are looking for somewhere by the sea not too far from Tetouan you don’t have many choices, and this is not a bad one.

But here is the bad:

• It’s starting to get a little tired – mould discolouring the shower grout, redorating leaving paint splatters over the taps etc. We needed our room cards reprogrammed twice in three nights. It’s a shame as the original designers of the rooms went to a lot of trouble with the detail, even if, like me, you are a bit sniffy about the pastiche of Moroccan touches and Western bling.

• If you go out of season, as we have, it’s very quiet. The spaces are so big that a place like this feels a bit desolate when it not bustling.

• The cooking is carried out well enough, but the menus are uninspired and the flavours unexceptional.

• If you pay the rack rate it will make you wince. Our room rack rate was GBP300 a night.

But it’s not all bad by any means. The good:

• We booked three nights through Expedia in October and paid GBP110 a night with continental breakfast and local taxes. For a large room, comfortable king sized bed, marbled bathroom (shower and bath) separate loo, separate seating area and good balcony with sea views that is really very good value.

• The staff were universally friendly and attentive. If you don’t speak Moroccan then French is your best bet in this corner, but you can get by with English too.

• There is good free wifi – though it did not extend to the rooms, just the ground floor
.
• There is a lovely pool and a good outside dining and breakfast area. (Breakfast itself is pretty standard buffet stuff, respectable but unexceptional). There is also an indoor heated pool though we did not try it (an entire spa in fact).

So if you don’t mind the mausoleum feel I’d recommend it out of season. In season it probably comes alive – though whether the service keeps up with the pressure may be another matter and you'd doubtless pay more. The Moroccan season seems to be very short; running these kind of places can’t be easy, but my sense is that they do try to make your stay a good one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    19
    11
    12
See reviews for
27
22
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We visited this hotel for lunch while staying in nearby self catering accommodation. We were kept waiting a ridiculous length of time of time to be served, and though we asked staff what had happened to our order we got no apology or explanation. When the food finally arrived it was cold unappetising and the waiter managed to drop one of the dishes! The food was very expensive.

Room Tip: Try nearby Kabila Hotel, much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank markesmith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tetouan hotels

Moissac, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We went out of season so the weather was mixed but the location is very beautiful & it was very relaxing. Most rooms have a good sea view.
The Blue Inn in Tetuoan is great value especially for vegetarians.
There is a Salon de The & a Relais de Paris at the Marina.
A trip to Ceuta is very interesting. You can either pay 30 euro & a taxi will take you to the city centre & through the border controls or you can flag a taxi on the main road & get to the border for 5 euro.
You need to complete immigration forms to enter Ceuta so please pay a few dhirams to the very poor people for a form to present to the border staff. They mean no harm & are so poor they are grateful for anything & it will save you time at the check through. You then need to take another taxi to the centre which is approx. another 5-6 euro.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

This hotel is by far the worst hotel I have ever been to in my entire life. I arrived there for one night and upon entering the hotel I was told that my room was no longer available and that only the Royal Suite was available for 1800 Euros. After hours and hours of arguments I was finally given a room in borderline dangerous condition. I was only allowed to check in to my hotel at 7 pm, only to find my room in total disarray with dirty sheets, clearly visible, and no air conditioning. After informing the hotel staff of the issues in my room they told me to deal with it or sleep on the street. I was told that no rooms were available, and only after constant arguements was I given another room which was available from the beginining. The hotel benefits from the fact that only a few well known hotels exist on this beach front. I recommend that you rent an apt. here before hand, or avoid the trip totally if you have no other choice but barcelo.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Yussef L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetouan
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tamuda Beach
Hotel Tamuda Beach
#5 of 17 in Tetouan
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Al Mandari
Hotel Al Mandari
#4 of 17 in Tetouan
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
12.6 mi away
Blanco Riad Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
1.5 mi away
Kabila Hotel
Kabila Hotel
#16 of 17 in Tetouan
3.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Tamuda Bay Beach & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Smir Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Smir Hotel & Spa

Property: Marina Smir Hotel & Spa
Address: BP 768, Road to Sebta, Tetouan 93200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tetouan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Tetouan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Smir Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magical beaches of fine sand in the eye, a clear sea and a spectacular hilly hinterland. This is Marina Smir Hotel & Spa, a magical place in the north of Morocco and the southern Mediterranean, a few kilometers halfway between Ceuta and Tetouan. At the heart of this privileged holiday destination you discover Marina Smir Hotel & Spa, a superb example of Moorish Andalusian - inspired waterfront, adjoining the marina. Marina Smir Hotel & Spa is located not far from towns of Tetouan and Ceuta; enjoys a unique location facing the sea, offering stunning views and privileged access to a lovely sandy beach. The hotel is housed within beautiful gardens serene spirituality and helping to make it a peaceful place to relax and rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and ETB so you can book your Marina Smir Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Marina Smir Thalasso And Spa
Barcelo Marina Smir Thalasso Hotel Tetouan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing